We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portland quality in Naples with warm atmosphere”
Review of Black Bear Cafe

Black Bear Cafe
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An authentic Irish pub in the heart of the Lakes Region. Created in the spirit of country pubs in southern Ireland, the owner, from Waterford, Ireland, assures us that the tradition and ambiance of a true 'public house' is presented to each guest that visits 'the Bear." The staff are each trained to pour a perfect pint, great food is delivered from the tiny kitchen, including local favorites like Fish 'n Chips, steaks, salads, seafood, burgers, and amazing desserts. Ask your server about vegetarian and gluten free options too.
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My friend and I discovered The Black Bear Cafe last summer(2014) and loved it. The owner greeted us at the door, we were seated quickly and treated to a lovely, warm, inviting atmosphere. We had the choice of eating in or outside but decided the inside would be cooler. We both had the petite filets and a salad and it was delish! Kudos to the chef.The owner came over to the table and chatted with us about the cute button jewlery she makes as well as how we were enjoying our meals. She and her husband truly try their best to make your experience a positive one. Since then I have been back with that same friend and had the fish and chips which is yummy. I have also organized two gatherings of family and friends this summer at the Black Bear, and have never been disappointed. The Irish music is very festive and makes it lots of fun! The Black Bear is a must when in the Sebago Lake area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

WOW! What a great review. We love sharing this kind of feedback with our Executive Chef and his team and our front-of-the-house team, all of whom work hard to deliver their best so that you get the best experience. We have had sensational music offerings this summer and delighted that the music has added to the 'fun factor' for you and your family. Thank you so much for choosing the Black Bear and for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to seeing you and your guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were looking for someplace local for dinner in Naples and after reading some previous reviews on the Black Bear Café we decided to check it out. On our arrival you had the choice of sitting outside or eating in, we went inside for dinner. Since it we arrived early for dinner 5:45 the place wasn’t busy and our delightful server Sabrina was very attentive and courteous to us along with a great sense of humor. Sabrina was very knowledgeable about the menu and offered suggestions on what were some good choices on the menu. We ordered the crispy calamari for an an appetizer and it was very good, the batter was nice and light and the banana rings went well with it. For dinner I ordered Skirt Steak Frites which the steak was cooked to order and was on a bed of fresh snap peas which was delicious. My partner had the Naples Lazy Lobster which he remarked was very good. The lobster(tail) came out of the shell very easy and the amount of food was just right. We have no complaints on this place, and it is a family place, as there were two families having dinner and their babies were very quiet the whole time. We will definitely come back here for dinner, granted it doesn’t have the water view of other places, but quality of the food comes first over the view of the water. Worth a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Goodguydoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner, and our server Sabrina, and had a 'delicious experience'. We know you have choices of where to dine and we truly appreciate your business, and your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Black Bear Café in Naples, ME is a destination spot for any one hoping to find a terrific eatery with exceptional value in this beautiful vacation community. You can enjoy a wonderful indoor or outside experience with personable and timely service. The food is first rate and we had plenty of it. We started with Bruschetta and Crispy Calamari appetizers and both were delicious. My wife and I both ordered the Twin Petite Beef Tenderloin served with green beans and potato/onion pierogies. The portions were large and the taste was sensational. Each of us would order the exact same meal with zero hesitation, although we were strongly debated between the Grilled Sea Scallops or Poached Salmon. For dessert we enjoyed the Bailey's Irish Cream Cheesecake. Whether we are vacationing in NH or ME, we will definitely return to the Black Bear with family and friends. This was a five star experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GSGmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

WOW! Thank you so much for your great review. It truly thrills us when our customers have enjoyed their experience at the BBC and we love to share this with our Executive Chef and our great team. We hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again when you are in our area. Thank you again for taking the time review the Black Bear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Had dinner on a Friday night and enjoyed a duo playing traditional Irish music. The food here is definitely a cut above pub fare. The chef did a nice job with a blackberry basil vinaigrette dressing. My Shepherd's Pie was first rate. My wife loved the Roast Pork tenderloin on sweet potato mash. The beef tenderloin and the steak frites were also hits at our table. Topped off with Bailey' Irish Cream cheesecake and fast, friendly service and you have a recipe for an outstanding casual dining experience. This place deserves its high ranking.

1  Thank muck9raker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

WOW, what an awesome review - thank you. Indeed this will be shared with our Executive Chef and his team and the front of the house team. We are thrilled to know that you and your party enjoyed your visit to our pub. We know that you have a choice of where to dine and we appreciate your business, and your fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My food was very good, kudos to the chief.
Durring dinner hour, loud entertainment. Terrible accustics and the owner /manager didn't give a damn. Didn't even pretend to care.
I would never return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Ouch. Delighted you enjoyed your dinner and I will share this with our Executive Chef. The owner to whom you spoke definitely cares, there's just not much that can be said or done when someone finds the ambiance to be contrary to what they like particularly since we have worked hard to create the ambiance of a traditional Irish Pub. We work hard to accommodate all of our guests, and that is why we publish a schedule of musicians performing, so guests can choose to dine when the music is live or when it is quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing