We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I have stayed at to date”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victorian by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The innkeepers are very warm and hospitable. The room was charming and comfortable. We felt very pampered but there was such a personal touch. Will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: You must walk to the beach and watched the sunrise over th ocean. It was an almost spiritual experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

While my husband was in Afghanistan and I in the States, we both researched Maine bed and breakfasts online for his mid-tour R&R. Coincidentally, both of us fell in love with the Victorian by the Sea! When I called to inquire about reservations (we needed flexibility in case my husband's military travel home was disrupted in any way), Jeanne (one of the owners) ensured we would be accommodated in case of changes and we received a 15% military discount. I knew as soon as I made the reservation that my husband and I selected the right place; Jeanne was so friendly and helpful.

We spent 3 weeknights in May in the Victorian Suite and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. Robert and Jeanne are the most lovely people and their bed and breakfast is FIRST CLASS! We arrived a little bit early at the beginning of our stay, dropped off our luggage and received recommendations for lunch from Jeanne. We drove 5 minutes into Camden and ate lunch at the Camden Deli - delicious - and walked around the little town and did some shopping. Once it was time to check in, we made our way back to the Victorian by the Sea and immediately were taken to the Victorian Suite. Oh my goodness, the suite was JUST renovated and was beautiful. My husband and I definitely felt spoiled. We had a comfortable four post bed with pillows that were divine. The suite also had an electric fireplace which we used every night! The claw footed tub was perfect for soaking (especially after a day of hiking 15 miles). The hardwood floors were refinished and the entire suite was immaculate. Nothing went unnoticed. We had clean bathrobes daily, chocolates and bottles of water on our dresser after the daily cleaning, plentiful towels (I appreciated the washcloth specifically for makeup removal), and tons of space for our luggage (there is a built in dresser and a closet with drawers and hanging space). It felt like home. The view from the suite looked out onto the water and was breathtaking. We enjoyed our evening time in the sitting area by the fireplace reading and visiting.

The breakfasts prepared by Robert and Jeanne were absolutely delicious. Every morning I joked that I wouldn't need to eat lunch because we got spoiled every breakfast. Each morning we had a pastry of some sort (the BEST rhubarb muffins on the 3rd morning!), fresh fruit (we had a fruit and yogurt concoction, glazed pears, and fruit plate), some form of egg (eggs florentine and crab and mushroom omelet were to die for), toast, and bacon or sausage. Every morning Robert and Jeanne would also inquire about our food preferences (there are sometimes options) - they definitely made sure we got what we wanted! Fresh coffee was available every morning and hot water was available the entire day for tea (I made use of this amenity)! In addition, the kitchen has a refrigerator to store leftovers and any beverages or snacks you might want during your stay. Mini microwaveable bags of popcorn and freshly baked cookies are also available for snacking in the evening.

When my husband and I weren't relaxing in our luxurious suite, we walked out (.8 miles) to the Rockland Breakwater Lighthouse (so neat), visited the Transportation Museum in Rockville, explored the cute town of Camden and spent a day hiking on the various trails in the area (Robert and Jeanne are incredibly knowledgeable about the trails and different views from each).

We absolutely had the best, most relaxing time at the Victorian by the Sea! We could've stayed at least another night, if not more. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

If you are reading this and want to find a place to share the most romantic night of your lives ..well you have come to the right place !

The owners were the friendliest and warmest people you can meet. They were so obliging and informative. The B&B was fantastic with clean, beautifully decorated rooms, the food was temendous, and the atmosphere just reeked of romance !!!

The area had quiet walks, picturesque views, elegant resturants, and good shopping.

Go back again ... without a doubt ! Thank you we found true love in Maine

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We LOVED this place! We flew to Maine for our 15th wedding anniversary, and stayed at the Victorian by the Sea. This was our first B&B experience, and it was amazing!! We were thrilled every morning with the delicious coffee on the veranda porch overlooking the ocean, and the delicious breakfasts! The hosts were so very kind and helpful. We adored our visit here!!

Room Tip: The Victorian suite was a little more spendy, but the view from our room was amazing, as was the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Victorian by the Sea is a lovely B&B that sits back from the road. We stayed in the cottage with the personal entrance; the decor, fireplace, comfortable queen bed and claw foot tub made this a perfect relaxing evening. The beach was perfect for combing if you can walk the steep steps there and back. However, as the evening progressed and we went to sleep the walls began creaking so loudly that we were awoken on several occasions. The electric baseboard heating was controlled by the owners and it was too hot in the room. The fireplace made the room stifling so we could not enjoy that too much. The next morning we were served an amazing breakfast made by the owner; the presentation and atmosphere of the breakfast room were wonderful. The sorbet was the best ever! My only complaint is I couldn't consume the majority of my breakfast due to the high sugar content (cinnamon rolls, fruit with sorbet and blueberry pancakes) and other options were not provided.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAudino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnvilleJeanne, Owner at Victorian by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Those of us in the inn keeping profession value a good night’s sleep above all else!

We offer our sincere apologies to our guests whose stay did not meet their standards, or ours. We notify guests upon their arrival that if there is a problem with their room to please contact us. The B&B had just opened for the season and we had vacant rooms; had we known of the problems, we would have gladly adjusted the heat or moved them to another room, at any hour.

Our practice is to offer a sweet breakfast one day alternating with a savory breakfast the next. When guests make their reservation, we ask if they have any dietary considerations, and we have many guests who request low fat, no sugar, gluten free or a vegan breakfast. Had we known of their preferences, we would have gladly obliged.

The concerns raised are well-taken and will be addressed, but we would like guests to remember that a 123 year-old home does occasionally creak and groan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in this lovely house for three nights on a most recent vacation to New England. The inn is located about 4 miles north of Camden, down a quiet private drive close to the sea. The inn is owned by Jeanne and Robert who have done a fantastic job at maintaining and furnishing the house to the highest of standards.
Jeanne and Robert are both lovely people who go to enormous lengths to ensure that their guests have the most enjoyable of visits.
We stayed in the Sunrise Room which was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was a little bit small but not so much that it in any way detracted from our stay.
The public rooms are a delight to enjoy from the 2nd floor hall / landing all the way through to the lovely porch and sunroom.
The breakfast are fantastic; choice, quanity and quality are all excellent.
The house is some way from the highway, so this ensures the most peacful of settings and an undisturbed nights sleep.
With Camden just about 10 minutes away, guests will almost certainly need a car to get to the local restaurants. There is a wide selection of good places to eat in both Camden and Lincolnville. Jeanne and Robert are delighted to offer suggestions and make bookings for you. They are also great at offering advice on places to visit and things to do.
This really is a great place to stay, you will be made to feel so welcome and looked after.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Jeanne and Robert have created a lovely B&B that is well appointed and full of comfortable touches. Located north of the city of Camdem along RT 1 - it is situated down a long drive towards the water so far enough away from the road and close enough for beautiful views out of our Bay Room. Breakfast was filling (sometimes maybe a bit too much - and we would recommend that they advertize the upcoming meals to ensure dietary "compliance"). We went hiking in Camdem Hill State Park which is located basically across the street. We did a hour hike almost straight up the mountain but the views of Penobscot Bay and Camdem harbor were well worth the effort. Back at the B&B - be sure to take some time to read about the history of the Inn and the original owners - The Sawyers. There are also great old magazines from the 1950's which have interesting old advertizements for cars, electrical appliances, woman products,etc. A glimpse back into our Cold War frenzy days. Also can't forget to mention the wonderful art galleries and restaurants nearby - Francines in Camdem and Primo in Rockland. Also - a must visit is the Farnsworth Museum in Rockland where dozens of Andrew Wyeth paintings (as well as his father's NC Wyeth) are on permanent exhibit - a truly great American Artist.

Room Tip: Bay Room has a Queen bed and good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotglueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.3 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
468 reviews
3 mi away
Point Lookout
Point Lookout
#1 of 1 in Northport
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
375 reviews
4 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
669 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spouter Inn Bed and Breakfast
Spouter Inn Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 9 in Lincolnville
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian by the Sea

Address: 33 Sea View Dr, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range: £153 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and peaceful seaside B&B located 1/4 mile off Route 1, just four miles north of the Camden, Maine harbor offering 7 guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victorian by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing