We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The accommodation is in a separate block at the back of the inn. We had a room at the back overlooking the field so it was very quiet. The owner is exceptionally friendly and helpful, but all the staff were lovely. We were surprised the rooms were about to undergo refurbishment as we thought it looked great! We will definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillianWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our third trip to The White Horse. Can't be faulted. Staff lovely, food excellent, silent, perfect sleep. The accommodation is separate from the pub. All the downstairs rooms open onto little terraces with tables and chairs. Greeted by lambs, geese and pot-bellied pigs in the morning.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank nicodo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Taken here by family, after 3 weeks home in the UK from Australia. Mid week, lunch. All 4 of us had different meals, the slow roasted pork was perfect, the burger looked fantastic. The home made ice cream, again perfect. The atmosphere was welcoming, staff treated well, Tara, the land lady was delightful. Footnote, the bathrooms were clean, and cared for and that was the overall feel. The staff, all of them make the place feel like a well cared for home. Please, try them out..

Oh yes, the 6x was lovely too. Graham and Heather from Melbourne ( via Swindon)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

on our recent weekend away my husband our dog and i chanced upon the white horse for a wine wow we were amazed what a beautiful pub in such a fabulous setting.We had just eaten a big breakfast so could not manage lunch but the food looked amazing. I love my wine and was impresses with the wine list . Everyone was so friendly staff and customers alike , I felt Tara( the landlady). was like a long lost friend no one would believe i had just met her so wish it was my local we will return next time to stay .Cannot recommend it enough

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We visited this delightful pub for dinner on our wedding anniversary today. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so very welcome. Our dinner was served promptly, and it was really tasty . I had a Rabbit Terrine followed by a fillet of 'Brill'. I'd never had that fish before, but it was fleshy and flavoursome. My wife had a wonderful 'Chorizo-Scotch Egg' followed by a Duck Breast and Veg dish, which was 'substantial with an incredible flavour'. There was a good selection of wine, and we had 3 real ales to choose from - albeit the 3 usual suspects.... Bath Gem, 6X or Doombar. Nice, but commonly available. In summary, we will be back. Tara made us feel welcome - and next time we'll book a room to prolong the pleasure. Thank you all for making it a special night for us both.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickyinSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We went here for a meal on a Saturday night with our 16 month old daughter. The restraint it clean, bright and relaxed. The food the exceptional! And the service was brilliant! They were so welcoming to our daughter which is great for us! (They even have changing facilities on the gents toilets) they have a cute Easter cupcake to her too!

Highly recommended we will Definatley return again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princesspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We turned up late on Tues lunch just before the kitchen closed but were warmly welcomed by all the staff, had a fabulous home made, home cooked, 3 course lunch with little extras thrown in such as a tiny tomato and pesto soup.
The Chardonnay (Chile) was well-chilled and fruity, the Doombar ale well kept and the fabulous meal (too much to mention but home-made Gravadlax, pulled lamb, raspberry parfait leap to mind) was rounded off with coffee and petit fours in the garden on a sunny April Day.
We've put it in our list of places to which we will take visitors and friends, in fact any excuse!
The perfect English country pub, old building, pretty location, friendly and efficient staff, wonderful food and drink.

Room Tip: Perfect if you are visiting Avebury and / Stonehenge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compton Bassett
2.6 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#3 of 3 in Calne
299 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
2.3 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#2 of 3 in Calne
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Heritage Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Dove Cottage
Dove Cottage
#1 of 2 in Compton Bassett
392 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: Compton Bassett, Compton Bassett, Calne SN11 8RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne > Compton Bassett
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Compton Bassett
Price Range: £81 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** The White Horse Inn, Compton Bassett is delighted to have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence award by Trip Advisor! ***The White Horse Inn is an Award Winning, family run 18th century country inn. Beautifully positioned in the Wiltshire countryside, we are only a few miles from the Avebury stone circle, Marlborough & Bath. Our area is famed for its' crop circles in the early Summer.We have 8 superb newly renovated en-suite bedrooms, all with flat screen digital (freeview) TV's, tea/coffee making facilities and heated towel rails in the bathrooms.Set on a few acres our accommodation is a separate annex to the pub & restaurant, with most of our rooms overlooking our resident pets in our paddock. We are a Free House and have a wide selection of bitters (come and try our local real ales - we are CAMRA accredited) and lagers, an excellent wine list and a wide range of single malts. All our food is prepared on the premises using the finest local ingredients where possible, meals can be tailored for if required. We specialise in traditional English Fayre, fresh fish & local seasonal game. You can eat in the bar or the restaurant.We are proud to announce we have recently received a very prestigious award - Winners of the Best Restaurant & Pub Award for Wiltshire 2012. We are also recommended by Alastair Sawday's 'Special Places to Stay'. 'Exceptional Places to Stay' The Daily Telegraph. Please note our bar & restaurant close Sunday evenings and Monday lunchtimes/evenings, however, our B&B is open 7 days a week offering a full choice of breakfast.Our check-in times are after 6pm. We look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Calne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing