We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro(Lincolnville)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Ocean's Edge(Lincolnville)
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenmoor by the Sea(Lincolnville)(Great Value!)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lincolnville Motel(Lincolnville)(Great Value!)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Grove Cottages(Lincolnville)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Battie Motel(Lincolnville)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Cottage Inn(Lincolnville)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victorian by the Sea(Lincolnville)(Great Value!)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Sunrise Point(Lincolnville)
US$518
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$436
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
44
16
7
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
16
7
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharming placefranhostessmainecamdenmotel
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

What a truly wonderful experience staying at Black Horse Inn is. Stunning building, gardens and the inside is charming in every aspect. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean and most comfortable with en suite and small kitchennette. Outdoor hot tub an extra treat however Fran, the owner and superb hostess along with colleague Chrissy steal the show as they manage to create the perfect blend of professionalism where nothing is too much trouble and friendliness.

We felt proper spoiled during our stay from start to finish and can't wait to come back again. Would have no hesitation in recommending anyone to do the same.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k888tts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances G, Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, it means a lot to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were in maine for a few days and having a coffee at a cafe on main st.we asked one of the staff to recommend a local b&b.she told us about the black horse inn so we looked it up on booking.com and got a room.we arrived at the black horse and after meeting the owners and immediately having a great feel for them and the place we were shown our room/suite.it was lovely.Fran and Chrissy could not do enough to make us feel at home.they went out of their way to make sure we had a wondetfull time which we did.
Fran cooked us breakfast,which was far more than we expected and much more than the 'continental' breakfasts we'd had in other b&b's on our trip.
We would highly recommend anybody to stay there and we have sworn to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyboygleeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances G, Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

This review means a great deal to us and we feel that it truly reflects the owner and our business. Communication during a stay can mean the world to both the guest and management. Thank you for your comments!! Come again! Have a great Winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

we experienced an unwelcoming experience with the hostess of the place. we understood from the publications in the internet that the place had a main lounge with a fireplace that guests could sit in, and assumed it was part of the b&b experience that the place offered, which made it cost 30-50$ more than other places. however, we got kind of "kicked out" from the lounge by the hostess, who told us that a private event took place there. she basically shamed us telling us we were rude, even though we had no way of knowing there has been a private event and moreover, we paid good money for facilities we eventually were not allowed to use. Hence, the place to our opinion isn't worth the price you pay for. For a standard motel experience you can get the same for much less.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances G, Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We are sorry that this guest felt that they had an unwelcoming experience with us during the month of October of 2013. The hostess did in fact inform the guests that there was a small function during one of the days of her stay. The small event took place in our bar/fire place area. The guests were not "kicked out" just informed that during that time guests were paying money to use that space.

We understand that you feel you would have had no way of knowing this was going on, but we did inform the guest that it was happening. We understand you also feel you were paying good money to stay with us, the area was free at a different time of that day as well as the following day. We are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay and hope that we did everything else in our power to make your stay O.K

However we do thank you for your great reviews otherwise.

Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Wonderful atmosphere coupled with great hospitality. I highly recommend the Black Horse Inn. You will not be disappointed. They are very accommodating. I needed a gluten free breakfast which was no problem. The Jacuzzi Tubs are a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Black Horse Inn is somewhere between a motel and a B&B, which is not a bad thing. The building is fairly new, which means everything works properly, something that is not always the case with a B&B in an older building. The building sits on a large site, well back from the highway, with a huge backyard that is visible from the dining area or the rear deck. Our room was well furnished, clean, and quiet. Black Horse is 5 miles north of Camden, about 1.3 miles south of several Lincolnville harbor restaurants. It's a great location if you are looking for peace and quiet.

What makes the place more like a B&B is the new owner, Francesca, who is very friendly and accommodating, and will go out of her way if you attempt to speak even a little Italian with her. We stayed here September 8-9, 2013, and would gladly book again if in the area.

Room Tip: The property faces east; if you don't like morning sun, ask for a room in the back.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selden D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews