We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Really loved this place. Booked last minute and it was the perfect choice for us. Beautiful location. Excellent service. Very comfy rooms. And I can see why the food is so highly rated. Breakfast being particularly delicious! Will definitely return and I have no hesitation in recommending. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for The White Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Went here for a meal on Saturday 22/03/2014 all I can say is "it was amazing" I had shredded in breadcrumbs and it was fantastic the flavour and texture was amazing,and my husband had the sausage and mash,sounds basic but was excellent!
Would defiantly recommend this!! Well worth the visit!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Set in a quiet rural setting, where you can definitely chill out. It had a feel of days gone by, when you could sit and chill in the warm cosy setting of a country pub. Our room was faultless for the price we paid through Laterooms.com, it had a few little extras to the norm. Our curtains opened out to a view of a small holding which had two miniature potty belly pigs and geese, gave you a sense of calm. Spotlessly clean rooms which were adjoined to the pub and had obviously been barns at one point. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and breakfast was excellent, using obviously fresh local produce. Would highly recommend if you travel in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brialyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked this room a few days before we travelled via LateRooms & saved £25. It's very close to Avebury Circle which is where we were headed the next day. It really is lovely, out in the countryside very little light pollution so we were treated to a beautiful starry sky which added to our sense of tranquility. The Inn is old, modern, tasteful decor & feels very cosy. We arrived late & were quite stressed & hungry. Our "host" diminished our stresses by suggesting that check in could wait until we had our meal & even though we were very close to last orders, there was no sense of rush or hurry from any of the staff. We enjoyed a very dinner, fresh produce with a slight twist (but not outlandish), nice choice of wines & really fresh & tasty champagne sorbet to clear the palate.
Our ground floor room was light & spacious: set apart from the Inn itself in a converted barn. The only caveat was the dressing table at the foot of a very comfortable "sled" bed, which required careful negotiation in the dark in order to get to the bathroom: the presence of a single bed suggests this is a "family" room & account for the interesting location of the dressing table? We were given good verbal & written instructions regarding the heating which was really helpful. The bathroom was clean & pleasant, although I do have some concerns about the lack of a wall mounted rail to aid exit & entry to the bath/shower, especially as a non-slip mat wasnt provided. The tiled floor was also VERY cold underfoot first thing. French doors leading on to a patio area was a real plus (imagine more so in the warmer weather). It overlooks a paddock complete with a natural spring that lends the calming effects of bubbling water to the overall sense of peace. I was woken by a Dawn Chorus which was gloriously lovely! Breakfast was nearly perfect: let down by store sliced white pap (we had fresh bread rolls the night before) & funny tasting baked beans?? Staff were all very pleasant & friendly & so calm! The location is perfect for Avebury, Stonehenge, Siluris & more. Just lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorenceScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

If I tell you all about its perfect location, warm welcome, fantastic restaurant with fine food and perfectly cooked breakfast, then it will become even harder to book in than it already is!

Seriously though, among the best of the best in Wiltshire.

Room Tip: Check in is not until 6pm so be sure to plan for that.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImpBublinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

What can I say, the whole lunch experience was perfect. The staff were excellent. The food was fantastic and presented beautifully. We can't praise it enough and will certainly be going back to eat there and tell all our family and friends about it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A party of us dined here not too long ago and it was fabulous from start to finish. The service was timely and friendly. We all had something different over three courses and the food was great. I must admit the second visit was not good so lacks consistency perhaps but I wanted to write about the first visit because it really was faultless. I am hoping the second visit was a blip so that I maye return to enjoy a third visit as much as the first.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank travelingwilbury1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compton Bassett
2.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
197 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
287 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
642 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Dove Cottage
Dove Cottage
#1 of 2 in Compton Bassett
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: Compton Bassett, Compton Bassett, Calne SN11 8RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne > Compton Bassett
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Compton Bassett
Price Range: £70 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** The White Horse Inn, Compton Bassett is delighted to have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence award by Trip Advisor! ***The White Horse Inn is an Award Winning, family run 18th century country inn. Beautifully positioned in the Wiltshire countryside, we are only a few miles from the Avebury stone circle, Marlborough & Bath. Our area is famed for its' crop circles in the early Summer.We have 8 superb newly renovated en-suite bedrooms, all with flat screen digital (freeview) TV's, tea/coffee making facilities and heated towel rails in the bathrooms.Set on a few acres our accommodation is a separate annex to the pub & restaurant, with most of our rooms overlooking our resident pets in our paddock. We are a Free House and have a wide selection of bitters (come and try our local real ales - we are CAMRA accredited) and lagers, an excellent wine list and a wide range of single malts. All our food is prepared on the premises using the finest local ingredients where possible, meals can be tailored for if required. We specialise in traditional English Fayre, fresh fish & local seasonal game. You can eat in the bar or the restaurant.We are proud to announce we have recently received a very prestigious award - Winners of the Best Restaurant & Pub Award for Wiltshire 2012. We are also recommended by Alastair Sawday's 'Special Places to Stay'. 'Exceptional Places to Stay' The Daily Telegraph. Please note our bar & restaurant close Sunday evenings and Monday lunchtimes/evenings, however, our B&B is open 7 days a week offering a full choice of breakfast.Our check-in times are after 6pm. We look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Calne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing