We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Colonel's Suites(Northeast Harbor)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asticou Inn(Northeast Harbor)
Book now, pay at stay
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimball Terrace Inn(Northeast Harbor)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$240
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Seas Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindenwood Inn(Southwest Harbor)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$438
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Book now, pay at stay
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wonder View Inn(Bar Harbor)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Motel(Bar Harbor)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
156
16
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
16
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgathering placesomes soundquiet hourscamping experiencecoffee and pastriesgreat campinghot waterbring quarterslocal bakeriescould hear a pin dropcatching crabstent platformsmorning and eveningpay showersfree wifithis past summerbathrooms and showers
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Best parts: clean bathrooms, cinnamon buns, water view site, sites not all cramped together, friendly staff, close to all our favorite activities, real campfires allowed (s'mores!), can't beat the price, well-kept...I could go on. We've been here every year for 3 years. Will be back next year....and probably many more.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Traceywriter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Loved this place. Nestled against the top of Somme's Sound, this campground has everything. Secluded campsites, campsites on the water, sites with tent platforms, electricity, water, hot showers. Personally i don't need all the amenities, so we could take it or leave it on the water and electricity but this is a well maintained, family run campsite that was open during the government shutdown. Some of the campsites were directly on the water and were to die for. Facilities were clean, cell coverage was hit or miss (supposed to have 4G next year) but who cares, you are camping! free wi-fi provided at the "gathering place" Our campsite was great. Large granite boulders are sprinkled throughout the grounds and really lend a nice sense of gravity to the area and a place for all of that cool moss to grow. The staff was nearly bend over backward helpful and we were genuinely sad to pack up and leave when we did. RV spots are available although they cannot be longer than 20 feet. The campfire box's are a touch small but not all that limiting. There's a place to dock your little boats or kayaks and a bridge to an island out in the water. Highly recommend this place. The guy in the office helped various folks with hiking into Acadia during the shutdown. His cautious recommendations were what lead us to sneak in and enjoy the national park regardless of the primates in Washington. Ended up being one of the best camping trips we have ever had.

There are quieter campgrounds, but doubtful any that are more pretty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joshual L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Beautiful location, nice sites, clean bathrooms and a helpful staff. My two sons loved going crabbing on their doc. We also brought our canoe and had a great time exploring the inlet. In the middle of everything on Mt. Desert Island. We ate at a different lobster pound each night.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank PennsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We traveled as 2 families in mid-September. The positives: very quiet campground, clean sites, very clean bathrooms, bathrooms convenently located throughout the campground so that there was not 1 heavily used spot that was noisy or smelly, water at many sites, convenient to Acadia and Bar Harbor. The not-so-great: many sites are A LOT closer together than the map makes it seem, I would not have wanted to be so close to strangers (and I am NOT shy), but being with a family I knew was OK, the platforms can make your set up rather limited, however they are nice when raining, they really need to either take reservations or have someone available for check-in throughout September; it took us over an hour to find 2 sites together that were suitable for our families - with campground help this could have been achieved in 5 minutes. Overall we enjoyed our first trip to this campground and will go back now that we know more about the layout. I have heard repeatedly that July and August are SUPER busy and crowded, but at least you can get assistance with a site prior to your arrival that time of year - that can be really worth it when traveling with children. BTW, the kids LOVED the place and as parents I truly appreciated that there were not any loud party crowds - or campers with generators going all day. I do look forward to being able to rent kayaks - again, that was not readily available to us since the office is not staffed full time in September. Real bummer.

Room Tip: many sites are closer together than appear - this can be awkward at times.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4paws2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend for the first time with another family who we camp with every year (kids ages 8-11). We had a wonderful time, both at the campground (the kids LOVED catching crabs and swimming off the dock) and exploring Acadia. Like others have said, it goes silent even before 10 pm...we were exhausted and ready for bed long before then. We would love to camp at the waterfront sites, which are beautiful, but cannot take a week away to camp. Our sites were one road up from the water and were still nice and an easy walk to both the floating docks and the Gathering Place. We loved being able to get hot coffee, baked goods (yum!!), ice cream, fire wood & ice right on site at such a friendly place. We were also right near the new E bathrooms which were very nice. We managed to fit in biking on the carriage trails, hiking up Gorham Mt, popovers at the Jordan Pond House, dinner in Southwest Harbor...but will definitely be back next year at the same time! There is much more to do/see.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews