We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was our lucky day”

The Blue Bird Ranch Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Machias
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lynchburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“it was our lucky day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a late lunch after hiking the trails at Quoddy Head State Park. We chose a daily special, meatloaf. The tasty servings were very generous. Unpretentious surroundings. Desserts, visible in a glass case, looked scrumptious and well worth a try, but we ran out of steam after the meatloaf. All in all, lunch was a wonderful surprise.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    105
    41
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
181 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went here for breakfast and it was a very busy place. Must be the highlight in this town. I ordered a simple breakfast and my friend the same. The place is very clean and the service was very good. They also serve lunch and supper and serve alcohol.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brontasaurus Prime Rib”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Well, for a family restaurant Down East, I suppose you get what you pay for. Very reasonable prices. Food took a while to come for sure, but I guess that was because I ordered (mistakenly) the chargrilled prime rib. The cut was perhaps two inches thick, and I never did get it done to my preferred medium temperature. It was raw the first time off the grill, and had been obviously garlic salted, then when it went back for more grilling I think it got more garlic salted. Basically, I wound up with a somewhat raw, massive slab of meat that tasted like a salt lick.

The wait staff were very nice, busy though and rushed off their feet obviously. My partner did not like her cheesesteak wrap at all. The onion rings were good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HStaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Being one of two sit down restaurant choices - this and Helen's - there doesn't seem to be much competition in town. But the breakfast was definitely worth the price ($4 for a huge breakfast burrito). Service was a little slow but looked as if she might have been working by herself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keb2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdoinham, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Who Knew?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We traveled from Midcoast Maine to the Canadian border and was at Cobscook bay so we ask the Ranger for a recommendation for a seafood restaurant in the area ( I'm from Maine and I'm a server/Bartender so I am very picky) He said Blue bird Ranch in Machias . It's nothing to look at, but it's clean and cozy and retro.The server Melissa was a hoot and an great Bartender, her Cosmo was excellent , she recommended the seafood cakes so we got those and still when it came to the table we were skeptical. They were melt in your mouth wonderful. We also had homemade onion rings (Wonderful too) Seriously great experience, Thank Melissa

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Bird Ranch Restaurant also viewed

Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Blue Bird Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing