We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate room next to a great restaurant and view of the river”
Review of Machias River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Machias River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machias
Certificate of Excellence
Hallowell, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Adequate room next to a great restaurant and view of the river”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were in the area again doing genealogical research, and even though it was a holiday weekend, there were rooms available here. It is a basic motel, but we found it to be perfectly adequate for our needs. We requested a first-floor room so that my elderly mother could access it easily. The room was ample, clean, brightly lit, and had a refrigerator. The room also had cable TV and free wifi. A brief walk across the parking lot is an excellent restaurant--Helen's Restaurant--that serves home-style food and was always full of patrons during our stay. The motel sits on the west bank of the Machias River, so we had spectacular views of the tidal river through the large sliding glass doors in our room. The only drawback being on the first floor were the neighbors, who seemed to think it was okay to gawk inside as they walked by with their dog or stand in front of our room talking loudly on their cell phones. But, that was not the hotel's problem.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, you might want a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    82
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
64
85
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great location in Machias. All rooms look out onto a tidal river and you can relax in a patio chair on the lawn. Conveniently located near several restaurants so you can walk to eat out. The motel is nothing fancy, but reliable. Decor is somewhat dated but the room is spacious and has a large refrigerator and wi fi. We would go there again and recommend it to friends who are vacationing in Down East Maine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbymaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for one night. The room was a normal hotel room but did have a mini fridge and the place was really clean. Nice view from the room with eagles and seals visible from room. Helen's Restaurant share the parking lot and the Downeast Sunrise Trail is just down the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BotanyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I travel there on business occasionally and I have stayed here 3 or 4 times. Get a room on the water side, you can actually watch the tide come in and go out. Very nice. It has a nice back lawn and is pet friendly. The staff is great and the facility is very clean. The rooms need a little updating, but it is in Machias, Maine....you should expect this a little. It is right next door to Helen's restaurant that makes the world famous Blueberry Pie (in season) and it is fabulous. This motel is in the quiet town of Machias and has plenty of surrounding beauty and history to keep anybody busy for a couple of days. There are Blueberry barrons for miles just outside of town and July is harvest. Very active and very interesting. The local KIOTI tractor dealer, Profile Tractor and Equipment, sells many tractor to these harvesters. Back to the rooms.... there is a slider out of the rooms toward the water and it is a 2 story hotel. In the busy season, I would recommend an upper floor room so you don't hear footsteps. Overall, great place and will be back.

Room Tip: get a top floor room on the water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yup_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed at the MMI while bringing a giant traveling map to local schools. The room is comfortable, with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and free WiFi! It is very affordable and a short walk to Helen's restaurant, the place to get pie in Machias.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room. All have views of the Machias River. Get up early to see the sun rise on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geolahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machias, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This is the only room I've stayed at EVER that had a coffee maker but no coffee.
It isn't a great idea to stay in Rm 30-you get a view of the trash bin and 2 liquid gas tanks!
Nice warm shower though.

Room Tip: Don't check in to Room 30 for a good view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleymmi, General Manager at Machias River Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
I am sorry you did not find your accomodations satisfactory. We are a 38 unit motel and four of our units do not overlook the river. Room #30 is one of those rooms. However, that room did just receive a complete renovation with new flooring, countertop, bed and all new furniture. It features a new, flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. I hope you enjoyed those aspects of your room.
We do supply coffee to all of our rooms. Apparently your housekeeper neglected to leave it. Had you called the front desk, we would have been happy to supply you with coffee.
If you find yourself in Machias again, I invite you to give us another try. Chances are we can find you that room overlooking the river and a hot cup of coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have stayed at the Machias Motor Inn many times over the last 10 years. This is a local motel, not owned by a chain. You won't have the cookie cutter rooms & lobby that I think everyone has come to expect. You will have a friendly greeting, a clean, comfortable room with a coffee maker, hair dryer, clock & wi-fi access. Most rooms have a mini fridge & updated televisions. There are a few efficiency units. Except for a few rooms, you will have a beautiful view of the river from the sliding door at the rear of the room. We have seen many different animals & lovely sunsets, so bring binoculars & your camera. The main road may be at the front of the building but it's easy to forget that if you're sitting out enjoying the view. Helen's Restaurant shares the parking lot with the Motor Inn so you can walk over to get breakfast on your way out for the day or get dinner before you return to your room at night, maybe bring some pie back to your room for dessert later. The cleaning staff do their job well & give you as much service or privacy as you want. If you need something extra, ask any of the cleaning staff or the front desk. This hotel is clean & comfy, just don't expect all the bells & whistles. You probably don't need them anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaggedyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machias
1.5 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#3 of 3 in Machias
78 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
24.6 mi away
Red Barn Motel
Red Barn Motel
#1 of 1 in Milbridge
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Robinson's Cottages
Robinson's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dennysville
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Machias River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machias River Inn

Property: Machias River Inn
Address: 103 Main St, Machias, ME 04654-1149 (Formerly Machias Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Machias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Machias River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Machias River Inn is conveniently located on Route 1 in the center of Machias. There are several restaurants, bars and stores within easy walking distance. We share the parking lot with famed Helen's Restaurant. We are directly across the street from the Sunrise Trail, a multi-use recreational trail. Our rooms are just feet away from the beautiful Machias River where you can view the sunrise from your patio door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Machias River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machias Motor Hotel Machias
Machias River Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing