We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“recent visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“recent visit”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We visited for 2 days recently and found all the staff very friendly and helpful giving ideas on where to visit and such like.We ate in the bar on the first night and although the food was good it is expensive and portions are small- nouvele cuisine indeed ! One potato cut into 4 pieces and tiny baby carrots with my chicken. Very attractively presented but very small portions. For example a cheeseburger was 13.95 , sausages 13.95 ribeye steak 19.75 chicken 15.75. This I thought was over the top. We ate at another pub on the second night and this was much better value for money. However on the plus side we enjoyed our stay and the rooms were very comfortable and clean plus we had a balcony. Again staff were superb. Thank you !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyson p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    35
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
92
149
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Once again the experience at White Horse was exceptional! We were a group of 7 celebrating my dad's birthday. The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

We all ate off the Al la carte menu all of our dishes were amazing we were even given a small tea cup of soup complimentary which was a great touch.

Atmosphere great, staff great & food great!

Highly recommend you all to give the White Horse a try.

We will return. Can't fault anything!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank G-marieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Recently visited The White Horse Inn' for my Birthday lunch (Sunday with a party of seven). A really great experience. Food was spot-on and a good selection of wines. Very helpful staff and Tara (LL) is absolutely wonderful as 'Front of House'. My guests included 2 friends who had flown in from Copenhagen having checked the place out on-line...they were VERY impressed.

Will continue to use the place for 'Special Occasions'...undoubtedly the best place around Mid Wiltshire.

Derek Hudson (Spud).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Delboydevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at the White Horse. We had room 3 which easy very pleasant with views over the field of sheep, and just a very short walk to the main building. Level of furnishing and the bathroom fittings all up to a 3 or 4 star hotel level. Great cooked breakfast, with delicious black pudding. We also ate in the pub restaurant twice, and whilst not cheap the meals were of very high quality. Goats cheese starter with balsamic ice cram was unbelievably tasty, rack of lamb also extremely good. Staff were all vey friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 3 where we stayed is very nice, with views of the field and sheep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We visited The White Horse on a Friday night on a spur of the moment decision to find somewhere to eat. We had passed by this pub previously and thought it looked nice, but had no idea what it may be like. We arrived fairly early and the restaurant was already booked up, so we were offered a table in the bar which was still very pleasant, exceptionally clean and looked freshly decorated. The owner checked we were ok with the table and all the staff continued to be very attentive and helpful. The menu had a good selection and we decided to forego a starter to leave room for pudding. We expected to wait a little longer for our meals to be prepared but we were brought an 'amuse bouche' to wet the appetite and our meals followed as soon as we had finished. The main course and desserts were delicious and we had a very pleasant evening. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and freshness of the decor so on leaving we asked the owner if they had just refurbished the pub, but she said it was decorated 3 years ago, so they obviously work hard to keep it looking clean. All in all a very pleasant meal and we are glad to have found this little gem.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Really lovely helpful staff. We had lunch when we arrived. It was delicious. We had a nice clean simple room, although they were a bit dated, and could do with a bit of a revamp. The breakfast was lovely, with lots of choice, and attentive, friendly service. Beautiful village.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuffragette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just moved into the area so local knowledge is limited, lots of hearsay about the White Horse, tonight we gave it a try and what a relaxed , informal and enjoyable evening it turned out to be. The staff were genuine and smiled, the food was delicious and Tara made us feel very welcome...we will be visiting again soon. Thank you

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PaW8352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compton Bassett
2.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
9.2 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
9.5 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
8.7 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Property: The White Horse Inn
Address: Compton Bassett, Compton Bassett, Calne SN11 8RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne > Compton Bassett
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Compton Bassett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** The White Horse Inn, Compton Bassett is delighted to have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence award by Trip Advisor! ***The White Horse Inn is an Award Winning, family run 18th century country inn. Beautifully positioned in the Wiltshire countryside, we are only a few miles from the Avebury stone circle, Marlborough & Bath. Our area is famed for its' crop circles in the early Summer.We have 8 superb newly renovated en-suite bedrooms, all with flat screen digital (freeview) TV's, tea/coffee making facilities and heated towel rails in the bathrooms.Set on a few acres our accommodation is a separate annex to the pub & restaurant, with most of our rooms overlooking our resident pets in our paddock. We are a Free House and have a wide selection of bitters (come and try our local real ales - we are CAMRA accredited) and lagers, an excellent wine list and a wide range of single malts. All our food is prepared on the premises using the finest local ingredients where possible, meals can be tailored for if required. We specialise in traditional English Fayre, fresh fish & local seasonal game. You can eat in the bar or the restaurant.We are proud to announce we have recently received a very prestigious award - Winners of the Best Restaurant & Pub Award for Wiltshire 2012. We are also recommended by Alastair Sawday's 'Special Places to Stay'. 'Exceptional Places to Stay' The Daily Telegraph. Please note our bar & restaurant close Sunday evenings and Monday lunchtimes/evenings, however, our B&B is open 7 days a week offering a full choice of breakfast.Our check-in times are after 6pm. We look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Calne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing