We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freedom Cafe & Public House

Freedom Cafe & Public House
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
161 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

We were in two, we ordered 1Mussels,1Mushroom Ravioli,1Reuben,1Sweet Potato Fries,1Sunday,1Lave Cake,1Coke,1Lemonade,Coffee.We payed $58,25 without Tax.I did enjoy the food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gianluca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    26
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and homey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

So glad I didn't read the reviews before coming here. We were driving through Naples on a sightseeing vacation and stopped to take pictures and look at the views. We decided to eat lunch but found that almost everything except the Freedom Cafe was closed. When we walked in we were overwhelmed by the beautiful craftsmanship of the rooms, the old timber, the huge bar, the moose head! The people were all very friendly and helpful. We had lobster chowder which was very delicately flavored and delicious, and the wings with blueberry barbecue sauce. Great intro to Maine food and atmosphere!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, ME
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Generally nice experience, not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Ate here on an August evening, sat on the deck overlooking the lake. The setting was beautiful and it was very relaxing. Waitstaff was nice. Food was good, some of us liked it better than others. I would go back again if I was passing through, probably would not make a special trip, and I would be open to trying other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 04856Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad News”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Had dinner there this evening. First, the good news. The waiter we had, do not remember his name, was verg good. The bad news is my broccoli on an Alfredo dinner was FROZEN. And probably even worse, the meal did not come with bread. Yes, no bread. When I asked about the lack of bread, I was told they do not make it during the week.

My wife's Scallops were also not cooked fully, just warm.

And, they did not have any lobster, which in hind site was probably a good thing!

All and all for the cost of the meal (almost $60!), this is NOT the place to eat.

To the person who can not understand all of the bad reviews (which I mistakingly did not read until after we ate there), please realize you live there and probably get treated differently than those of us who are visitors to your fine state)

Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALEM, MA
Level Contributor
221 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lake View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We were a little hesitant in visiting the Freedom Cafe because of all the negative reviews. We went there twice this week. The first time was just for drinks to check out a place in Naples that we haven't been to before. We enjoyed sitting on the deck so went to it foe lunch the next day. We had a lobster roll and a lobster cobb salad both were good. Lakerunner and a freedom mary for our drinks on the deck and a very pleasant time. Service was good and Debbie and Rachel were very efficient. Nice day, beautiful lake view, good food, good service and tasty drinks = good times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RUDIMAY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freedom Cafe & Public House also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Cafe & Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing