We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Ruthie's”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Millinocket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
Oromocto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rustic Ruthie's”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

With the limited choices in Millinocket for decent accommodation, I was relieved to find this establishment to be amongst the better of them. There are no extravagant amenities, it is basic hotel accommodation. The price reflects this as well, and you get what you pay for. One nice touch is the fact that there is free wi-fi available. My connection was fast and I did not encounter any speed issues. This is a family owned and operated hotel and from the onset, I was made to feel welcome and was greeted by first name. Ruth also runs the restaurant and bar with homemade dishes and desserts. I did enjoy the meals and left feeling satisfied. The hotel is dated but it is kept in good shape. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and well stocked. A mini fridge was in my room, which solved my problem of having to go out and get ice. Giving the room a modern touch, a flat screen TV sits upon the bureau and has a significant television channel selection. My overall experience was positive. If you are not looking for the world of amenities and want clean, simple, accommodation, stop in at the Hotel Terrace.

Room Tip: There are rooms available on the front side facing the street, or on the backside of the property fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I were out for a snowmobiling trip and was staying in a motel up there. We tried a few places to eat that were so-so. We went to Ruthie's and I had wished we had gone for every meal. Ruthie is an awesome lady. she made us feel welcomed and we will go back. The food is homemade and very good with great prices. Thank you Ruthie

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crystalwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here after getting stuck in a snow storm. After deciding to drive 7 extra miles from 95 in the snow to get there, it was definitely worth the drive. We arrived around 9pm and the owner Ruthie was welcoming and even offered to make us pizza and calzones in the restaurant (both were great).

A nice feature of the hotel is that all the rooms are inside in a "T" shaped hallway. The rooms were clean, warm, comfortable, and affordable.

I had such a great stay that I hope to return one day for vacation. Definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Lodging in Millinocket is limited. My friend and I checked out several places, and Ruthie's was the nicest in the group. The price was reasonable, especially compared to similarly priced options. Good value for the price we paid. Ruthie was hospitable and fun.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turtles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliot, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Somebody told me that Ruthie's was cheaper and better than the other Millinocket Hotels. I checked it out first hand. We arrived at 9:20pm. When Ruthie found out that we missed out on our dinner, she offered to reopen the restaurant (it closed at 9pm) and make us pizzas even though she had already cashed out. What a wonderful act of hospitality. We were very grateful. This was just simply how Ruthie runs her hotel/restaurant. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. If you are considering staying at the Baxter Park Inn or the Pamola, don't stay there.... stay here. The Hotel Terrace is better and it's cheaper. You won't be disapointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJ-sledder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Hotel Terrace has everything we needed as hikers going into Baxter - namely, a comfy bed and hot shower great water pressure. The family members that work at this establishment are incredibly friendly and accommodating. They saved us with a room after we got scammed by another area place with good reviews on Trip Advisor. They even offered to make us dinner after hours because the fiasco we had at the other place prohibited us from getting to any area restaurants in time for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Very reasonable place to stay with family. The food was very good and home made. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelope009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millinocket
0.9 mi away
Baxter Park Inn
Baxter Park Inn
#1 of 5 in Millinocket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
22.3 mi away
Whitetail Inn
Whitetail Inn
#1 of 3 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katahdin Inn and Suites
Katahdin Inn and Suites
#3 of 5 in Millinocket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pamola Motor Lodge
Pamola Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Millinocket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Katahdin Cabins
Katahdin Cabins
#3 of 11 in Millinocket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Young House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrace and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrace and Restaurant

Property: Hotel Terrace and Restaurant
Address: 52 Medway Rd, Millinocket, ME 04462-1819
Region: United States > Maine > Millinocket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hotel Terrace And Restaurant Millinocket, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing