We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, basic and friendly, seems homemade. Gifford's Ice Cream” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosie's Lovell Village Store

Rosie's Lovell Village Store
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Lovell
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Metro Portland ME
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good, basic and friendly, seems homemade. Gifford's Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

First, I must say that when I see 6 reviews penned the same day and all by reviewers who have only one review to their credit (March 2, 2014), it does the restaurant no good at all!

That being said, we have been going to Rosie's for more than 10 years and have not had an unpleasant experience. Rosie is usually there and is pleasant to all. She is the cook and does a great job. The menu consists of basic breakfasts, sandwiches, chicken, pot roast, etc. They have a special each night of the week. There are about 4 tables in the back of the store, (a convenience-type store), and a long counter which seats about 15 on stools. They serve the best hard ice cream around, Giffords, which tells me they don't scrimp on food ingredients, either. A certain horror author with a summer place nearby has been known to frequent Rosies; I have seen him there, where he is just another customer to Rosie. It is a local place where locals go and mix with summer residents. Nothing fancy; I highly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lspwroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lovell, Maine
1 review
“great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Rosie serves up a delicious breakfast and some yummy fried chicken. The atmosphere is fun and small town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Taste just like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The last time stopped in, it was after a long day of hiking around Lovell and we just wanted something simple to drink. We were very impressed by the genuine small town courtesy that so many seem to lack these days. If you miss that small town charm, stop by Rosies even if to say hi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madcity2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must when traveling through Lovell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My family and I have been going to Rosie's since she opened many years ago. Great food, hometown great service, reasonable prices and a great gathering place for the community. We love Rosie's- and Rosie too!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordaneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great food! Friendly atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hometown New England at it's best - nostalgia and good home-cooking food too! Thanks Rosie! You're the best~

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosie's Lovell Village Store also viewed

 

Been to Rosie's Lovell Village Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing