We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mt. Desert Campground -- Great family experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Desert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Desert Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Mt. Desert Campground -- Great family experience”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I returned to Mt. Desert campground after a 8 year departure (we stayed at houses in bar harbor with other families for those years). We were greeted with smiles, and warmth even on a busy weekend. While I was telling one owner our excitement of returning...I overheard another camper saying the same thing to his wife "this is our happy place"
After 8 years, the same wonderful characteristics are still there. Platforms to camp on, many newly built, the gathering place, to get coffee and snacks, and read books. The campground has the cleanest bathrooms, and showers. Everyone is respectful. You can rent kayaks onsite at a reasonable cost and if you are lucky to get a watersite...you will see more stars and sunsets you can ever imagine. The campground does not have swings, movie nights, events and that is ok by us even though we have an 8 year old... it's a place to enjoy the beauty of Sommes sound, and located in the middle of the island so equally accessible to both sides of the island. We are excited to be able to share our love of camping with our son, at such a beautiful spot and we can tell we are not the only ones who feel this way!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbeatle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    14
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
71
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was a perfect location to spend a weekend close to Bar Harbor and the hiking we wanted to do. We upgrades to a "premium" spot which was nice because there were less people close to our site. I am one to get down and dirty but i have to say i LOVED that there were bathrooms and showers available. Also water spouts and electric posts for charging things!

Room Tip: upgrade to the premium site for a great view and more space from your neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa23A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Falmouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The best thing about this place is how well the owners have a handle on keeping the campground quiet at night. Might sound funny, but at 10pm I could hear a pin drop like someone flipped an off switch. I felt a little guilty returning late one night after a full day at Acadia because I didn't want to create any noise.
Beside that, they have quite a variety of sites available. There are a few sites that look like they are close to the camp access roads or the intersection two and I probably wouldn't stay in those but the majority of sites are set back.
Get a waterfront if you can! Those are great. We were lucky enough to get one the first time. They are in high demand so book early.
If you're on Verizon, forget about cell phone service. That was fine with me but if you need to get access to service, you need to be up near the main entrance. Free WIFI at the "Meeting Place" which is where you can get coffee and ice.
We passed several other campgrounds that didn't seem as nice as this. Stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This is my second time camping here, almost a year to the day after my first visit. Campground is very clean and very quiet. Located very close to Acadia, will definitely be going back to camp there. Lots of different types of sites to camp on. Bathrooms very clean. They are very strict about enforcing no large parties at sites and quiet time hours, which is great for campers in neighboring sites.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weims319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A hidden jewel in this beautiful area. We have stayed on Mount Desert Island before but this campground was a first for us. We were booked onto site E3. Site had a nice parking area, 12x16 platform for the tent, picnic table and fire pit. Dock kept the kids busy for hours catching crab. Kayak rentals onsite but saved that for the end of the week and got rained out. Gathering place has free WiFi, and is open in the morning and evening (pastries/donuts in the morning, ice cream at night). Bathrooms were very clean and showers cost $1 for 5 minutes. I know lots of places do have coin operated showers but this is the priciest one we have been to for 5 minutes. Not once did I use the full 5 minutes and neither did the kids. Quiet hours are from 10-7 but not 100% enforced. Twice the site next to us was very loud until the early morning hours and no one said a word to them.

My biggest complaint was the lack of drainage on the site. As soon as the rain came on Thursday our site was flooded. From the pool of water 100% surrounding the picnic table area to the 4" deep mud / much that formed at the end of the drive way by the road it made the site difficult to navigate. I completely understand wanting to keep things "natural" by not doing a lot of leveling on the site but this was ridiculous and could have been avoided. When the site gets raked it appears most of the stuff is raked into the woods which causes a build up and poor drainage. That will prevent us from returning as pack up was a disaster. I don't mind packing in the rain but packing in mud after the rain stopped to the point where you resorted to flip flops so you could rinse off the mud periodically was a bit much.

Room Tip: avoid site E3 due to drainage issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realyx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen C, Owner at Mount Desert Campground, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback as it truly does help us to improve. We are very sorry that you will not be returning due to the lack of drainage and the disruptive neighbors.
With respect to the wet conditions, we will re-examine the site in question do our best to improve the situation. For what it's worth, this has been the wettest summer we can recall since the 1984 season. Before the sustained torrential rain on that Thursday and Friday, the ground was already saturated. Some sites have fared worse than others- the drying out continues . . .

As to patrolling during quiet hours- you're right, despite our efforts we are not 100% successful in ensuring peace and quiet for all every night. Most of our terrific customers are so active all day, they're asleep before 10pm. We strongly encourage campers to alert one of our four staff campsites if they have a concern. We regret that you did not not make any of us aware that you had inconsiderate neighbors after the first night. Thank you again and we hope, someday, you'll consider giving us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Camping at its best! The quiet hours are 10-7 and they enforce them! Yea! If you like to stay up late and be loud don't stay here. We quiet campers would rather you go elsewhere! A lot of their spots are on the water and just so perfect. Most all of the spots have a platform for your tent. It is awesome. Water faucets are convenient to each spot. They have very little phone service in the campground so making calls is difficult. That can be good or bad. Free wifi is offered at "the gathering place" which is always open. The gathering place is a little building where people can gather and play games, use wifi, or buy ice cream, coffee or a breakfast pastry. Each morning they have pastries delivered from a local bakery and have fresh coffee made at 7. In the evening they are open to get ice cream from 6-9. You can also buy ice and firewood there. The dock they have is an amazing experience for kids. You can buy crab nets and a bucket at the campground and add bologna, hotdogs or whatever and your kids will have fun with the other kids there for hours and hours. You can also rent a kayak or canoe and take it from the dock. We actually rented from a place call national park canoe rental which isn't far away and you can canoe on long pond. Both are great places for paddlers. The only reason I can't say it isn't perfect is because the owners aren't that friendly. They definitely are friendly with their return campers they have had for years but after camping there for 3 or 4 years we still don't get a wave or greeting when they pass you in the campground. Other than that its perfect! Of course, it is in one of the most amazing places to have a vacation so the whole experience can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AddrenalineJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen C, Owner at Mount Desert Campground, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such an informative and enthusiastic review of our campground!
Just so you know, construction on a cell tower in Somesville is set to begin on September 1, 2013. We will have very robust 4G LTE service before the start of the 2014 camping season. We think this is mostly good. Not long ago, when customers asked about cell service, we would say, "you're here to relax and leave all that behind." We've come to recognize that many folks can't relax the way they'd like without checking their e-mail or text.

As to your friendliness observation, I'm owner down in the campground the most, so I'll take the hit on this one. Four things:
1. I try not to gaze at folks on their campsites as I want to respect their privacy.
2. I tend to be focused on the task at hand and I can succumb to tunnel vision.
3. By nature, I'm more on the reticent than the gregarious side.
4. Someday, I hope you'll find I'm really a lovable ball of fuzz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This campground has sites right on the water and all sites are wooded which gives privacy! Brand new bathrooms with running water was a plus! sites have fire pits and picnic tables. This is by far the nicest campground on mount desert island! We looked at all of them. I recommend this place!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ks1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Desert
5.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
5.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
5.5 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Desert Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Desert Campground

Property: Mount Desert Campground
Address: 516 Sound Dr, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04660-6618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mount Desert
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1958, Mount Desert Campground has been providing clean and quiet grounds for campers to enjoy! While you won't find frills and gimmicks here, you will find beautiful wooded sites located along the salt water shore of Somes Sound. We take great pride in ensuring our camper's stay is a pleasant one, which is why we also provide the most up-to-date facilities. For more information, please contact us today or visit our website for more details! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing