We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Maine Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monhegan Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Island Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Magical Maine Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Monhegan is a place for respite, wonder and outdoor delight and we could not have had a better base than the Island Inn. The Inn had lovely touches -- a shared guest refrigerator for storing picnic items -- including the Growler from the Monhegan Brewing Company, a crazily delightful find after a few hours of hiking -- and 6:45 coffee provided, making an early morning sit on their exceptional porch a fabulous way to start the day. Breakfast was excellent and included in the price of the room. While dinner at the inn looked fantastic, it also was on the big/rich side, and we opted instead to enjoy the fun and low key food available at the fish shack. On our second evening we got fish tacos from Hot Fat and brought them back to the lawn of the inn and ate while watching the sun set. (If you're bringing younger children, consider Tracey Kane's book Fairy House and the film Kristin's Fairy House as an intro to Monhegan - but remember, fairy houses should only have natural materials that are not living - we were disappointed to find some embellishments that are not good for the woods) The rooms themselves are small and somewhat rustic, but it is not a place to stay indoors, and everything was very clean and well cared for. Picnic supplies can be found on the island, but we were also glad to have brought our own for lunches by the ocean.

Room Tip: We chose a corner room for more ventilation but the big choice is between a shared bath or private o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    55
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
114
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Many people who visit Monhegan rent cottages by the week as opposed to staying at the Inn but schedule a dinner out. Eight of us "rusticators" did exactly that the other night and enjoyed a wonderful meal of transcendently fresh fish, mussels in white wine sauce, super scallops, and chowders. Beautifully prepared to perfection every dish and improved over other years.
However, in addition to the fishy entrees whoever is in the kitchen respects and honors vegetables! Grilled fennel brings out its innate sweetness; the salads are inventive (even the iceberg wedge, a popular old timer, with great toppings). Finally, no meal at the Inn is complete without the desserts, chief among which is the traditional blueberry pie ( our companions have been known to reserve a piece at the beginning of the meal), but the flour less chocolate ganache with hazelnuts, strawberries, and suchlag or ice cream runs a close second.
Monhegan laws allow for people to bring their own wine or beer to restaurants
( a great variety may be purchased at the Barnicle on the dock, L Brackett & son, or the Monhegan Brewery on the road to Lobster Cove. The restaurant will uncork your wine and bring glasses with no fanfare or corkage fees.
If you go to Monhegan overnight do include the restaurant in your plans!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islesford, Maine
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I wouldn't stay anywhere else. First of all, you are staying in one of the world's great art icons. The Island Inn must be the most depicted hotel in more paintings than any other.
The hotel is New England . The rooms are spare, clean, updated baths, and beautiful. Walls are thin, floors are creaky in this old building.
Pay for an upgraded sea view and a large room if possible. The cheaper rooms are fine, but small. Remember that in the 'shoulder' seasons the rooms are unheated. Ask the wonderful and obliging staff for an extra blanket.
The restaurant is very good.
Also be aware that the Island Inn and all of the Monhegan services have to work very hard on this distant island. Typically islanders have several jobs. Costs of food, drink and so on, are high due to transportation that can be variable. The Island has essentially a three to four month season. This is when people can make their livings.
If you are so moved, tip generously. Monhegan is an extraordinary place and it needs our help.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgraded sea view and a large room if possible. The cheaper rooms are fine, but small. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank painter04646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Island Inn is an unusual vacation experience. Knowing what to expect will help you determine if it's the right place for your trip and prepare you to enjoy it to the fullest. Monhegan is a half-hour boat ride from the coast of Maine. It has no natural water, fuel, or food. Everything but the fish and the lobster comes from shore. Thus, water is precious and food is expensive. What is found everywhere are breathtaking ocean vistas, delightful hikes, engaging artists, and friendly natives. If you have a sense of adventure and a taste for the rustic and unusual, this is a fine destination. The Island Inn itself has outstanding dining, spare nearly-antique rooms, and an expansive porch that affords a memorable sunset on any clear evening. It's a lovely place to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with cross ventilation. It can get stuffy on a warm night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kalonymos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

What an outstanding experience! We stayed on the second floor ocean view, and man what a view. The rustic yet clean inn was outstanding, gorgeous and relaxing. We arrived on the late boat from port Clyde, me. Checked in and went up to see the room. It was clean and tidy. We made reservations for dinner at the inn and let me tell you it was the most amazing dinner we have had at an inn. The menu is simple and clean with great seafood meals listed. It is bring your own wine or beer but that's how the island is. The staff is friendly, ready to help or answer questions you may have. Breakfast which was included hit the spot both days. Make sure you explore the whole island after a good meal! To be completely honest I am not a tourist here, but for me being one of the ferry captains and never setting foot on this island, I was shocked when we stayed the weekend. The price for the inn is more expensive then monhegan house but WELL worth it. Check it out for your self, remember there is wifi but not TV and cell service is minimum....which I liked :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Scotte911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent one night at the Island Inn on Monhegan, and it was a delight. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the harbor. It was rather rustic (rough-hewn, painted wood floor) and old-fashioned, but all the modern comforts were in place. It made the perfect base for our exploration of the island. It was so quiet and peaceful. And once the sun went down, DARK! We could have used a night light. But we managed to handle it. By the way, pay heed to the suggestions and bring a flashlight. If you want to go anywhere outside after dark, you'll definitely need it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesRevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec city area
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We took an early boat (7am) over to Monhegan Island where we had breakfast at the Island Inn. You order your eggs or regular/blueberry pancakes at the table but serve yourself at the buffet table. Try the lobster scrambled eggs, or even the French Toast stuffed with blueberries. Of course, as is usual, there are many other options for all kinds of tastes and diets.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLT-LCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monhegan Island
10.8 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
16.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
17.2 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
17.0 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn

Property: The Island Inn
Address: 10 Ocean Avenue, Monhegan Island, ME 04852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Monhegan Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monhegan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn sits atop a bluff looking west over Monhegan harbor toward the ocean and in the evening it provides a perfect location to view the dramatic sunsets and the magnificent colors that accompany them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Monhegan
The Island Inn Monhegan Island, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing