We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE FIND IN WELLS”
Review of Wells-Moody Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wells-Moody Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moody
Certificate of Excellence
Bethel
2 reviews
“NICE FIND IN WELLS”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Got to say, my wife and I decided to drive north on route 1 from southern Maine on this passed 4th of July weekend, had no plans. We stopped in Ogunquit and walked around and to many shops. We love this area, decided to see if we could find a place with this short notice. We drove just north, all of the Motels seems to have NO Vacancy signs up and we weren't surprised. We then saw a vacancy sign at the Wells/Moody Motel, we stopped rite in there, the owner was working the desk and said they were booked up also but because of an emergency people had to leave one of the rooms, lucky for us! We took the room and Mike the owner was over the top to accommodate us. He walked us out to the room, he told us this room was one of the 14 of 24 rooms that was just renovated. The room was great! clean, A/C working nicely & the location was Great too. The beach was just down this side road, choice of half dozen restaurants within a 2 min. walk and public transportation stopped rite on the corner. We just loved this Motel and the pool was so close and convenient specially with the hot temperatures. We would have stayed another night if the Motel room was available. We will be back here with reservations next time.

Room Tip: All the room are ground level, easy to get in and out of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scroyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    14
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
20
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

What a great get away! You'll love it! Value and amenities are perfect for a vacation away from home. The staff is so great, and helpful. Nice pool. Quiet place.....Very relaxing and comfortable location with easy access to all locations up and down the coast. 10 minutes walk to Moody Beach..... Trolley access across the street......You will love Wells Moody Motel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Driving along Route1 , my girlfriend & I liked the location of this motel. Near bargain stores, restaurants, trolley route. The owner knew the area quite well and recommended many places and things to do that were all excellent. Being from the area for a long time is an advantage when it comes to knowing what is good and bad.The room was great, a few steps from the pool, nice restaurants nearby. the rooms were and linens were very clean. AC was in the room but not needed. It was a nice say for a walk, so headed to Ogunquit and visited the little quaint harbor of Perkins Cove. Lots of nice shops and restaurants. We decided to come back here again next year, Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Driving along Route1 , my girlfriend & I liked the location of this motel. Near bargain stores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISLANDGUY1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, RI USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Was traveling on a tight budget this July 4th Holiday. Enjoyed a $99 rate for a decent sized room with one queen bed. The room was very clean, well maintained, and perfect for my needs. The carpet looked like new. Check-in was quick and easy, the room was ready early. The air conditioning was on prior to my arrival, so the room was nice and cool. (It was 90+ degrees outside) the room had a good sized mini fridge, and microwave, a small table to eat at, and a spotless bathroom. The mattress was comfortable, and appeared new. Cable TV had a great selection, and the wi-if was free and easy to connect. The motel also had an outdoor pool which was well maintained, very clean and clear water. Easy in and out with built in stairs.

On the downside, however none of these items would cause me not to stay in the future: The room was not equipped with a do to disturb sign, which would have been helpful when sleeping in late. Also, the room door has two small windows at the top portion which have no curtain or blind to close. As a result, light from each passing car shines on the upper wall. (I was in room #3) I would ask the owner to look at that minor flaw. I would also have liked to have seen a safety chain or safety bar on the door in addition to the deadbolt. Lastly, and this is just a personal preference, the bathroom would be more comfortable with comfort height toilets with elongated seats. The toilet was low and very small.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewportRICouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I wanted a quick trip to the beach to enjoy the end of summer and came upon this place on some Wells web site. $79 was a bargain, it had a pool (pleasant little space) and you could walk to the beach, plus it had trolleys into Ogunquit. The better move was to just walk 25 min into town (Ogunquit can be qutie a zoo and best to leave the car in the hotel). The place is very old school but fine, mostly clean, lots of channels on the TV, little fridge (but the freezer didn't work) and being right on Rt. 1 wasn't loud at all. I would have given it 4 stars had I not discovered a couple hairs turning down the sheets, which along with the towels weren't so great quality. Overall tho, it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingly, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stay here a few times a year, it is very affordable & very clean. The area is great, right in the middle of everything you need. Staff is always helpful. The rooms below you can hear people above but for the price it is still a bargain.... We could stay elsewhere but we always find this to be the best bang for our buck.... Just stayed here first week of July & going back in September...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lodo5762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shore of Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

They ad on the street said 59$ for the night.

Me and my Girl-friend went to check it out. We asked for a quiet room, so we got one opposite to the street (US 1) who is under the the one facing the street. The only draw back, that we did here (not loud, not often) the people upstairs of us. There a nice pool, free ice and free wifi. The room and a mini-frige, microwave and a dehumidifier. Bed ware okay.

Over all great value for the bargain price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moody
0.2 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
3.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Majestic Regency
Majestic Regency
#18 of 28 in Wells
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#15 of 28 in Wells
145 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wells-Moody Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wells-Moody Motel

Property: Wells-Moody Motel
Address: 119 Post Road (US Rt 1), P.O. Box 371, Moody, Wells, ME 04054
Region: United States > Maine > Wells > Moody
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wells-Moody Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wells-Moody Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wells-Moody Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing