We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful retreat away from the everyday noise of life!”
Review of The Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monhegan Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Island Inn
Certificate of Excellence
watervliet, new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat away from the everyday noise of life!”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We took the boat out of Port Clyde Me., arriving about 75 minutes later at Monhegan Island. Monhegan sets out in the Atlantic and is approximately 1-1/2 miles long and 1/2 mile wide. Few Inns, small quaint shops, no bars, no movies, no TV or radio...just blissful quiet. The Island Inn is situated at the entrance of the Island overlooking the ocean and some lobster boats coming and going. The Inn is 3 stories, old structure, giving the feeling of elegance along with welcoming comfort. the staff was more than gracious, welcoming us with information on our room...when breakfast is served, what the Inn provides, our room and local eateries, which were two. This was the last of the season before all the Inn's closed for the winter months. The Island Inn did have electricity as there was one up the road with none. The food at the Inn was exceptional, with very prompt and gracious waitresses and waiters. Our room looked over the Atlantic Ocean and lobster boats which started bobbing around at 5 am. It was bird migratory week and the birds were in the hundreds or all colors, sizes, shapes and willing to sit for photos. I was told they were there getting fat and ready for their journey south. The hiking was great with high cliffs looking out over the expanse of ocean. It was beyond peacefulness and tranquility and something that I have never experienced before. A treasure of a vacation. For those who want away from the crazy life on the mainland.... Monhegan is the place. The Island Inn is the place. Breakfast was Lobster Scrambled eggs, home-fries, bacon, stuffed french toast, home made blueberry scones and muffins...fruit, yogart, home made granola and all the toast, muffins, bagels you could want. Coffee in the lobby at 6:35 am and breakfast at 7:30. It was absolutely fantastic and beautiful. I can't say enough about this Inn or this Island and will return another season. This Island only has about 45 people living there all winter. Go, bring a book, your hiking boots, binoculars, camera and be ready to relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dotdugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    55
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
114
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
275 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Like many of the guests, we live in Maine and have wanted to visit Monhegan Island, and went for a birthday celebration. The inn was pretty much what we expected from TA reviews. A short, steep climb from the dock doable with small luggage. Reception expects guests based on the ferries and are prepared for check in which is friendly and efficient.

We reserved an oceanview room with private balcony @ $225. The view was lovely and we definately recommend oceanview over meadow view. Weather was cool, rainy, windy so we did not use the balcony. The room was on the small side with a queen bed and small bath. As known, no TV. Very minimalistic but clean and a very comfortable bed. Think a 100 year old hotel that has been maintained and somewhat updated.

The common rooms were very comfortable with a gas fireplace in one. Large porches with chairs. Guests used the rooms for reading, Internet and computer work, cards or quiet conversation.

The complimentary breakfast was excellent - lobster scrabble eggs, blueberry stuffed French toast, bacon, scones, fresh fruit and many breads, yogurt. If not enough, you can special order from the kitchen.

As others have said, you entertain yourself. It is very relaxing and very different from the norm.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaTravelerOahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I spent a week this summer at the Island Inn. We had never been to Monhegan before and didn't feel confident doing a rental, so opted for the luxury of full service. The Inn is a beautiful, quite and simple base for exploring the island. The people working and living there are nice because they enjoy their island home and want to share it with others.
The island is a unique place and I had a great time hiking, taking the boat ride, birdwatching and eating lots of lobster. This vacation is definitely not for everyone. If you have to be constantly stimulated and entertained, or need to be in contact with the outside world and on technology - then forget it. If you are looking for a place to stop and unwind and move slowly, and see beautiful nature - then this is it!

Room Tip: I would recommend the top floor if you have no problem with stairs. The views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiniMello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This September 2012 vacation was our first trip to Maine. So I didn't know if I would enjoy the visit to Monhegan but after all the good reviews and advice of others I booked a Thursday night at the Island Inn. And I thought this would be a good way to relax because I might be forced to just sit and enjoy the view. The day spent on the island was one of the highlights of our trip and had we known we would have stayed longer. After looking at the website for the Inn, staying here was just what I had expected. It was clean and we reserved a room with an attached bathroom and an ocean view. The bed was comfortable. I don't know if they offer fans (I didn't ask for one). I thought it might get pretty chilly because it was very cool outside when I went to bed. It was a little warm but I was able to sleep fine - just didn't use the covers. We left the window open. We walked three of the trails, #7 was our favorite. We got beer and wine from the Barnacle cafe. We had ice cream at Novelty and ate lunch at Fish House Fish. Dinner at the Island Inn restaurant was very good. I loved sitting outside in the adirondak chairs and rockers. Breakfast the next morning was included and SO good. Between lobster scrambled eggs and blueberry cream cheese stuffed french toast (and there was much more) - what else could you want! We were sad to leave the next day on the Laura B. Everyone here was so nice.

Room Tip: No matter how long I look out at the boats and ocean I couldn't get enough so I'd pick an oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakeAPicture-PaintIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This hotel is a treasure! So is the entire island. Not everything is perfect, from a comfort/amenity point-of-view but if you want an authentic experience of a New England coastal island, stay at The Island Inn. The inn is just a few steps (uphill) from the boat dock. The U.S. flag flaps vigorously from atop the gray-shingled, mansard-roofed building. Rockers on the porch, overlooking fishing boats in the small harbor are occupied all day. Below, on a rocky, grassy slope sits a row of Adirondack chairs, also beckoning.
Inside there is a game area, with puzzles and stacks of board games, comfy chairs to sink in for reading or (if you must) checking email. This is a place for a true vacation. Strolling along the gravel lanes, and wooded paths, visiting artists’ studios, sampling blueberry muffins or lobster rolls from five or more deli/café/gift shops. Then back to the inn for more rocking, reading and watching the weather, ever changing and ever picturesque.
The inn serves a wonderful breakfast that is included in the rate. The rate is, indeed hefty in high season, but it should be. You need to either bring your own wine or buy it at one of the stores. There is no law enforcement personnel on the island so selling and imbibing are strictly separated. You are allowed to BYOB to the inn’s restaurant and the two other dinner spots that also don’t sell wine and beer.
Needless to say there is no air-conditioning. It is rarely needed but it can get hot and humid in July and August. The only vehicles are ancient pickup trucks and golf carts…and very few of those. There are some wonderful piles of junk on Monhegan, as you find in all really unspoiled places. Enjoy it!
Our Room, Suite One, accessed via the front porch, is comfortable and furnished with care and good taste. Everything is clean and fresh and tidy. Original oil paintings of the hotel and the island hang from the walls. The bathroom is small and basic. The view of the harbor is delightful. The main issue with our room is the lack of privacy. Guests in Suite Two have to walk past the windows to reach their room. It was occupied by a family when we were there. Although the children were well-behaved, they couldn’t help prancing by our windows several times a day. Total privacy would have meant darkness and no view. We didn’t mind but some people might.
We were there for 4 nights. The longer we stayed the more in synch with this special place we felt. If I could change one thing, it would be a greater sense of hospitality. The staff was very pleasant but no one had that special gift. We were very happy with the food.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is a relaxing sanctuary--a throwback to another time--so peaceful. Well worth the journey to get there. They have games & puzzles--no TVs--bliss. It is on the pricey side, but we splurged and don't regret it at all--a vintage gem! The rooms are quaint and quirky. People are friendly. We went on the Hardy boat from New Harbor and topped off the stay with a great lobster roll at Shaw's where the boat docks. We are planning to return--can't wait.

Room Tip: Book early--rooms fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcjhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmar, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This summer marked our 4th visit to an incredible hotel on the most wonderful island in the United States. It oozes old fashioned charm. The hotel is at the top of a hill overlooking the boat landing. My husband and I love to relax in the comfortable chairs on the huge porch or the front lawn, which faces another gorgeous island called Manana. The sevice is impeccable. We had delicious dinners all three nights in the lovely dining room. The staff couldn't have been more gracious or more helpful. The island, with its delightful little stores, artists painting the huge cliffs and magnificent scenery, and swarming butterflies, is truly remarkable. We love Monhegan and the Island Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monhegan Island
10.8 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
16.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
17.0 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
16.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
15.7 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn

Property: The Island Inn
Address: 10 Ocean Avenue, Monhegan Island, ME 04852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Monhegan Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monhegan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn sits atop a bluff looking west over Monhegan harbor toward the ocean and in the evening it provides a perfect location to view the dramatic sunsets and the magnificent colors that accompany them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Monhegan
The Island Inn Monhegan Island, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing