We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plan to return”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Schoppee Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Machias B&B and Inns
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“plan to return”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We had planned to stay at Machias Motor Inn where we have stayed in the past as we travel from Northern Maine to Acadia. The motor inn was full so we stopped at the Inn at Schoppee Farm. It was a delightful surprise. When we arrived owner David was working at the restaurant about 1/4 mile down the road but the lovely young woman who was cleaning rooms showed us the available rooms without hesitation. Owner David was a pleasure and very attentive. The room was spotless and tastefully decorated with a private entrance and private bath. The bed was comfortable as was the sofa in the room. A microwave, mini fridge and coffeemaker were inluded and a nice television. I am certain the room also had WIFI however I didn't use it on this visit. It is very relaxing and serene at the Inn. There is a lovely garden to sit and read with a view of the tidal waters. Don't miss Helen's restaurant which is a short walk (or drive away). No need to dress up for fresh seafood (from salmon to lobster, haddock etc) , wild blueberry pie, blueberry lemondade. You get a discount at Helens if you stay at the Inn but even if not, I would go there to eat while staying in Machias.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I stayed at the Inn recently for one night with my husband and two very close friends. We had reserved two room weeks in advance but called on the day before that scheduled reservation to see if we could change it, due to bad weather. David was so accommodating on the phone and even more so in person. The Inn itself is naturally peaceful and welcoming. I would highly recommend staying here if you are anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaineSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,673 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We recently spent one night at The Inn at Schoppee Farm and would definitely book a longer stay here in the future the next time we are in the area. The O’Brien room, which has its own private entrance, is very spacious, as is its bathroom. The décor is pleasing and uncluttered – we loved the rich maroon walls and the wood floor. There is a comfortable couch, and the antique treadle sewing machine made a delightful night stand. The house is set far back from the road so it is extremely quiet and peaceful, and the river view is lovely. We also appreciated the free wi-fi.

The owners, who are very friendly and accommodating, also own the nearby Helen’s Restaurant. Inn guests receive a 10% discount on their meals. We had a very good seafood plate here – but the truly stellar dish was the blueberry pie. We’ve eaten a lot of blueberry pie in our time, and this was absolutely the best we’ve ever had. The crust is unbelievable. The inn does not serve breakfast, so we bought a piece of coconut cream pie and brought it back to the room (which has a little refrigerator and microwave) to have for breakfast the next morning – it was delicious, as well. (Note: there are several nearby restaurants which serve breakfast, but we needed to leave early so opted for the take-out pie plan).

We were totally satisfied with the level of comfort, amenities, and hospitality we received, and would highly recommend The Inn at Schoppee Farm.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank VOYJEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, New Brunswick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, this is your place. My husband and I spent one night at the Inn on Schoppee Farm and can't wait to return. The Inn only has 2 rooms and the view from both in great, they also each have their own separate entrance.
We only met David briefly, but he seemed very kind and warm hearted.
The Inn is located a very short walk from the town which has a few restaurants, one of which is owned by Inn owners.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We have visited the Schoppee Farm and Inn many times. We have NEVER been sorry we stayed their. The Inn is above Excellent in all the categories. The view of the River is magnificent, peaceful, and
gives meaning to the saying Gods Country. Highly recommend staying there you won't be sorry. Julie and David are awesome people who go above and beyond to make there guest comfortable. Enjoy we do.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank apple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Inn at Schoppee Farm for two nights last week, and what a wonderful experience it was. The innkeepers, David & Julie were the most friendly people, exactly the type of people you would expect to own an inn and be in the hospitality business. Our room comprised of a two bedroom suite with a separate bathroom with a whirlpool tub. Both rooms were quaint, full of antiques, each included a rocking chair and other seating. The breakfast was very good, especially the wild blueberry pancakes on morning two...! We will definitely return to the Inn on our next trip to Machias. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a 'peaceful' getaway, romantic or otherwise.

  • Liked — The Innkeepers
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june252000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machias
0.8 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#3 of 3 in Machias
79 reviews
24.0 mi away
Red Barn Motel
Red Barn Motel
#1 of 1 in Milbridge
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Schoppee Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Schoppee Farm

Property: The Inn at Schoppee Farm
Address: Us-1, Box 314G, Machias, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Machias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Machias
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Inn At Schoppee Farm Maine/Machias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing