We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holy Cow!”

Mainely Photos Moose & Photo Tours
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Holy Cow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

It was one of those rainy days when my fam took this tour....word of advice for folks who don't take nature tours: don't get cute, Clawrd don't wear heels cuz' you'll never know where you'll land....Vicki was our guide and she didn't disappoint!

I got rained on, one of my daughters shoe got sucked in the mud, my hair was soaked....during this type of year, the moose are getting ready to chill for the season, my goal was to get just one moose photo, and I was ready to go....

Well, Vicki was hell bent on finding Moose and practically forgot (I reckon') she was driving a passenger van.....backn that thing up on a dime and making turns like it was a compact car.....it was a fun experience, extremely knowledgeable and I seem more mooses....this is a tour you don't want to miss!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AvocadoNTomatoe... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Moose!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Great tour, very informative, we were given loads of information about the moose, we only saw one Moose but a lovely bull, definitely worth a trip.
We also stayed in the companies house, lovely house real bargain, if you are looking for somewhere for you and your family to stay in Milliknocket

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lelliott789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun and informative tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Our family of four took the tour with Dale. He was very good at explaining all about moose and their habitat. We saw 6 moose. Some were close enough to get good pictures.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mulljac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We Saw a lonely bull moose in the Fall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

The other posters here who gave negative reviews have no idea what it takes to find a moose and the skills as a tour guide knowing what to look for in the sticks as you have to know how old the foot prints are new or old a lot of factors come into play the temperture as the moose get stressed when it's to hot and when it floods they stay deeper into the forest so there are less moose to be seen not the fault of the tour operator. The tour I went on we where lucky to have Vicky the moose lady and found a moose with in 30 min going down the golden road one bull that was about 5 years old clear in the open as we walked with the moose for about an hour. The next day no one saw a moose and a local photographer Marc has been trying all seasons just comes to show you some is luck as you have to be in the right place at the right time. If you don't see a moose is not the fault of the tour guide just a matter of being lucky that's why they recommend going out more than once. Also people who think they can do this on their own with a rental car will tear up the car on these dirt roads and will have no idea where to look as you have to have knowledge of these roads as you can get lost. The best time to see a moose there is none as June you see them feeding in the pounds but they have small racks, in the fall the bulls have a full rack but takes a lot of skill to find them you just have to have a local guide like vicky. The tours was worth the money in contrast what the other posters have said with their experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank photoman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mainely Moose was a great addition to our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

I had never seen a moose until our Moose Safari with Mainely Moose Photo Tours in Millinocket, ME. This was a great addition to our vacation! Their website says to bring bug spray and that is right (for the summer anyway). They also say to bring a sandwich to put in the cooler so you can eat along the way. The tour is at 4 pm and last several hours. We ended up eating ours after the tour but there is a Subway sandwich place in town on the way to the Safari if you are from out of town and need a place to find something (right across the street from the McDonald's). Vicky was our guide and she loves the area, knows interesting tidbits to share with you, and really enjoys the moose. She knew where to look and how to look, so we were successful on our tour. Vicky made it very enjoyable and we went away very pleased that we had chosen to do this as part of our vacation.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 2doglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mainely Photos Moose & Photo Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing