We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wedding location”
Review of Camp Skoglund

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Vernon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Skoglund
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I got married there a number of years ago and it was breath taking! Great location if you can book it for all of your family and friends stay together and have all you wedding festivities right there. Gorgeous places for photos, quiet, relaxing, plenty for the kids to do and fun for everyone regardless of age and interests!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleyrose1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

My sister, her husband and I have been going to Camp Skoglund for over 20 years now and can't imagine a better vacation spot. Life is easy at the camp--all you have to do is enjoy the beautiful lake and the wonderful camp staff (Rondi and Wilbur!!). Kayaking out to the osprey nest or over to visit some diving loons, Camp Skoglund is a great place to go for peace and relaxation in a rustic, beautiful Maine setting. Everyone is friendly, but you can pretty much find the solitude you want at the camp. Or you can play with the camp dogs, who are always willing to chase a ball or stick. Each year we get surprised by little additions to the cabin or changes that seem to be just for us. What more can be said--how many folks return to the same vacation spot year after year? It's the best. When ready to wander from the lake (which isn't really necessary), nearby Readfield offers great pizza at the Emporium and great Maine-made gifts at the Artisan's Barn. The Apple Shed in Kents Hill has the best chicken pot pie to bring home to the lake (and lots of other goodies). And then there is the rest of Maine to see on day trips, if you ever really want to leave the lake.

Room Tip: We've stayed at the Lodge and Andy's. Both were great. Andy's is more removed from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The family all gets to do whatever they want at this neat rustic camp. We relax, read, fish,swim, hike,canoe on the lake, loon watch,have campfires and gaze at the stars at night just to name a few things that we enjoy while in "camp". We like this place so much that the 24 hour drive for us is totally worth it.The hospitality of the hosts ranks right up there with the sourthern hospitality we are accustomed to :) This little gem of a camp is something our family looks forward to. We have made the trip several times and have always had a great time. Rondi and Wilbur are Great. If you get wonderlust you are not far from lots of things to do on a day trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Larry499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This coming summer will be our seventh year "at camp"!!! Each year we grow to love Camp Skoglund, Echo Lake, and camp owners "Uncle Will" and Rondi more and more!!! Our tradition has been to use Camp Skoglund as a reunion location for our extended family. Our group has included a wide range of ages, from babies to grandparents, and everything in between. In our experience, there is truly something for everyone at Camp Skoglund! Whether it be jumping off the dock, learning to water ski, kayaking, building sand castles in the shallow area of the lake, wood working in the craft shed, making s'mores at the campfire, relaxing in the hammock, or just watching the beautiful sunset over the lake, everyone always has a great time!

Room Tip: The "big house" is wonderful for larger families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jennifer U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

What would you like to do on your vacation? Short of seeing the Empire State building or the Statue of Liberty, you can do it all here!
We have been coming here every summer for 22 years!
Beautiful setting on Echo lake. It is rustic, but charming rustic. If you want to stay in a Sheraton hotel, this is not the place for you.
Small enough to not be too crowded (approximately 1 mile x 4 miles), but large enough to do pretty much anything you want to do on a lake. Sunsets are unbelievable!
You are a long way off the road, so complete quiet is the norm.
Fishing is fabulous. Trout, bass, pickerel etc.
Depending on the cabin you rent, you could be having breakfast on your deck that sits over the lake every morning, which is only a tiny bit less tremendous than sitting there with drinks and watching the sun go down every night.
You will hear the loons calling to each other which is really cool! These bird are magnificent!
When you get tired of relaxing (does that ever happen?), you have tons of things to do within a short distance.
Half an hour to Augusta, where you can get anything you need or want.
One hour to LL Bean, an experience in itself, not to mention the rest of the outlets in Freeport.
One hour to Portland, a really interesting city, very youth oriented.
Two hours away, you can go moose watching! If you've never seen a moose in the wild, this alone would be worth the price of admission!
All this, and the 2 best hosts in the business! Simply because they don't treat it as a business.
When you're here, you're family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mrbuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My wife and I, along with another couple, have been returning to Camp Skoglund every year since our first visit in 2004. The restful atmosphere and the beauty of Echo Lake make being there something to look forward to all year long. One quickly gets to know the operators of the camp, and you soon feel like "one of the family." Everything you need to enjoy the lake is provided; and if any problem arises, it is quickly taken care of, The surrounding area has many interesting places to visit.

Room Tip: You can choose from various cottages, depending on the number of persons in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Edwin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Camp Skoglund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Skoglund

Address: 75 Skoglund Rd, Mount Vernon, ME 04352-3540
Region: United States > Maine > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Mount Vernon
Price Range: £38 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velkommen to Camp Skoglund. Meaning "woodland" in Norwegian, Skoglund is a family owned and operated vacation resort which was home to a bustling camp for boys from 1957 until 1990. Wanting to continue sharing our idyllic summer home with long time friends and guests, we have converted Skoglund to a family camp with fully equipped private guest cottages. While still maintaining many of the amenities of a camp atmosphere, our lakeside retreat is completely private and serene and provides all of the tranquility that Maine's special inland lakes have to offer. We are located in the very popular Belgrade Lakes vacation region - one hour from Portland and Freeport, 15 minutes from Augusta, and one hour from the coast. Central to the mountains and hiking and everything special to Maine! Our cottages are fully equipped with everything you'll need, including linens. Cottages rent by the week only - Saturday to Saturday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing