We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and fun New England Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victorian by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming and fun New England Inn”
Reviewed 1 October 2006

We found the Victorian by the Sea while planning a "daddy-daughter" trip to Camden several years ago. The Inn's large wood porch, white gazebo, and charming bedrooms (complete with lace curtains and floral wallpaper) are fantastic. Its a quirky old place with a quiet and peaceful charm we have grown to love. The innkeepers, Ginny and Greg, are friendly, knowledgable about the area, and accommodating. My daughter won't hear of staying anywhere else, so we have returned for the last 3 seasons, most recently with the whole family. As always, it was a delightful experience.


.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank jschicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
142
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2006

When in the Camden area we always stay at The Victorian and have done so since Ginny & Greg became the proprietors. We must have stayed in all the rooms by now, all of which are very inviting and comfortable. Ginny's breakfast is the perfect beginning for the new day. Greg's suggestions for activities are always appreciated. If you are looking for a charming, comfortable, clean,quiet spot to stay then this is it.

  • Liked — charming rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dpiawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2006

We have stayed at the Victorian By the Sea several times. Each time has been a wonderful experience for us both. The rooms are furnished beautifully with their own style and warmth. Not to mention the wonderful friendliness shown us. The proprieters Ginny and Greg go out of their way to make you feel welcome with the wonderful food and ambience shown each guest. We are looking forward to another stay with them November.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apacheswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2006

It has been the second time that me and my wife stayed at the Victorian Inn by the Sea. We found it on the Inn-Website and after staying there for a long weekend last year, we decided that we have to come back. For a quiet getaway this is an ideal place - beeing not accessible by phone and beeper is a great plus and was the purpose of our private and enjoyable trips to the Inn. We see it as an advantage NOT to have television available. But then: We usually do not chose vacation places based on Internet access and TV availability. Most of us have enough work during the year and enjoy the difference and tranquility of a place like the Victorian Inn. Those of us who like to have more action might want to chose alternatives. However, Camden and environment has a lot to offer: Starting from climbing Mt. Battie to Kajaking and Windjammer tours...After a lot of outdoor activities we had a good night sleep not disturbed by the extremely silent fan/air condition.

In addition to the very charming house (we very much like the meticulous nice details that the Innkeepers Greg and Ginny put into the very elaborate reconstruction of the house), the Ocean is just in front of the property and easily accessible. The view over Penobscot bay is spectacular from the house.

Ginny and Greg are very pleasant - Ginny's home made breakfest is the best I ever had....

Needless to say that this was not our last stay at the Victorian Inn.

  • Liked — Website
  • Disliked — Website
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankAndMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2006

We spent 2 nights at The Victorian by the Sea and we had a wonderful time. The view from our room was lovely, and the Inn was beautifully decorated. It was a rainy weekend ~ but, we were not disappointed. Greg and Ginny made some wonderful recommendations for rainy day things to do, as well as for wonderful restaurant options. Our room was comfortable and cozy ~ perfect for reading and relaxing by the fireplace. And the breakfast was delicious! We look forward to returning to celebrate future wedding anniversaries. Thank You Ginny and Greg for a perfect and memorable visit.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank MarriedinSeptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2006

We stayed here for our 10th anniversary, and again when in town for a job interview. I would stay only at The Victorian by the Sea. The owners provide a true coastal Maine experience, with romantic rooms, a great breakfast, and the freedom to take in the grounds, scenery (and there is plenty of it) and use of the Inn's common areas. This is the place to come for getting away from it all. The location is perfect between Camden and other small coastal towns within reach of 2 hours either North and South, including Bar Harbor. The owners are quality people who enjoy sharing their B & B ownership experience just as if they've known you for a hundred years. No place I have ever stayed was as welcoming or comfortable as The Victorian by the Sea. With all due respect to other fine places to stay in the Camden area, I would never recommend any other B & B because this is the perfect experience.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't expect technological breakthroughs here. This is a getaway in truest sense
  • Stayed November 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chadterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2006

This was our third stay at the Victorian. We initially spent our honeymoon there on a recommendation of a good friend a couple of years ago. Since then, the Victorian has become our special place to spend a night or two.
It is an elegant retreat from the hussle of today to the quiet simpler time of Maine "rusticators". There is no TV in the main house; it doesn't seem to fit the authentic victorian atmosphere. It is the perfect place to really get away with your special someone. You can relax with a good book on the expansive veranda, sitting room, or down the woods path to the small sitting area on the ocean or run into Camden for unique small shops and dining. There are fire places in many rooms that actually can heat the rooms. The views of Penobscot Bay from many of the rooms are panoramic coast of Maine.
The innnkeepers, Greg and Ginny, are very accomodating and friendly. Returning is like visiting friends. Ginny's breakfasts are imaginitive and pleasantly surprising. She is also very responsive to special dietary needs.
We will be returning for years to come.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank rhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.2 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
607 reviews
4.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
147 reviews
10.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian by the Sea

Property: Victorian by the Sea
Address: 33 Sea View Dr, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and peaceful seaside B&B located 1/4 mile off Route 1, just four miles north of the Camden, Maine harbor offering 7 guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing