We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable motel, great location, easy check in and out, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Axell's Scandinavian Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 17 September 2009

My boyfriend and I were traveling to Maine for a friend's wedding. We decided to stay at Axell's because we needed a pet friendly hotel/motel (we have 3 1/2 month old Sheltie), something close to the wedding and reception site (we are from WAY out of town), and couldn't afford to stay at the chain hotels. Axell's fit the bill and I was pleasantly surprised at how clean, cute, and accomodating it was.

Great stay overall.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ms-Mizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Axell's Scandinavian Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2009

Well-kept lawns and lovely trees, Close to lakes and a golf course. The state capital, Augusta, is a short driving distance. Scenic drives to historic sites. Well-furnished rooms with Kitchens and equipment. Clean and reasonable rates. The owners, Sheila and Kent Axell, are very personable and go to great lengths to accommodate their guests. I enjoyed my three-month stay! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lil22Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

As a frequent business traveler I can honestly say, this was the most enjoyable stay I ever had at a Hotel/Motel! With every little thing, you see and feel that everybody (owner and staff) love what they are doing. Everything, from the responsivness to e-mails, the cleanliness of the rooms, the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and staff gave us immediatly this warm and homey feeling. We had a wonderful time the 2 weeks we stayed there while our son attended a hockey camp at Kents Hill and all this at an afforderable price. And the great pool was the icing on the cake :-) We rate this place "outstanding" and can highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_1965Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Front desk (owners) were very pleasant and responsive. The room was clean, cute and homey, the bed extremely comfortable, and the mini-kitchen a definite plus during our week-long stay. We really enjoyed the gazebo/patio area on the front lawn. It was easy to find, but just far enough off the highway and downtown Augusta to have little traffic or noise.
Our room, #106, was a little small, but well laid-out. It had a shower, rather than a bathtub, if that matters to you. The weekly rate made it an excellent value for the $.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoupleOfNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Axell's Scandinavian Inn was a great find after a long drive. We checked in, late in the evening, happily greeted by the owner who efficiently checked us in. Once in our room it was obvious that both the owners and the staff loved the business they were in and took pride in their work and creation. It is a small motel with the feel of home away from home and is cleaner than any other hotel /motel I've been in. The amenities, microwave, refridgerator and small set of dishes make it the perfect place to keep a lower budget vacation or over night while on a road trip. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayakergirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Nicer than I have come to expect of motels. The room had a real drip coffee maker w/ supplies, a mini frige, and a microwave. The decorations were fresh and done thoughtfully.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliff28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

I am an over the road salesman and have lived in motels throughout Utica New York and Bangor Maine for the past 171/2 years with a 5 day a week cycle. This motel that I stay at every time I come to Maine is owned and operated by mainers. How can you go wrong?
Steve Berry

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
2.3 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
803 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
19.9 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axell's Scandinavian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axell's Scandinavian Inn

Address: 803 Western Ave, Manchester, ME 04351-3530
Region: United States > Maine > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £56 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Axell's Scandinavian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just west of the Augusta line, we are two, small, locally owned and operated motels with all the amenities of a large one. Innkeepers, Sheila and Kent, have worked tirelessly to make each and every guestroom unique, comfortable and full of amenities that they themselves would like to find while they are traveling. You won't find "cookie cutter" guestrooms here, all guestrooms are decorated differently, so if you don't like the style of one, we are sure we'll find one you love! When you visit, you must take a dip in the new inground, salt water, heated pool, located at the Fairway, just one mile from the Scandinavian Inn ! It is fabulous! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Axell's Scandinavian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axells Scandinavian Hotel
Axells Scandinavian Motel
Axell's Scandinavian Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing