We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monhegan Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John Sterling Harbor House
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My wife and I are Mainiacs and graduates of UMaine, living in Florida, and who return to Maine each summer to regain our sanity and peace of mind. Although we have visited Monhegan several times since 1972, 2010 was our first stay at JSHarborhouse and it was fantastic. The Hostess was superb, the scenery spectaular, and we enjoyed three stress-free days, superlative sunsets, seafood and fresh air. We'll be back again and again, Good Lord willin'.
Al&Sue Skiffington Orlando Fl

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Skiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2011

I have been coming to Monhegan Island in the summer for seventeen years, but 2008 was my first summer in the newly-renovated John Sterling Harbor House. The c.1809 building, one of the oldest buildings on the Island, is reminiscent of old Monhegan on the outside, but its newly-refurbished interior is up-to-date. The location of the old house features great views overlooking the harbor and Manana Island to the west, and the open North Atlantic to the south. Its prime location on the dirt Wharf Road allows one to witness all of the comings and goings of the daily arrivals and departures of work boats, ferry boats, and the mail and freight boat. The owners quickly become friends, and are willing to accommodate. I rent the right-hand half of the building, as seen from the road. The accommodation is exactly what I need to carry on my business of being a fine artist, and the location lends itself well to having a studio open to the public. I highly recommend the John Sterling Harbor House. Bradley Hendershot, Upper Hanover Township, Pennsylvania.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank monhegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The J S Harbor House is absolutely the best place to stay on Monhegan Island. The location is perfect - just steps away from the dock and other island offerings. Susan is a wonderful hostess and one of the best things about staying at the JSHH. From breakfast cooked to perfection to one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in - the JSHH had it all. We hiked most of the island and I can tell you that the JSHH is by far the premier property on the island. We hope to go back and would definitely stay at the JSHH.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kass2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My husband and I recently visited Monhegan to hike the trails and check out the Island. We decided to stay at JSHH from the reviews on Tripadvisor. Our room was comfortable and Susan was the perfect hostess. She gave us our choice of rooms and we had the 2nd floor to ourselves. Susan fixed us an excellent ham and egg casserole with her homegrown tomatoes added to it. The coffee was very good as was the blueberry muffins. This house is extremely old which adds to it's charm. Be prepared to think green (conserve water, recycle, etc.)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richvabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My husband & I just returned from a trip to Monhegan Island. It was our first trip there. We stayed at the John Sterling Harbor House, owned by Mark & Susan Finkin. We were greeted and extended a very warm welcome by Susan, who made us feel immediately at home. She showed us to our room, a very clean and cozy one, even a caligraphy written name tag on our door (a nice touch). The setting of this B & B we felt was the best on the island, as our room faced the harbor. The sound of the waves on the rocks and sea gulls was the best "white noise" to fall asleep and wake up to. The home was roomy and very clean. We enjoyed two beautiful breakfasts, blueberry pancakes, apple crisp & biscuits. Coffee was made available a hour before breakfast and beautifully served. Susan was accommodating and very friendly and helpful with our many questions about life on Monhegan. We loved the "Fish House", had as much lobster as we had time for, watching the most beautiful sunsets. We recommend the John Sterling Harbor House and thank Susan for her gracious hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sean013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The JSHH is in a perfect location and the view from our room was beautiful- overlooking the harbor and ocean. Susan was a gracious host and prepared us a delicious breakfast. The inn is clean and comfortable. As others have mentioned, it is on the rustic side but I think that adds to its charm. We look forward to visiting Monhegan again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theresa238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Loved the inn and stayed on it's more rustic side. It was well thought out, comfortable, and Marc the innkeeper went out of his way to make us comfortable. We highly recommend this, weather you wish to cook in, or dine out. Can't wait for next year for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to John Sterling Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Sterling Harbor House

Address: 5 Wharf Hill Road, Monhegan Island, ME 04852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Monhegan Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monhegan Island
Price Range: £75 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The John Sterling Harbor House built in 1809 and restored in 2003 overlooks the Atlantic and Manana Island with a rare sunset view of the ocean from the eastern seaboard. Standing at the top of Wharf Hill only 200 feet from the harbor and at the center of Monhegan Island where you will be transported to a place where time stands still.Guest house apartment as well as nightly flat and room rentals are available. Bring that special someone to the most romantic isle in the east. Bedding sizes range from King, Queen, Double and Twin based upon travelers needs and availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Sterling Harbor House Monhegan Island, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing