We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfron Camping on Somes Sound”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Desert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Desert Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Scituate, MA
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Waterfron Camping on Somes Sound”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This was our second camping experience on Mount Desert island. Two years ago we had a lovely waterfront site at the Somes Sound campground and enjoyed the serenity and the views. This time we wanted to try another waterfront site and were very pleased with our choice. As it was the first week the campground was opened, we had our choice of several waterfront sites without a reservation. We chose site B4, a roomy site with a large platform for our tent, water and electric hook-up, and incredible views of Somes Sound. Camping in early season guaranteed us lots of privacy as there were maybe 10 campsites in the entire campground occupied, tops.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargieOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    16
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
75
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
southeast mass
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is our first trip to this campground and all expectations were met. We had an Oceanside site in the "C" section and were so pleased with wonderful view. Overall the campground is very clean, quiet and the owners are very pleasant. The bathrooms were very clean with hot water at the bathroom sinks. The showers are $1.00 for 5 minutes. This was a great "home base" for exploring Acadia National Park. If you are looking for tenting (or using a small camper) in a very natural setting, then this is the campground for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryll k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here the last 3 years. When first went up to Acadia we stayed at a couple different campgrounds the first 2 years. While driving around our 2nd year we went by Mt. Desert campground and stopped in, we are so glad we did! This is our favorite campground! It is right on Sommes sound. I haven't found too many campgrounds right on the water. This campground is very clean, well kept and the staff is great! We would highly recommend this campground to anyone camping in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandn0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, ct
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Ive been returning to mount desert campground for 5 years now and love it. Nestled in the pines right on a fjord (ocean inlet) it is by far the most beautiful campground on the island. The staff is so helpful and relaxed. Campground is so clean and upkept. So many wonderful sites, good for family or couples , or just friends looking to shred all the activities acadia has to offer. Very busy make reservations.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctPatrickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was my second time back, visiting with my mom and dad. We, once again, camped out in our trailer and although our site could not compare to the breath taking tenters sites, the beautiful dock and surrounding areas were wonderful. The campsite has nice, clean bathrooms with 0.50$ per 5 minutes shower. Although we did not take advantage of it this time, there is a really nice shelter with wifi and snacks for sale as well as crab nets for kids looking to catch a few crabs down at the dock. I have done this in past visits as a kid and I loved it! I highly recommend bringing your bikes as they are nice around the site, but, also, they are a blast if you take a day trip to the cranberry islands or the old carriage trails.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
4 Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen C, Owner at Mount Desert Campground, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you for your kind and informative review of our campground! In the interest of preventing new customers from encountering any unwanted surprises, we'd like to clarify that we cater primarily to tents, pop-ups and some small trailers (20' - 22' and under). If you have a bigger rig, we're not the place for you.

With respect to showers, a 5 minute hot shower requires $1 (4 quarters). Thanks so much again and we hope to welcome you back in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Erie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We decided to book a site here for our trip to Acadia National Park. The staff was very helpful when booking to make sure we had a great site. The campground was clean and well maintained. The platforms they have for your tent is a great idea! It was great that they were Dog Friendly for the first part of the summer. We loved staying here and would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebecca c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Everything was so clean. Campground was nice and quiet. But I would try to stay in a "c" section. Probably has less noise from the main road but still not a big deal. It didn't bother us too badly. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristen056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Desert
5.2 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
411 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
90 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
288 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,323 reviews
5.5 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Desert Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Desert Campground

Property: Mount Desert Campground
Address: 516 Sound Dr, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04660-6618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mount Desert
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1958, Mount Desert Campground has been providing clean and quiet grounds for campers to enjoy! While you won't find frills and gimmicks here, you will find beautiful wooded sites located along the salt water shore of Somes Sound. We take great pride in ensuring our camper's stay is a pleasant one, which is why we also provide the most up-to-date facilities. For more information, please contact us today or visit our website for more details! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing