We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house, tranquil location, great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victorian by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in this lovely house for three nights on a most recent vacation to New England. The inn is located about 4 miles north of Camden, down a quiet private drive close to the sea. The inn is owned by Jeanne and Robert who have done a fantastic job at maintaining and furnishing the house to the highest of standards.
Jeanne and Robert are both lovely people who go to enormous lengths to ensure that their guests have the most enjoyable of visits.
We stayed in the Sunrise Room which was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was a little bit small but not so much that it in any way detracted from our stay.
The public rooms are a delight to enjoy from the 2nd floor hall / landing all the way through to the lovely porch and sunroom.
The breakfast are fantastic; choice, quanity and quality are all excellent.
The house is some way from the highway, so this ensures the most peacful of settings and an undisturbed nights sleep.
With Camden just about 10 minutes away, guests will almost certainly need a car to get to the local restaurants. There is a wide selection of good places to eat in both Camden and Lincolnville. Jeanne and Robert are delighted to offer suggestions and make bookings for you. They are also great at offering advice on places to visit and things to do.
This really is a great place to stay, you will be made to feel so welcome and looked after.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

Jeanne and Robert have created a lovely B&B that is well appointed and full of comfortable touches. Located north of the city of Camdem along RT 1 - it is situated down a long drive towards the water so far enough away from the road and close enough for beautiful views out of our Bay Room. Breakfast was filling (sometimes maybe a bit too much - and we would recommend that they advertize the upcoming meals to ensure dietary "compliance"). We went hiking in Camdem Hill State Park which is located basically across the street. We did a hour hike almost straight up the mountain but the views of Penobscot Bay and Camdem harbor were well worth the effort. Back at the B&B - be sure to take some time to read about the history of the Inn and the original owners - The Sawyers. There are also great old magazines from the 1950's which have interesting old advertizements for cars, electrical appliances, woman products,etc. A glimpse back into our Cold War frenzy days. Also can't forget to mention the wonderful art galleries and restaurants nearby - Francines in Camdem and Primo in Rockland. Also - a must visit is the Farnsworth Museum in Rockland where dozens of Andrew Wyeth paintings (as well as his father's NC Wyeth) are on permanent exhibit - a truly great American Artist.

Room Tip: Bay Room has a Queen bed and good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotglueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

What a perfectly beautiful, peaceful place! We spent 2 nights at this bed & breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was small, but well-appointed (Bay Room), with a beautiful view of Penobscot Bay down the manicured lawn. Jeanne and Robert are wonderful hosts who make guests feel welcome without being overbearing in any way. Very good breakfasts, served with many local-grown and -produced ingredients. Great location, between Lincolnville Beach and Camden. As we drove away after checking out, we agreed that we'd definitely return to Victorian by the Sea.

Room Tip: The Bay Room, though small-ish, is a corner room with 2 windows for lots of great, fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhdtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We wanted to go away for the weekend, some place nice and quiet, and that serves excellent breakfast. We got all of those at Victoria by the Sea. The lovely downtown Camden was only a short drive. We had the Cottage Room. I was apprehensive the moment we stepped in because the upstairs was occupied. Footsteps at night would definitely be a problem. Well, we didn't hear any for the two nights we slept in our quaint little room. We had our own little porch, too. This is a lovely place and we had a wonderful stay. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cartarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Victorian by the Sea, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Victorian by the sea, is way off route 1. We had rooms facing the sea and it was wonderfully quiet. The rooms are sparkling clean and comfortably appointed in their period.

I contemplated staying at some of the highly rated hotels Claddagh Motel and Strawberry Hill. Wow, that would not have been a good fit. Those hotels have great views but are right on Route 1.

Jeanne and Rob were so helpful and knowledgeable with planning itineraries. The breakfasts were stupendous and would compete with the best restaurants in the area.

A very special place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bruce__ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This bed and breakfast is a gem, the innkeepers were wonderful and breakfast was out standing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mulliganshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Just came back from 3 days at this delightful Victorian B&B in the cute town of Lincolnville, Maine minutes outside of Camden. By mistake we arrived at 6pm (a day early than we had booked!) but Jean the innkeeper didn't flinch - she offered us the fabulous suite in the attic at the same rate as our smaller room we has originally booked. (great bed, bath and terrace overlooking the ocean) They were so sweet to accommodate us so last minute, blowing up an extra air mattress, etc. Next night we moved downstairs to the first floor parlor room which was also lovely. Beds were super comfy, showers were perfect, extra towels and fluffy robes included and chocolates! The inn itself is very pretty and warm and the breakfasts were to die for: homemade Maine blueberry scones, poached plums in honey and sage, egg burritos with chedder cheese served on gorgeous china plus we never had to get up to refill our coffee! they came by with a pot and a smile. All this in a delightful white sun room overlooking views of the sea. And the rates were very good. Can't wait to come back to the Victorian by the Sea.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addison107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
4.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
173 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sunrise Point
Inn at Sunrise Point
#3 of 9 in Lincolnville
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian by the Sea

Address: 33 Sea View Dr, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range: £154 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and peaceful seaside B&B located 1/4 mile off Route 1, just four miles north of the Camden, Maine harbor offering 7 guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victorian by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing