We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Village Side Restaurant - CLOSED

Village Side Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the building that formerly housed Sydney's Restaurant. The Village Side Restaurant and Pub opened on July 4th of 2012. The Village Side Restaurant features fresh Maine seafood and certified beef. Daily specials are available. The Village Side is family friendly and features a kid menu for diners under 12 years old.
Bridgton, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easy exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We are NEVER disappointed in this restaurant's ability to provide exceptional food, service and atmosphere. The quality of the food and the way it is prepared is obviously well thought out and executed (extremely) well by the owners. We frequent about once a week because we know it will be the one dependable dining experience we will have. Cannot beat the early dine specials; portion size if generous, the quality and selection is second to none. Fried shrimp is fresh tasting and breaded perfectly. A definite favorite. The maple glazed scallop appetizer is incredible.. Homemade blue cheese dressing would only be better if it came in a fifty gallon drum- AHHHMAZING. VS's wait staff makes you feel as if you are the only diner in the room. McKenzie and Kristina are PERFECT for their guests. Ask for them, you'll be glad you did! Go! You won't be disappointed. Really.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Food in Naples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

So many restaurants in the lakes region rely on the view rather than the food. Not the case with The Village Side. There's no water view and the décor is quaint, but the food is excellent. My favorite is the Manic Lobster. It is a baked stuffed lobster stuff with scallops and shrimp in a yummy sauce and covered in melted cheese! It was sheer poetry I almost ordered a second one but I contented myself with going back later in the week. My wife had the shrimp scampi with linguini and on the second visit the prime rib. Both were excellent. The green beans were perfectly cooked and nicely seasoned. Even the baked potato was excellent! The wait staff is friendly and attentive but not at all pushy. We head back to Naples in August for another week and we will be back at the Village Side!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Marc_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

You can't beat the $10 specials. Food is excellent and service was great. Fish and chips were so good, nice batter. prime rib tender and great flavor. Definitely will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We went in with 14 people and no reservation....we knew things could get iffy. What a surprise when the host greeted us with a smile and said no problem, we had been turned down by 2 other resturants due to our size (ppl don't like money I guess). The staff was overly accomodating going in with 14 people when this resturant was packed from wall to wall we knew the food was going to take longer than normal, and they could not have been more aware of this. They did everything to keep us happy and were very attentive. I would recomend this resturant to anyone traveling in this area. Great food, great price, great atomosphore, and great staff. Good to keep in mind that when there are 7 parties of 10 or more in the building..be patient not rude I saw these kids have to deal with so many rude people that was the hard part. Keep working hard Villiage Side we will be back and we are telling our friends!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Service? What Service?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I reviewed this restaurant in May 2013. I thought I would try the bar. I sit at the bar, the bartender sees me sit down. She disappears for 5 minutes. She comes back and starts cleaning the bar. I waited a total of 10 minutes and was never asked for my order. I then leave. This place is not run by anyone who is a restaurant professional. Poor food, inconsistent service....move on to the next restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SigEpGov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Side Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing