We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great victorian style bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victorian by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2006

a beautiful bed and breakfast close to the ocean in lincolnville.
book the victorian suite for a romantic stay. no tv . just a old style victorian room with every detail of that period. fireplace was cozy in the sitting room. breakfast in the enclosed veranda was delicious. full views of the ocean from our bedroom and veranda.
great inkeepers with tremendous knowledge of the area of many fun things to do. the property is fabulous.camden is beautiful. hiked in camden hills state park which is about 2 miles away. wonderful view of camden harbor from the top of the mountain.
great place to stay. very relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dannymilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2006

We have stayed at the Victorian by the Sea many times, and each has been a wonderful experience. Greg and Ginny are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts are to die for. They have always been helpful with recommendations for sight-seeing in the area and resturants to try. We have been to many bed and breakfasts and the Victorian by the Sea rates as one of the best.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gardenstaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

We found the Victorian by the Sea while planning a "daddy-daughter" trip to Camden several years ago. The Inn's large wood porch, white gazebo, and charming bedrooms (complete with lace curtains and floral wallpaper) are fantastic. Its a quirky old place with a quiet and peaceful charm we have grown to love. The innkeepers, Ginny and Greg, are friendly, knowledgable about the area, and accommodating. My daughter won't hear of staying anywhere else, so we have returned for the last 3 seasons, most recently with the whole family. As always, it was a delightful experience.


.

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank jschicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2006

When in the Camden area we always stay at The Victorian and have done so since Ginny & Greg became the proprietors. We must have stayed in all the rooms by now, all of which are very inviting and comfortable. Ginny's breakfast is the perfect beginning for the new day. Greg's suggestions for activities are always appreciated. If you are looking for a charming, comfortable, clean,quiet spot to stay then this is it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dpiawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2006

We have stayed at the Victorian By the Sea several times. Each time has been a wonderful experience for us both. The rooms are furnished beautifully with their own style and warmth. Not to mention the wonderful friendliness shown us. The proprieters Ginny and Greg go out of their way to make you feel welcome with the wonderful food and ambience shown each guest. We are looking forward to another stay with them November.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apacheswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2006

It has been the second time that me and my wife stayed at the Victorian Inn by the Sea. We found it on the Inn-Website and after staying there for a long weekend last year, we decided that we have to come back. For a quiet getaway this is an ideal place - beeing not accessible by phone and beeper is a great plus and was the purpose of our private and enjoyable trips to the Inn. We see it as an advantage NOT to have television available. But then: We usually do not chose vacation places based on Internet access and TV availability. Most of us have enough work during the year and enjoy the difference and tranquility of a place like the Victorian Inn. Those of us who like to have more action might want to chose alternatives. However, Camden and environment has a lot to offer: Starting from climbing Mt. Battie to Kajaking and Windjammer tours...After a lot of outdoor activities we had a good night sleep not disturbed by the extremely silent fan/air condition.

In addition to the very charming house (we very much like the meticulous nice details that the Innkeepers Greg and Ginny put into the very elaborate reconstruction of the house), the Ocean is just in front of the property and easily accessible. The view over Penobscot bay is spectacular from the house.

Ginny and Greg are very pleasant - Ginny's home made breakfest is the best I ever had....

Needless to say that this was not our last stay at the Victorian Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankAndMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2006

We spent 2 nights at The Victorian by the Sea and we had a wonderful time. The view from our room was lovely, and the Inn was beautifully decorated. It was a rainy weekend ~ but, we were not disappointed. Greg and Ginny made some wonderful recommendations for rainy day things to do, as well as for wonderful restaurant options. Our room was comfortable and cozy ~ perfect for reading and relaxing by the fireplace. And the breakfast was delicious! We look forward to returning to celebrate future wedding anniversaries. Thank You Ginny and Greg for a perfect and memorable visit.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank MarriedinSeptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
4.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
173 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sunrise Point
Inn at Sunrise Point
#3 of 9 in Lincolnville
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian by the Sea

Address: 33 Sea View Dr, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range: £154 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and peaceful seaside B&B located 1/4 mile off Route 1, just four miles north of the Camden, Maine harbor offering 7 guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victorian by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing