We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay here if in Maine!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Augustus Bove House
Ranked #2 of 5 Naples B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I decided to go to get native Maine blueberrie (the best). We found our berries at an awesome farm stand in Berwick Maine. After getting berries we decided to take a ride up to Sebago lake area. It was a beautiful ride and before we knew it we were in Naples,Maine. We went by Augustus Bove bed and breakfast and mentioned we would love to stay here but probably couldn" afford it. We stopped and was greeted by Arlene the host. She said sure you can and named the price. So affordable for what we got! A beautiful room called the "Black room" at the head of the stairs. It was decorated beautifully and even with a quilt made by Arlene. Her quilting is the best I have ever seen. That evening we sat on the porch and chatted with host David and Arlene. It was like we had known these people all our lives. We went on the Riverboat on Long lake which was a delight. Beds are super comfortable! In am we had home cooked breakfast with other guests and felt as if we were at our dinning room table. Breakfast was delicious-home made blueberry pancakes. What is better than that. We bid good-bye and learned that the place was for sale. We told our hosts to let us know as we would like to return before they leave. A definite must stay if in Naples Maine!!!!

Room Tip: Tell hosts exactly what you are looking for and then listen to their advice!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Augustus Bove House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was our 3rd year back to the Bove. The place is great, the food is delicious and Arlene (the owner) is a trip. It is a great location, with nearby restaurants and activities. We already put down our deposit for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Beautiful home, good food, the blueberry pancakes were to die for...pleasant owner.. Can't say enough good about this quaint place. Across the street from lake, beautiful view if water. Spacious yard. our pet loved it. Quilt shop attached!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddikj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was our first trip up to Maine and we absolutely loved staying here. Arlene and Dave were the best hosts you could ask for. The Bed and Breakfast itself is located just steps from long lake and all of the activities. Sebago lake state park is close by as well and its only a 25 mile drive to Portland, Maine. We loved the rooms. We stayed in the gold room and the king size bed was immaculate and the balcony overlooking the lake was a great bonus. Arlene's breakfast is to die for and there were plenty of options each morning to eat. The bed and breakfast is completely pet friendly as we brought our little Cavalier Spaniel along with us. Would highly recommend anyone staying in the lake region/portland area to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This was our 3rd trip there. We love it. It's a beautiful home & nicely decorated. Owners Dave & Arlene Stetson are awesome hosts. The 1st time we stayed there we felt like we knew them already. It's right across from Long Lake. Good restaurants in area, especially Mercedes. Arlene makes a great breakfast. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed 1X in the suite, other 2 in king bed room. Our favorite is the king room. Both are lovely...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHG830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting the Augustus Bove Inn for three nights this past weekend. I love older homes and antiques and I wasn't disappointed. We were made at home right from the start. We loved Arlene's stories of the history of the Inn as well as her personal stories. She was very accommodating. She gave us the large suite on the first floor, which we weren't expecting, and didn't charge us any extra. I feel guilty about that. The suite was great. (Others complained of the noise from the street but I never heard anything). The bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. We didn't mind the dogs at all. I wanted to take her small black dog "buckwheat" home with me. The location was just great as everything was within walking distance to Naples center. I went into her quilt shop and purchased a few items. Arlene is multi-talented and very creative. Overall we had a great long weekend and it was a wonderful experience.
Thanks Arlene and Dave. You'll see us again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We very much enjoyed staying at the Augustus Bove. We called at the house on the off chance and Arlene was immediately welcoming, giving us a tour of the house and telling us the history. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated, in fact, the whole house was beautifully decorated. Our room had everything you could need and more.
It was a one of the best nights sleeps I had had in ages!
Breakfast was also really nice, a good selection, and Arlene and her husband even took the time out to sit with us and chat, which I thought was very nice as i'm sure they were busy with their own things to do! They were very knowledgeable about the local area and gave us a great dinner tip- The Mercad on the Brandy, which was lovely.
Thanks Arlene, it was lovely to meet you and hope to be back again one day!
Brian and Marie Forde- London, UK.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naples
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Naples
58 reviews
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sebago Lake Lodge & Cottages
12.5 mi away
Poland Spring Resort
Poland Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Poland Springs
343 reviews
8.4 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustus Bove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus Bove House

Address: 11 Sebago Rd, Naples, ME 04055-3500
Region: United States > Maine > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range: £116 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustus Bove House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Augustus Bove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustus Bove House Naples, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing