We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first bed and breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victorian by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our first bed and breakfast!”
Reviewed 27 January 2008

Looked all along the coast and route 1 for a nice romantic place to spend the night after a long day of shopping. Came across the Victorian by the Sea. Opened the their homepage and was hooked from their.
Once we got there, we could not belive how beautiful the place was and how wonderful the views were of the water.
We were welcomed in by Greg and quickly made us feel right at home!
We stayed on the first floor bedroom which had its own wood burning fireplace. Made for an ideal setting to have a quiet romantic time which quickly led to falling asleep. Was the closest thing to being in heaven.
We awoke to Ginny's homemade chocolate chip bread and wonderful waffles with fresh strawberries. Being it was just the two of us, Greg and Ginny gave us all the attention, being full of knowledge of the area and local attractions.
We will definately go back, just not when it is so cold! Thanks Greg and Ginny!
Lee and Kat.

  • Liked — Scenary, the
  • Disliked — was cooler than liked in the evening when reading in the den or dining area.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cheekster96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
142
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
palm Desert
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2007

This was the first Inn we stayed in of many during our 3 week vacation. It was so great. We had a downstairs bedroom. The room was clean and comfortable. Believe it or not, the curtains were the exact same pattern that my late mother had in her guest room. The Inn smelled of cinnamon spice...just like my mom's house! As you can imagine, I slept there like I was home. It was a wonderful start to our New England trip. The Innkeepers were excellent. I needed internet service so that I could do payroll remotely. Wireless service was available free of charge. He made great dinner suggestions and gave us directions to some local lighthouses that we toured. The breakfast was wonderful and better than many we experienced. Cold water, coffee/tea available for early risers. There is just something about the Innkeepers that I couldn't put my finger on. They are really special people. These guys really know how to run a bed and breakfast. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Liked — the location, beautiful! Innkeepers are great
  • Disliked — That I couldn't live there forever
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepladypalmdesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Our stay at the Victorian by the Sea was truly relaxing- a wonderful getaway. We stayed in a cozy, warm room with a view of Penobscot Bay. Our room had a lovely sitting area with a gas fireplace, which provided a nice place to read and talk. The breakfasts were hearty and tasty- orange french toast one day, and an egg and ham frittata the next. The surrounding area was full of things to do- hiking, shopping, eating. We plan to return!

  • Liked — the room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tooblueMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2007

This property is located in a stunning setting on a beautiful bay in Maine. The rooms are immaculate, the innkeepers are friendly and convivial, and the comfortable bed and terrific Maine wild blueberry pancakes in the glorious breakfast room made it a lovely stay.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2007

This was our first trip to Maine. We feel like we could not have found a better place to stay. Greg & Ginny were great hosts, with a fantastic knowledge of the area. You can tell they love what they do. The location of the inn was very peaceful, and the accommodations were very nice. I think the best compliment that I can give is that we will stay there again the next time we go to Maine. Troy & Lydia.

  • Liked — Comfort, and the Innkeepers
  • Disliked — N/A - everything was great
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RidgewayTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzwilliam N.H.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2007

We spent two relaxing, warm nights at the Victorian By the Sea and can't wait to return. Greg and Ginny make you feel like family with their warm greeting and delicious breakfasts. The location was quiet and scenic. Our room was comfy and perfectly appointed. This is the most relaxing get-away we've enjoyed for a long time!
Dan and Chip Baker Fitzwilliam, N.H.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank juastin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glyndon.md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2007

Our stay at The Victorian was one of our most enjoyable experiences as we worked our way up the Maine Coast . Greg & Ginny are very warm and congenial hosts and they have made the Inn such a beautiful and enjoyable place to stay. Our hearty recommendation.....

Glyndon, MD

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mdRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.2 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
609 reviews
4.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
147 reviews
10.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian by the Sea

Property: Victorian by the Sea
Address: 33 Sea View Dr, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and peaceful seaside B&B located 1/4 mile off Route 1, just four miles north of the Camden, Maine harbor offering 7 guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing