We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Horse Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

My family and I were looking for a place to stay after an impromptu visit to Camden, Maine. We drove up and down Rt. 1 looking for a suitable place for a family of four. It was the last week in August so there were plenty of no vacancy signs out. Because of the Black Horse's immaculate grounds and stately facade, we were fairly certain it would out of our budget. Still, I stopped in and spoke to the keeper at the front desk. To our surprise, they still had rooms and the price seemed reasonable........to say we were blown away by the accommodations and hospitality of the staff would be an understatement. This place caters to your every whim, with a gorgeous in ground pool, hot tub, cozy lounge, flat screens in the rooms, and a complimentary breakfast which was a cut above the chain hotels. We can't wait to stay here again.....it is a couple miles from downtown Camden, and was worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebluezzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    14
    7
    4
    11
See reviews for
15
39
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We were out for a long weekend getaway with no real plans for where our night stops would be, and was MORE then happy we stopped at the Black Horse Inn. The girls in the front were all very friendly. and the rooms were big and very clean, the bed was better then ours back home. We did not have time to check the pool out. We would go back when in the area for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Black Horse Inn for two nights recently while driving down the coast of Maine to Portland. First, I would like to say that the staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Our room was on the second floor (no elevator, so beware if you have a problem with stairs), had a queen bed, large tub, shower, and mini-fridge. I found the mattress to be a bit hard and the pillows too flat. However, the room was very clean and the view from the window was of a large, well-kept lawn surrounded by forest. There was a pool and hot tub as well. The complimentary breakfast was fine, but limited – good, hot coffee and attentive staff. Overall, I would recommend the BHI as a good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebiVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our group of 6 (3 rooms) stayed at the BHI for two nights and had a good time there. Bad reviews happen and when they ramble on and are so negative it is the clear the writer should have stayed at a 5 star diamond resort. The BHI is a quaint country inn that has many nice features. Where can you go and have a live wood fire and drinks in a comfortable setting upon returning from a night out? The rooms were clean and nice.

The staff was wonderful and very interesting. Fran was friendly and had a good sense of humor.The two students from Romania had very good language skills and were very willing to engage in lively and informative conversations.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 70WC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adams, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at this inn with myself and girlfriend and had an amazing time. Right from the time we walked through the front door we were greeted with enthusiasm and care. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff was great and the manager was exceptional which tells me there was more behind the recent negative reviews of others. Someone said rude and obnoxious? Not a chance. I really dislike the untruths of others who carry it way to far. In fact she made our stay more than amazing and will stay there again anytime we go up that way for the lobster fest. I would give our overall experience a 6 star rating(beyond excellent) but it don't go that high.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely inn on our motorbike trip through eastern Canada and US, the rooms were specious, clean and nicely decorated. Owner was friendly and staff were great.
Although the breakfast hour started at 7.00 AM but when they found out we should leave early they made sure we had breakfast once we got up.
Well done.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank info N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I know this hotel re-opened recently as I used to live in Maine. I just called to make a reservation and the person who answered the phone was extremely rude and obnoxious. I decided to take my business elsewhere, even if the rates are the lowest during this time of the year. Very sad for a business that is trying to take off.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shesadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances G, Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We were sorry you experienced such a bad customer service before you even arrived. The desk worker remembers your called and she was only trying to help you with your accommodations.You had too many people and they could not fit in one room.. She advised you to take more rooms and you did not like her advise.She tried to help you and felt bad that you were upset.
Will handle situations alike differently next time.
Our goal is to make our customer happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.5 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
9.3 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro
Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro
#8 of 9 in Lincolnville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Property: Black Horse Inn
Address: 2254 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5335
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are double twins, full size, queen size. Our suites consist of 2 queen beds in a room and 1 queen bed. The rooms have refrig, micro, AC, kitchen counter, table, chair, TV - our suites consist of jacuzzi, frig, micro, counter top, table, chair, TV. We offer a continental breakfast. We have a full capacity generator in case of a power failure. We have an outdoor pool and jacuzzi and internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Inn Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing