We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional grace with rustic, beautiful seeting”
Review of The Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monhegan Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Island Inn
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional grace with rustic, beautiful seeting”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I spent 2 wonderful days on the island which has terrific walks, and a thriving artist community. The Island Inn is traditional in style, and very personable. The restaurant was unexpectedly good, and everything was as fresh as can be. There is even a new craft brewery on the island. Next time we will stay longer.

Room Tip: Bring good hiking shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WardWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    56
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
117
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We love the Island Inn and Monhegan!

Having stayed several times at the main inn, we recently stayed in Pierce Cottage which is also part of the Island Inn. We were very pleased with our accommodations which included a large bedroom and bathroom as well as a spacious sitting area. We found the suite to be nicely decorated, bright and comfortable. Traveling with a grandchild, we appreciated the easy access to the first floor suite and to the village stores. We also loved the rocking chairs on the cottage porch and used them daily!

As part of the Island Inn, breakfast at the inn is also included for all guests at Pierce Cottage. We can heartily recommend the lobster scrambled eggs, blueberry pancakes and blueberry stuffed French toast. We also enjoyed several dinners at the main inn dining room. Favorites included the bacon-wrapped scallops, blueberry soup, halibut and haddock.

The service at the inn has always been excellent. Returnees are greeted as old friends and newcomers are greeted warmly. If it is your first time on Monhegan, the staff readily shares helpful information about the island as well as suggestions for hikes including level of difficulty.

We look forward to another stay at the Island Inn and more time spent on Monhegan!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jantu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

When we arrived we were told that our room was not in the main building. No one had mentioned it earlier. also, we were told that a gratuty fee for housekeeping would be added to our bill at the end of the stay. We were given directions to get to our room (no one accompanied us),, and it turned out to be little more than a broom's closet.
At departure the next day, we found tha housekeeping gratuity was also chardged for our 4 months old son. When we mentioned we found this unexpected, management argued it was due, as the child represented extra work for housekeeping!
The restaurant was a pleasent surprise, the food was excellent, and the island warrants a visit. However Island inn should reconsider its pricing and its customer management. Frankly we felt ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dan74gas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandInnMonhegan, Innkeeper at The Island Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay with us and are truly sorry that the experience did not meet your expectations. As evidenced by most of the comments on this forum, our guests are generally very happy, and it’s unfortunate that your stay was an exception to this.
To be fair, we should clarify the circumstances of your dissatisfaction. We were contacted by email the day before you arrived about availability and we responded that there were two “meadow view” accommodations available in our “Pierce Cottage building” but no reservation was made at that time. When you arrived without a reservation the following day, during the height of our summer season, you were given the option of a larger king suite and a smaller queen bedroom and you selected the latter.
We would have been more than happy to show you the rooms if you felt uncomfortable with the selection and it is quite clear that the Pierce Cottage is a separate building, as stated to you at check-in. You were certainly not compelled to take either room.
Equally the gratuity is clearly stated on the website and in the information given to you in writing at check-in and stated as $5 per person per night to cover the service for the housekeeping and the breakfast staff. Without question there is more work involved for the staff when a third person, of any age, is involved and therefore the gratuity is justified. When you queried this gratuity you were kindly informed that we would be happy to remove the gratuity for your child however you declined this offer.
We try to make every stay a pleasant one for all of our guests. We take pride in our customer service and the relationships we have developed with our many returning guests, who appreciate the Inn year after year.
Thank you for your praise of our restaurant and for Monhegan Island and, again, we are sorry you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

While we absolutely love the solitude and rustic, magical experience that Monhegan Island offers, the accommodations at Island Inn have simply become too expensive for what they are. The hotel is very simple but absolutely lovely, perched up on the hill overlooking the harbor with the best porch and rockers you will ever find. The rooms are small and very basic, but that is what is expected on this Island. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. The food in the dining room is good, although the dinner we had at Monhegan House was even better (more gourmet). Really, the only issue with this lovely inn is the cost and as such I think it is time to explore other options such as Monhegan House or any one of the numerous cottages for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftl-principal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We loved staying here. The rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean and tasteful. The food in the hotel was delicious, and the service was excellent both in the dining room and in the hotel generally.

We came during a heat wave, so I recommend booking a corner room so you can get a cross breeze if you get unlucky on weather. The hotel was very nice about helping us upgrade our room for a bit of a discount so that we could be comfortable. I will also echo another review I read: the screens on the windows were not adequate. Some bugs did come in, but no mosquitos.

All in all, I would recommend Monhegan Island to everybody, and that you stay at this hotel while there. Its the nicest on the island in terms of rooms, staff, and food. The breakfast included in the room rate is quite elaborate and delicious.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best in summer for the cross breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l_m_palm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon Falls, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The reason to stay here is obviously the location. Other than that, I would stay at another place if I return to Monhegan. I was quite surprised by the size of the room because during booking I was told this was a larger room because it was the corner. The bathroom was good size but it was floor space. There were moths everywhere in the room despite putting the "screens" in the windows. The maid was incredibly loud in the am just outside the door. I had requested the quietest room. Very disappointed in the room. Dinner however was very good and the breakfast good as well. Restaurant staff was excellent. Great view of the sunset. It was interesting stay and not what we expected for Maine. Not as friendly and welcoming as most Maine locations. Local artists and their work is very nice.

Room Tip: Corner room seems to be the largest but that isn't saying much. We had the 3rd floor which prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Well folks this is not the Ritz in New York. It is what it is and that is why we love it. Friendly and welcoming staff. Rooms are simple but clean. Good food. No television but not much worth watching anyway. It is all about getting out looking at artists, their galleries and walking the trails. Or if you like, just sitting on the front porch with your assorted electronic devices or not. This time around we had more fog than any other prior trips, but from my point of view as a photographer that offers a whole new realm of possibilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FandB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monhegan Island
16.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
10.8 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
151 reviews
16.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
273 reviews
17.3 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
357 reviews
17.0 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn

Property: The Island Inn
Address: 10 Ocean Avenue, Monhegan Island, ME 04852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Monhegan Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monhegan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn sits atop a bluff looking west over Monhegan harbor toward the ocean and in the evening it provides a perfect location to view the dramatic sunsets and the magnificent colors that accompany them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Monhegan
The Island Inn Monhegan Island, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing