We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, friendly service.”

Abel's Lobster Pound
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Mount Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$53
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice view, friendly service.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our lunch at Abel's last week.

The lobster rolls were good and fresh. it was worth checking out, however we liked several other places in SW Harbor better, which were also less expensive.

Still had a nice view on a rainy day.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
34yearemployed, General Manager at Abel's Lobster Pound, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Bummer about the rain and you are so right, the view is still great on a rainy day!

Price is different all over Maine for seafood; we all have different atmosphere with different expenses....we realize you can go else where; however, it sounds like with our great food, friendly service and a view, we were worth the stop.

Thank you, we hope the rest of your vacation was not as wet!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    45
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
600 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Great Food and Spectacular View”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My partner and I recently had lunch here. Granted it is a bit off the beaten path, but we loved it. The food was great and the harbor view from the outside picnic tables was spectacular. The service was also exceptional. If in Bar Harbor - check it out. PS don't be put off by the large lobster industrial cranes you see as you first enter. From the picnic tables outside the restaurant you can hardly see them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daksterinwaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
34yearemployed, General Manager at Abel's Lobster Pound, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Why thank you; the view is spectacular, it does make up for the entrance to the restaurant doesn't it!!!!

We love to hear you enjoyed your experience, we pride ourselves on Great Food and Great Service......we hope the rest of your vacation was just as great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic view, little pricey”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Had lobster, cooked outside in boiling seawater in a special cook house by the sea. View of the water was tremendous. Service was prompt and the welcome we received was outstanding. The price was a bit high for what we got, but the food was great, presented well

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank may12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
34yearemployed, General Manager at Abel's Lobster Pound, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We love when people enjoy our view, your are right, it is tremendous.

Seafood can be a bit pricey and it changes daily for us, we are happy to hear the view and service made up for the price.

Hope you had a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Owner was drunk”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Knowing that this restaurant was just opened for the season we decided to go to dinner. The view was incredible. _when we walked through the door we were greeted by a very inebriated lady...when I asked my server who this was she said the owner. We decided to leave and went into the town of Northeast Harbor for dinner...never again...

Helpful?
4 Thank Cyndi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expensive High Quality Food in Rustic Fiord Setting”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Lobster Ceasar Salad and Blueberry draft beer made a delicious lunch in beautiful setting with very pleasant servers. Family operation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abel's Lobster Pound also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Abel's Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing