We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend”
Review of Red Barn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Barn Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milbridge
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This place is old, run down and not clean. We're not fussy people but there was hair in the tub and the sink was so old you couldn't tell if it was clean or not. Have three words for this motel, nasty, nasty, nasty. Keep on going down the road don't stop here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faylamassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBarnMotel, Owner at Red Barn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

I am so sorry your stay with us in September of 2013 was unsatisfactory. We just recently finished renovating all our rooms with new carpet, paint, linens, and other in room amenities as of April 2014. I do hope you will give us another try should you be in the area again, and if you like you can contact me directly by asking for Kristen when you call. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

This place is a great find and a great value. The building is set well back from the road making it very quiet. I had a huge room, very bright and clean, with a balcony over-looking the water. For $53.50 (single) it was a score. Nice little town too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was doing some family history research in the area for a weekend, so really just wanted a basic room, which is what this place offers. The lady who checked me in was a real peach who reminded me of my own grandmother except sweeter and was very friendly and helpful. She offered me a corner room on the second floor of the farthest building which seemed to be the only building they had open at the time. The view from the room over the Narragaugus River was very nice. The room itself, I imagine, hadn't been updated since the 80s or 90s, but it was large, clean (in fact, it smelled faintly of bleach), had plenty of towels, and had a pine tree car air freshener hanging from the curtain rod. There was a nice selection of channels on the TV, a refrigerator in the large bedroom, and the heat kept me warm. There is apparently wi-fi available, but the dear old lady who checked me in knew nothing about it, and my laptop and phone barely picked up a signal in my room. Still, that wasn't an issue for me. My only complaint about the room was a complete lack of water pressure that made taking a shower in the morning a challenge. Water, when it did come out of the shower head, was in fits and spurts and barely a trickle. Nevertheless, for $50/night, I would stay here again. It's right in the heart of Milbridge, so I could walk to places to eat and the Hannaford's, I had an excellent view of the river, and I slept okay.

Room Tip: Apparently the non-smoking rooms are on the second floor, but check the water pressure in the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here because they allowed dogs. We have three large dogs. The room was clean, and there's a nice wooded area to walk the dogs. The restaurant is closed, but there are places to eat that are close. Since all we do is sleep, we didn't mind that the motel is older.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLBArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was a cheap motel ($64 a double no breakfast). It was clean and the room quite large with a table and a porch with a lovely view over a lake. There was no breakfast but for the price you could not complain. Basic, simple, but clean. The wifi did not work for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighae54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

OK Motel where the room (36) was quite good for the price. Else the place looks a bit rusty. There is a very nice restaurant (44 degree north) in walking distance! The own restaurant seems closed. Worthwhile staying a night over if your are traveling #1.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I had to go to a funeral in Milbridge and called ahead for a reservation because I wanted to give the staff enough time to clean the room after reading bad reviews. When I got there the entry carpet had a few little staines but the rest of the room was clean and we even pulled down the bed and checked for bugs. The matress was a Serta Perfect Sleeper and no bugs were found. I feel I got an excelent value of 2 Queen Beds for $74.95 with tax. The restaraunt was closed down but there was a little restaraunt called The Fishermans Wife just around the corner within walking distance. My uncle who is a retired Marine thought the motel was "doable" and up to his standards as well. He walked around Millbridge and took sun rise pictures that were beautifull. I would stay there again but always call ahead just to make sure they can have a CLEAN ROOM!

Room Tip: CALL AHEAD to make sure there is a clean room waiting for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milbridge
19.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
23.2 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#3 of 3 in Machias
94 reviews
24.6 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Barn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Barn Motel

Address: 3 N Main St, Milbridge, ME 04658-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Milbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milbridge
Price Range: £65 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are now a non smoking property. All of our rooms have been renovated as of April 2014 to better serve our customers. We boast a waterfront view from every room. Our spacious rooms are comfortably furnished and equipped with mini fridge, microwave, coffee makers, 32" LED tv's, and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Barn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Barn Restaurant And Motel
Red Barn Restaurant Hotel Milbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing