We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Maine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Augustus Bove House
Ranked #2 of 5 Naples B&B and Inns
1 review
“Best stay in Maine”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Beautiful home, good food, the blueberry pancakes were to die for...pleasant owner.. Can't say enough good about this quaint place. Across the street from lake, beautiful view if water. Spacious yard. our pet loved it. Quilt shop attached!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddikj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    25
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
35
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was our first trip up to Maine and we absolutely loved staying here. Arlene and Dave were the best hosts you could ask for. The Bed and Breakfast itself is located just steps from long lake and all of the activities. Sebago lake state park is close by as well and its only a 25 mile drive to Portland, Maine. We loved the rooms. We stayed in the gold room and the king size bed was immaculate and the balcony overlooking the lake was a great bonus. Arlene's breakfast is to die for and there were plenty of options each morning to eat. The bed and breakfast is completely pet friendly as we brought our little Cavalier Spaniel along with us. Would highly recommend anyone staying in the lake region/portland area to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This was our 3rd trip there. We love it. It's a beautiful home & nicely decorated. Owners Dave & Arlene Stetson are awesome hosts. The 1st time we stayed there we felt like we knew them already. It's right across from Long Lake. Good restaurants in area, especially Mercedes. Arlene makes a great breakfast. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed 1X in the suite, other 2 in king bed room. Our favorite is the king room. Both are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHG830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting the Augustus Bove Inn for three nights this past weekend. I love older homes and antiques and I wasn't disappointed. We were made at home right from the start. We loved Arlene's stories of the history of the Inn as well as her personal stories. She was very accommodating. She gave us the large suite on the first floor, which we weren't expecting, and didn't charge us any extra. I feel guilty about that. The suite was great. (Others complained of the noise from the street but I never heard anything). The bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. We didn't mind the dogs at all. I wanted to take her small black dog "buckwheat" home with me. The location was just great as everything was within walking distance to Naples center. I went into her quilt shop and purchased a few items. Arlene is multi-talented and very creative. Overall we had a great long weekend and it was a wonderful experience.
Thanks Arlene and Dave. You'll see us again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We very much enjoyed staying at the Augustus Bove. We called at the house on the off chance and Arlene was immediately welcoming, giving us a tour of the house and telling us the history. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated, in fact, the whole house was beautifully decorated. Our room had everything you could need and more.
It was a one of the best nights sleeps I had had in ages!
Breakfast was also really nice, a good selection, and Arlene and her husband even took the time out to sit with us and chat, which I thought was very nice as i'm sure they were busy with their own things to do! They were very knowledgeable about the local area and gave us a great dinner tip- The Mercad on the Brandy, which was lovely.
Thanks Arlene, it was lovely to meet you and hope to be back again one day!
Brian and Marie Forde- London, UK.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bush, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I were charmed by Arlene and her B&B. The room was very nice, the bed EXTREMELY comfortable, and the breakfast delicious. An added bonus was that shopping, food,and a boat tour were within walking distance. Another recommendation is the Muddy Bean Boots ice cream around the corner. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestnut Ridge, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife had a family reunion going on nearby, so she booked us into the Augusta Bove House. We had never stayed at a B&B before, so wasn't quite sure what to expect. We stayed in one of the 2 guest cottages - it was quite large and the owners had thought of and anticipated every need. The breakfast was excellent. I would surely recommend the Augusta Bove house to anyone.

Room Tip: The cottages, although physically connected to the main house might be a good choice if roominess is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naples
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Naples
51 reviews
12.5 mi away
Poland Spring Resort
Poland Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Poland Springs
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
252 reviews
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
11.0 mi away
Sebago Lake Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustus Bove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus Bove House

Property: Augustus Bove House
Address: 11 Sebago Rd, Naples, ME 04055-3500
Region: United States > Maine > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustus Bove House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Augustus Bove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustus Bove House Naples, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing