We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
40
23
14
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
23
14
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstep back in timerocking chairsown bathroomincluded breakfast islobsterdouble bedblack ducka wonderful place to staycomfortable bedsisland lifethird floorogdenporchparlorretreatsusansinks
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights with a group. Our corner room was very bright and had two comfortable beds, a dresser, a table and chair, a bed-side table, plenty of light, and a power outlet. There are no private baths but very clean shared toilets and shower rooms down the hall. The staff was friendly and efficient - our bags were brought up from and down to the ferry which was helpful. Be aware that all rooms but one are up at least one flight of stairs. The breakfast and dinners were excellent. This was a very comfortable and accommodating place for our birding group to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We love the Island Inn- third yearly overnight visit to celebrate our anniversary. Yes it is not “ modern”, which is why we love it. The food is fantastic, the public rooms are cozy, views from the porch and quest rooms are fabulous. Staff is very accommodating.
Slow down, meet new friends, enjoy a real getaway from 24/7 media. Take a stroll, a hike, read a book. Appreciate this preserved way of life. Understand what it means to make this island work 11 miles out to sea. Be good visitors in someone else’s town. We will book again next year and bring friends to enjoy the Inn.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ChessieNero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

If you like Old World Charm in the form of shared bathrooms on another floor, squeaky floors and stairs that wake you up from other guest's trips to the loo, steamy rooms, squishy beds and worn miniature chairs in your room then this place is for you. If you don't like sitting on the porch with trucks and carts kicking up dust on the dirt road, paying too high for everything then you might think twice about staying here. The breakfast is good though. The island is beautiful but small enough that a day visit is enough. It probably should have been preserved with no people allowed to live on it, day visits only. Then it would be a treasure. Oh well.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor at all costs.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArcticTern2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We haven't been able to stay here yet on the annual art retreat we go to on Monhegan, but have eaten here.
The food and the service at THE MONHEGAN HOUSE are great. I enjoyed a fresh salad, and a small plate of two handmade tacos. One had lobster and the other ancho duck. I also had a side of whipped carrots. Whipped carrots! Who would have thought these would be such a delicious treat? But, they were! We finished up with a peanut butter dessert that was, as they told us it would be, just a couple of bites. I love that!
Joe, the maitre d'hotel, was friendly and patient. He handled our gluten issues patiently and very honestly.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank steph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

There are only 3 hotels on the island. This one is very clean and quiet. It is about a half mile from the dock and has a shuttle service to bring your luggage up the hill to the hotel. It has four stories with no elevator. There is no water in the rooms. The second floor has showers, sinks and toilets in small rooms down a corridor. The third floor has two toilet/sink combination rooms. Rooms can only be locked from the inside but isn't a problem. Most rooms have either a twin bed or a double bed. Be sure to ask when making your reservation. The lobby is very comfortable. They have Carabassett coffee available in the mornings. There is wifi throughout the hotel, even out on the lovely porch. The staff is helpful and friendly. There is a restaurant on the premises.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews