We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay was fine”
Review of Bluebird Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluebird Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Machias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

spent one night here while visiting our daughter at the college just up the road...I called the day before to book a room and the person on the phone was extremely nice! She was apologetic that the only rooms she had left were smoking rooms, but this was not a problem for us as my husband smoke and while we are used to not finding smoking rooms anymore its not a big deal either way for us. The best news was that they are pet friendly!! a small $10 for our pet to spend the night with us. They do accept AAA. We were in room 112, a queen, smoking room.
several pros but a couple of cons:
Pros:
very clean!
Allows pets
nice flat screen TV
waters in the fridge
small microwave
plenty of hot water in the shower and plenty of pressure
internet connection cord provided
very nice customer service
cons:
thin towels (I mean really thin)
thin pillows! (again, VERY thin)
no fan in the bathroom although you can open the window to let out the steam
closes at 10pm (ice is in the office so get it before then)
no coffee pot

The town of Machias is pretty quiet. This place reminded me of going to my grandparents house when I was little, very clean but anything that didn't HAVE to be updated was not. It served it's purpose for us and we were thrilled they were pet friendly but I agree with the other reviewer about it being a great room if it were priced at $50-60 range.

Room Tip: This room did smell like smoke (as expected) and they had left a can of room freshener but no ashtra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIkkinJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Recently spent four nights here on a business trip. You basically have two choices in town the Bluebird or the Machias Motor Inn. Some of the guys stayed at each, from my stay at the Bluebird and talking to them, sounds like there are plusses and minuses.

The Bluebird is just as you come into town, so it's not in the town center where you can walk to both main restaurants and the town bar. But it has a convenience store with a small restaurant in back, I had a breakfast burrito there, it's good.

As far as the room itself, yeah it's an old motel. Three rows of single story buildings with entrance to your room on the outside. But it's been upgraded.

Good
1. Clean
2. Flatscreen TV with DirecTV...lots and lots of channels
3. Retrofitted with euro style HVAC, pretty quiet.
4. Rooms in the back rows of property are nice and quiet
5. Ethernet cable for internet
Not so good
1. Bed was way hard for my taste, I'd have given them 4 stars vice three if I didn't dislike the bed.
2. Wi-fi has very small coverage area (mostly mitigated by ethernet cable, but with no 3G or 4G service in the area unless you have US Cellular, it renders your smartphone a paperweight)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the back, unless you're dying to use wi-fi, then go middle front row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Both hotels in Machias are overpriced, but this one is the least expensive. For the price you get a small, clean room with a fridge and micro. No b-fast, no extras. Rooms are dated, a little stale smelling, and showing some wear and tear, but okay lodging.

One peeve I have is that the towels are ridiculously small, worn thin, and frayed. Not just one or two... most of them. They seriously need replaced.

Hotel is next to a gas station and just minutes from grocery and restaraunts.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BirdNerdMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Bluebird Motel and was overall very satisfied. The room was clean and the price was reasonable ($80/night). The staff at the front desk as friendly and helpful. The quality of the channels on the TV was bad but the motel is going to upgrade all rooms to DirecTV soon. The WIFI didn't work in the room at all but fortunately there was a wired connection. The bathroom lacked space to store any toiletries - it would be helpful to add a few shelves to solve this problem. It was disappointing that no breakfast or newspaper were included with the room. However, the gas station next door offers a delicious homestyle breakfast menu at a reasonable price. It is conveniently located close to the University of Maine at Machias and Helen's restaurant, a local icon. The University regularly hosts out of town guests here. The motel is under new ownership and will probably experience some improvements in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The décor consists of wood paneling and the ceilings are very low, meaning this will never be that nice of a place. But they have put some money into it (flat screen TVs, mini refrigerators) and the rooms were very clean. WiFi worked fine for us. No shampoo, etc. provided in the bathrooms though. It seems like a great motel for $50-$60. Unfortunately the price was a bit higher than that and it didn't compare favorably to what we might have had on the interstate for the same price or lower.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machias
2.5 mi away
Margaretta Inn
Margaretta Inn
#1 of 3 in Machias
342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
250 reviews
23.2 mi away
Red Barn Motel
Red Barn Motel
#1 of 1 in Milbridge
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Robinson's Cottages
Robinson's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dennysville
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Motel

Address: 231 Dublin St, Machias, ME 04654-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Machias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Machias
Price Range: £66 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebird Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bluebird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Machias
Bluebird Motel Maine/Machias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing