We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Horse Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were in maine for a few days and having a coffee at a cafe on main st.we asked one of the staff to recommend a local b&b.she told us about the black horse inn so we looked it up on booking.com and got a room.we arrived at the black horse and after meeting the owners and immediately having a great feel for them and the place we were shown our room/suite.it was lovely.Fran and Chrissy could not do enough to make us feel at home.they went out of their way to make sure we had a wondetfull time which we did.
Fran cooked us breakfast,which was far more than we expected and much more than the 'continental' breakfasts we'd had in other b&b's on our trip.
We would highly recommend anybody to stay there and we have sworn to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyboygleeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances G, Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
This review means a great deal to us and we feel that it truly reflects the owner and our business. Communication during a stay can mean the world to both the guest and management. Thank you for your comments!! Come again! Have a great Winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    14
    7
    4
    11
See reviews for
15
39
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

we experienced an unwelcoming experience with the hostess of the place. we understood from the publications in the internet that the place had a main lounge with a fireplace that guests could sit in, and assumed it was part of the b&b experience that the place offered, which made it cost 30-50$ more than other places. however, we got kind of "kicked out" from the lounge by the hostess, who told us that a private event took place there. she basically shamed us telling us we were rude, even though we had no way of knowing there has been a private event and moreover, we paid good money for facilities we eventually were not allowed to use. Hence, the place to our opinion isn't worth the price you pay for. For a standard motel experience you can get the same for much less.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances G, Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We are sorry that this guest felt that they had an unwelcoming experience with us during the month of October of 2013. The hostess did in fact inform the guests that there was a small function during one of the days of her stay. The small event took place in our bar/fire place area. The guests were not "kicked out" just informed that during that time guests were paying money to use that space.

We understand that you feel you would have had no way of knowing this was going on, but we did inform the guest that it was happening. We understand you also feel you were paying good money to stay with us, the area was free at a different time of that day as well as the following day. We are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay and hope that we did everything else in our power to make your stay O.K

However we do thank you for your great reviews otherwise.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Wonderful atmosphere coupled with great hospitality. I highly recommend the Black Horse Inn. You will not be disappointed. They are very accommodating. I needed a gluten free breakfast which was no problem. The Jacuzzi Tubs are a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Black Horse Inn is somewhere between a motel and a B&B, which is not a bad thing. The building is fairly new, which means everything works properly, something that is not always the case with a B&B in an older building. The building sits on a large site, well back from the highway, with a huge backyard that is visible from the dining area or the rear deck. Our room was well furnished, clean, and quiet. Black Horse is 5 miles north of Camden, about 1.3 miles south of several Lincolnville harbor restaurants. It's a great location if you are looking for peace and quiet.

What makes the place more like a B&B is the new owner, Francesca, who is very friendly and accommodating, and will go out of her way if you attempt to speak even a little Italian with her. We stayed here September 8-9, 2013, and would gladly book again if in the area.

Room Tip: The property faces east; if you don't like morning sun, ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selden D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
329 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We spent 3 nights here thanks to an Internet special ($330 for the 3 nights including breakfast) and were very pleased with the cleanliness, spacious and comfortable accommodations. Our queen room had a small kitchenette that contained a microwave, small refrigerator, sink, cabinets and counter, along with the usual furniture. We liked that there were TWO chairs and a table in the room. Most places only give you one and someone usually ends up sitting on the bed. Anyway there was lots of room to move around with two separate clothes areas too. We had the end room, #8, next to the small, delightful garden. Since the inn was set back from Rt 1 up a slight knoll, it was quiet too. Lincolnville is very centrally located and we spent our time between Camden and Belfast, for the most part. Breakfasts were plentiful - continental if you wanted (cereals, hard-boiled eggs, yogurts, bagels, muffins, English Muffins, juice, etc.), or the hostess/owner Francesca, gave us the option of scrambled eggs one day or a frittata another day. Coffee was good too. No reason to leave hungry. A great alternative to the high Camden prices, perfect for families too. We would definitely stay there again if we're in the area.

Room Tip: Room #8 on the end has more windows and is next to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Having purchased a Living Social visit to the Black Horse Inn in Lincolnville, we decided to visit the area midweek. What a pleasant hotel and proprietor. We were warmly welcomed by the very hospitable Francesca. This is under new ownership as of a year ago and she has done wonders with this site. Our room was very roomy, light and airy and overlooked the large back yard with pool and hot tub. Each room has a large bed, refrigerator and microwave, TV (but no hair dryer). The restaurant isn't open yet, though a very full continental breakfast is included in the nightly rate (bagels, cereal, muffins, juice, fresh fruit etc). Our Living Social inculded a dinner, Spaghetti and Meatballs.....however this wasn't just a plain old pasta dinner!! Francesca was born in Italy (Sicily) and lived much of her life there and is she ever a terrific cook. We had lovely horsdoerves, perfect 'a la dente' pasta and very tasty meatballs....and eggplant parm on the side....as well as a very full salad....we couldn't have asked for more. Francesca chatted with us about her cooking, Italian heritage and her love of what she does....what an interesting stay this was. I only hope she can get her kitchen and dining room open to the public. We enjoyed the gardens with fresh herbs and huge Dahlias among other things. We highly recommend the Black Horse Inn. Close to Camden and Lincolnville and all the interesting sites along Rt. 1.

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw were large and inviting. Some rooms are on the second floor if stairs are of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainelymarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Clean and affordable in Lincolnville. The breakfast was continental as advertised, however it would have benefited from some fresh fruit other than apples. Also pastries and/or muffins would have been appreciated. One thing we appreciated were the dishes and cutlery were not paper and plastic which is what you usually get for breakfast. I was surprised to see other reviews state they had eggs etc. cooked for them. Since this is a recently opened property perhaps the owners are still trying out different scenarios for their breakfast options. Several reviewers mentioned the kitchenette with no supplies. I think the fact that there are cupboards leads you to think there should be something in them. However this trip we also stayed at other properties with refrigerators and microwaves (no cupboards) and didn't expect to see cutlery, dishes etc. My husband used the pool and hot tub said they were both clean and adequate. Staff were friendly and pleasant.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.5 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
9.3 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro
Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro
#8 of 9 in Lincolnville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Property: Black Horse Inn
Address: 2254 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5335
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are double twins, full size, queen size. Our suites consist of 2 queen beds in a room and 1 queen bed. The rooms have refrig, micro, AC, kitchen counter, table, chair, TV - our suites consist of jacuzzi, frig, micro, counter top, table, chair, TV. We offer a continental breakfast. We have a full capacity generator in case of a power failure. We have an outdoor pool and jacuzzi and internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Inn Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing