We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New England Outdoor Center - NEOC

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millinocket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New England Outdoor Center - NEOC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our party of 8 spent a week in a coveside cabin, and we didn't want to leave. The cabin was cozy, comfortable and a short walk to the lake front. The children loved kayaking and canoeing around the lake; the life jackets, paddles and equipment was all well cared for and clean. The grassy areas overlooking the lake were inviting with their fire pits, Adirondack chairs and shade trees. The gardens around the River Driver Restaurant were lovely, with vegetables and flower beds bordered by decorative lighting.

Basically the NEOC staff was friendly and very open to providing any service for us. We brought our lab puppy, and he loved swimming in the lake and playing with the dogs of other guests. The staff would smile and pet him, and provided a dog bed for our cabin. The ladies at the front desk were always full of smiles and advice, and we appreciated the complimentary coffee which was always provided across from the check-in desk. I'm ready to book a trip there next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarniAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Everything and everyone connected with our weekend was superlative. Every staff member I contacted on the phone or in person was friendly, helpful, and well-informed. Checking in was a snap, even though it was dark and we had never been there before, because we just looked at the map on the website, and our cabin had lights and heat on. We were a little chilly at night with just the blankets provided, so we took some off the bunk beds and were fine. The kitchen was stocked with durable but attractive dishes, glasses, pots and pans, etc., all squeaky clean, and we had a microwave and refrigerator, but no television. Cell phone and Internet coverage was spotty but available in parts of the River Driver's Restaurant. Breakfast and dinner were outstanding, with the very best onion rings I have ever had in my life, except for A and W Root Beer in 1962. Dave was our guide on the snowmobile tour and was very patient, enthusiastic, well-informed, and pleasant to us two old ladies, and I would strongly suggest specifically requesting him. He was an absolute treasure. This was probably the best weekend in many years.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrescentMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

Spent a winter vacation with three kids. The cove side cabins were great, and we had the convenience of the restaurant for meals as well as all the winter activities we were interested in.
We look forward to coming back in summer.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Check in was a cinch. Very friendly staff.

GUESTHOUSE: Our guesthouse was about one year old and had modern everything. Floor to ceiling windows looking out on trees and a cove. Comfy couch and oversized chair (not gross at all). Booklet full of area activities and guesthouse rules. Felt secluded from everyone else. Could wake up to the sunrise. Completely quiet. Very easy to checkout. You don't have to wash the linens. You just have to clean the dishes, put everything back the way you found it.

THE CAMPUS: Awesome common area with amazing views of the lake and Mt. Katahdin. Nice dock, swim entry point, etc. Great photo ops. We were there in the off season, so just walked around and took pictures next to the pretty lake.

THE RESTAURANT: We were there two nights. The first night, out of laziness, we just walked down the way to eat close by. We ate in the wine room, next to the window looking at the lake and mountain. The bread was to die for. Melted parm and sea salts baked on top. We took pictures of our entrees. I mean... this was Class A food and service. We went back the next night and tried all different things (they had a different kind of bread, I guess the chef varies it). We'd buy the place next door just to be close to that restaurant.

Without camping, it's one of the closest places to stay if you want to explore Baxter State Park. Takes you about 30 minutes to get to the park entry, and another 30 minutes to the Chimney Pond trail head. So allow ~1hr to get there from NEOC.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evangex04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great PLACE to stay and the staff are super friendly and accommodating... I'll truely go back.

Great Food, Great Bar, Free Kayaks and What an amazing view of Katahdin!!

Cabins are clean, comfortable and in walking distance of river and dining. Also very close to go White water rafting.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAMMY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Beautiful cabin on the lake at Twin Pines camp at New England Outdoor Center. We ate at the restaurant, made a camp fire and my boys swam and did the kayak in the lake. Next day we did the full day raft trip down the Penobscot River. Fantastic is all I have to say. Definitely a great time and great memory. Staff helpful and knowledgeable too. I wouldn't stay anywhere else...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshkyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Three of us stayed in the fox den for 2 nights. My wife and I took the king, my bro got stuck with the pull-out couch. We all slept well. The place was clean & the decor was pretty trendy. Much nicer than what I had expected for a cabin! The kitchen was stocked with all the pots/pans you need to make a meal. (We made muscles over pasta.) The room had a microwave, coffee maker, soaps & shampoos. We definitely were not roughin' it. The grounds were very nice. Rec room if you have kids.. Free canoe's and kayaks.. We hiked Katahdin, so we didn't got out on the lake. I'd def stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamie410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Millinocket hotels
8.0 mi away
Baxter Park Inn
Baxter Park Inn
#1 of 5 in Millinocket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
7.8 mi away
Katahdin Cabins
Katahdin Cabins
#5 of 11 in Millinocket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
7.8 mi away
Katahdin Inn and Suites
Katahdin Inn and Suites
#3 of 5 in Millinocket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Young House Bed and Breakfast
7.1 mi away
Ice Fish Inn
Ice Fish Inn
#4 of 4 in Millinocket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pamola Motor Lodge
Pamola Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Millinocket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New England Outdoor Center - NEOC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New England Outdoor Center - NEOC

Property: New England Outdoor Center - NEOC
Address: 30 Twin Pines Rd, Millinocket, ME 04462
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Millinocket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Millinocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're staying for a night or staying for weeks, our variety of lodging options are designed to exceed your expectations. Our location is situated to showcase Maine's natural beauty and allow guests easy access to experience the adventure of white water or smooth water rafting, miles of snowmobile trails, abundant moose and wildlife encounters close-up and breathtaking views of Mt. Katahdin. All Season Resort, Heated Camps and Cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New England Outdoor Center - NEOC Millinocket, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing