We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in great central location on MDI”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lilyfarm8...
Southern Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in great central location on MDI”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Buckeyes & Blueberries this summer and I must say this was the nicest place we have ever rented. We always look for a house or a condo instead of a hotel because we like having plenty of room, and this home did not disappoint. It is very clean, beautifully decorated and so comfortable. The King bed in the Master Bedroom suite was great and the leather couch and love seat were very inviting. Every room has been updated or recently renovated. The kitchen has plenty of cookware, tableware and pantry staples to easily cook a meal. I just loved the decor; if I were to build my dream home, this place would be it!
We thought this rental was in a great central location on the island. Its far enough away from the rush of Bar Harbor but close enough to easily drive into town for a meal. And it is very close to Southwest Harbor where there are many great restaurants. It is secluded in a nice wooded area where deer frequent every day. We liked the fact that you can't see any other houses from the back deck. All in all it was a great home base for exploring the island by car, and for biking or hiking.
The manager was also very pleasant and thorough with all the paperwork.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Comfortable and up-to-date furnishings
Liked least: nothing, everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Thanks for the detailed review, we're proud of this cottage and hope you return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Week in Acadia”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The house really met our expectations. It was beautiful inside, tons of living space (the three of us did not do it justice). The kitchen was beautifully redone. The bathrooms were great as well - the water was nice and hot.

We had a slight issue with the WIFI speed initially, but that got resolved. The satellite TV was great.

Also, since you're kind of secluded and in the middle of nature the bugs were a bit of a problem out on the porch.

Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Thanks, Matt -- sorry about the bugs, but hey, this IS Maine, after all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilderla...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house, Great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was the best rental experience we have had. Everything was as advertised and more. The house is very nice, extremely clean, and has everything you need. The location is perfect for touring MDI. It is an easy drive to all attractions but in a quite tucked away location away from traffic and road noise. The view is nice, deer pass through in the mornings and evenings, great sunrise view every morning. We felt like it it was home away from home and will deffinately try to rent this property for any future trips to MDI.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you want in a rental property
Liked least: WIFI could be faster
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Thanks, Bob -- hope you can indeed come again to Buckeyes & Blueberries.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zendude
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely Great”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I am very sure that my family are not the first one to say "can we stay here permanently?" the moment we walked into Buckeyes and Blueberries. The view overlooking Somes sound is absolutely breath taking. The interior of the house was beautifully decorated with taste and functions in mind. All the rooms have plenty of space and very very clean. My teenagers love the Moose rooms. I myself love just sit in the sun room and soak in the view. We most definitely want to visit Buckeyes and Blueberries again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view, the cottage and the sun room
Liked least: Not a thing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Thanks so much for visiting, zendude -- bring the family back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton NH
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
And we'd love to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing