We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Long Term Stay”
Review of Machias River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Machias River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I spent two months at the Machias Motor Inn while working at the Cutler Naval Station. The suite I had was a 1 bedroom efficiency, which had a small kitchen which was quite handy. Helen's was close by and everyone at the hotel and restaurant were friendly. Maine is beautiful and the Machias Motor Inn is a good way to experience the Maine difference.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUBUMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

You get a room with a view of the river and quick access to Helen's Restaurant for the blueberry cream pie. Having said that, the rooms are showinge their age. The bed needs to be replaced. The faucets in the sink run only a dribble. The price seemed a bit high for what you get. Next time we'll get pie to go and stay somewhere else. Not bad, really, just shoul be better for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed in the new section I think room 32. The room was clean had a fridge and microwave. The beds very very comfortable and with the air conditoning on we did not hear any noise from the street. We enjoyed the big deck shared with the other rooms. The view of the river was great. The next morning we drove to Cutler Harbor for a trip with Bold Coast Charter it only took about 30 minutes to get there from Machias.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Stayed inroom 32, the one bedroom suite. Plenty of room, clean and private as we had our 82# belgian sheepdog with us. View of the river fantastic! Sae bald eagles and osprey hunting the river right in front of our room

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puffinjune11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

If you travel with your pet and are looking for a clean and comfortable room, we would highly recommend the Machias Motor Inn. The staff was excellent and very accommodating to us. The views of the river are wonderful and the motel is only thirty minutes away from the Bold Coast Charter Co. in Cutler for a puffin tour. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birders08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I had previously made a reservation several weeks before at this hotel but when I got there the reservation had already been cancelled and the hotel was booked for the night. The clerk did help me find a room at another nearby hotel. Later on after inquiring about the reservation mishap to the manager, she could not give me any valid reason for the reservation cancellation other than to give her apology and stated that "many hotels overbook intentionally to off-set any unforeseen cancellations." So I guess my name was one of the ones overbooked. So I will not trust to make any future reserevation at this hotel.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
5  Thank BigBrad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 October 2010

As stated in an email to this guest, the reservation was incorrectly made for August 14, not September 14. It was recorded as a "no-show" for August 14. I have no way of knowing if the error was made by our reservationist or by the guest.

The clerk on duty helped the guest secure a room at a nearby motel.

It is not our policy, nor has it ever been, to intentionally over-book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

For us, this place was in a great location for a day trip to Campobello, and for driving to Rockland the next day. We stayed two nights, in the newer addition at the end of the building. The room was clean and spacious. The restaurant next door is convenient. I wanted to give the place four stars, but I just couldn't - the deck attached to our room is large and is shared with two other rooms. Not a problem so long as they are quiet, but we had to listen to a small party for a while. I thought the management should have warned us that others could be just outside our patio door making noise.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mailstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machias
1 mi away
Margaretta Inn
Margaretta Inn
#1 of 3 in Machias
351 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#3 of 3 in Machias
94 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
24.6 mi away
Red Barn Motel
Red Barn Motel
#1 of 1 in Milbridge
44 reviews
22.4 mi away
Eastland Motel
Eastland Motel
#2 of 8 in Lubec
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Machias River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machias River Inn

Address: 103 Main St, Machias, ME 04654-1149 (Formerly Machias Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Machias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machias
Price Range: £85 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Machias River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Machias River Inn is conveniently located on Route 1 in the center of Machias. There are several restaurants, bars and stores within easy walking distance. We share the parking lot with famed Helen's Restaurant. We are directly across the street from the Sunrise Trail, a multi-use recreational trail. Our rooms are just feet away from the beautiful Machias River where you can view the sunrise from your patio door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Machias River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machias Motor Hotel Machias
Machias River Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing