We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of room and big fluffy towels”
Review of Machias River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Machias River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a great experience at this modest motor inn. Great value, and great service. spring for the extra bucks for the rooms facing the river. They allow dogs, and we met many nice people travelling with their pets. They were also very accomodating when I had to make a change to my reservation.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with a view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Machias River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was a little disappointed after reading the reviews. The front desk staff was very nice and kind. My room was somewhat run down. Yes it was clean but as soon as I entered the room I was met by a strange smell that said "old" place. The clothing in my bags adopted this smell as well. My eyes were itchy and my nose was runny. The bed was not comfortable. Maybe it was just my room, I don't know. The place was full to capacity so I could not change rooms. A little upgrading would go a long way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The room was clean and very large with a full kitchenette. The back of the motel has a beautiful view of a river with very nice lawn chairs to enjoy your "wobbly pop". We sat there until the sun went down enjoying the beautiful view of the river. Nice restaurant (Helen's) next door with fabulous blueberry pies.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the river
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmsirois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed two nights at the Machias Motor Inn. You can't beat the gorgeous view of the river, and it's very relaxing sitting outside looking over the river and perhaps spotting some hawks, eagles, osprey, cormorants, etc. It's next door to Helen's Restaurant, which is outstanding, so it's easy to access the restaurant. I do think that the beds need to be upgraded -- the mattresses are very soft and not "hotel" mattresses because they're outlived their firmness and years. I would suggest if the motel wants a higher rating that it update the mattresses so the guests don't have a tough time getting to sleep on a very soft mattress. Also, keep in mind that you are most likely to get a double bed -- there are not a lot of kings or queens, as per my understanding. We still enjoyed the place. It has more amenities than some in the area, including microwave, hair dryer, refrigerator, nice large screen tv, some toiletries, and the room is clean and neat. Others in the area have a pool -- this does not. Still, if you want to stay at a good place in Machias, Maine, this is it. Someone said the place is loud -- this was not in evidence at all these two nights. In fact, if anything, it was very quiet. A nice stay overall. Also -- the foyer is very dark -- could use a light right inside the entryway.

Room Tip: Be careful about the front desk -- you may have to wait a while. Clerk was chatting on the phone for...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portia82104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were in the area again doing genealogical research, and even though it was a holiday weekend, there were rooms available here. It is a basic motel, but we found it to be perfectly adequate for our needs. We requested a first-floor room so that my elderly mother could access it easily. The room was ample, clean, brightly lit, and had a refrigerator. The room also had cable TV and free wifi. A brief walk across the parking lot is an excellent restaurant--Helen's Restaurant--that serves home-style food and was always full of patrons during our stay. The motel sits on the west bank of the Machias River, so we had spectacular views of the tidal river through the large sliding glass doors in our room. The only drawback being on the first floor were the neighbors, who seemed to think it was okay to gawk inside as they walked by with their dog or stand in front of our room talking loudly on their cell phones. But, that was not the hotel's problem.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, you might want a room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great location in Machias. All rooms look out onto a tidal river and you can relax in a patio chair on the lawn. Conveniently located near several restaurants so you can walk to eat out. The motel is nothing fancy, but reliable. Decor is somewhat dated but the room is spacious and has a large refrigerator and wi fi. We would go there again and recommend it to friends who are vacationing in Down East Maine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbymaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for one night. The room was a normal hotel room but did have a mini fridge and the place was really clean. Nice view from the room with eagles and seals visible from room. Helen's Restaurant share the parking lot and the Downeast Sunrise Trail is just down the road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BotanyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machias
1.5 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#3 of 3 in Machias
91 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
24.8 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Red Barn Motel
Red Barn Motel
#1 of 1 in Milbridge
42 reviews
15.8 mi away
Robinson's Cottages
Robinson's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dennysville
10 reviews
1.0 mi away
Margaretta Inn
Margaretta Inn
#1 of 3 in Machias
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Machias River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machias River Inn

Address: 103 Main St, Machias, ME 04654-1149 (Formerly Machias Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Machias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machias
Price Range: £91 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Machias River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Machias River Inn is conveniently located on Route 1 in the center of Machias. There are several restaurants, bars and stores within easy walking distance. We share the parking lot with famed Helen's Restaurant. We are directly across the street from the Sunrise Trail, a multi-use recreational trail. Our rooms are just feet away from the beautiful Machias River where you can view the sunrise from your patio door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Machias River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machias Motor Hotel Machias
Machias River Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing