We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit the last active Shaker Village”

Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Sabbathday Lake Shaker Museum is located within the perimeters of the only active and functioning Shaker Community in the world. The museum was first organized in 1931 by Sisters Iona Sedgley and Ethel Peacock in hopes of educating the public about the "truths" of Shakerism. Thousands of visitors have come to explore this unique and sacred place of work and worship. Six of the 18 existing structures at Sabbathday Lake are open to the public. Throughout these buildings there are twenty-seven exhibit rooms which explore a continuum of over 200 years of Shaker heritage in the Maine Communities. We request that all visitors remember that this site is a home and to respect the privacy and work schedules of the Shaker Community. With the exceptions of the Shaker Store and Museum Visitors' Center, access to any building is restricted by guided tour only. 1-hour guided tours leave our Visitors' Center every hour on the half hour beginning at 10:30am with the last tour leaving at 3:15pm. The Shaker Museum is open from the Friday of Memorial Day weekend through Columbus Day. Open Monday through Saturday, from 10:00 am to 4:30 pm EST. Please note that the Museum and grounds are closed on Sundays but Sunday Meeting worship is open to the public. We offer a full schedule of workshops, concerts, and special events throughout the year, please visit our website for our full calendar of events.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Visit the last active Shaker Village”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Opted for the guided tour. It was great to see the interior of the meeting house. Interesting
insights into Shaker life.

Helpful?
2 Thank Simoneilana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nampa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a very interesting place. Looked through the free areas, didn't pay the $10 to see the other museum. And the gift shop was closed for lunch. But they had a small area when you first went in the free building that sold "Shaker" things. I bought all the pieces to make a Shaker basket, which they are known for. Their thinking is quite interesting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Verna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very interesting cultural stop”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My daughter read the "Dear America" book about the Shaker life and decided that we had to visit the Shaker village. This was a very eye opening visit to learn about a culture we knew very little about. If you don't pay for the tour, there is a small exhibit upstairs from the reception building you can visit for free. Otherwise, you can pay $10 / adult and $2 /child for the hour-long tour. The tour goes through two buildings and has some nice artifacts exemplifying Shaker craftsmanship and life in the early from the early 1800's onward. The main meeting room was built in 1794. It is pretty interesting to see how the Shakers adapted their lifestyle through the 1800's and beyond to try to stay contemporary and relevant.
It is sad to know that this is the last Shaker village in the world and that there are only 3 remaining Shakers alive. Our guide told us that most of the Shaker culture was passed down orally and that they used to have over 25,000 Shaker songs that were regularly used in their worship. Now, there are only about 10,000 have been documented.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NorCalDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A very small place, and not all that much to see, but still worth the drive. The guided tour was very informative. It would not be worth the drive without access to the restricted buildings that comes with the guided tour. Pay the $10 for the tour!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
539 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“A well-kept secret, but a must see while in Portland/Freeport”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I'd read about this little slice of history and it was only 30 minutes from Freeport, so we wanted to stop. This village was built by the little-known religious community of Shakers. They settled here in the late 1700's and are still working the farm and lands today. The amazing thing to know is that there are only 3 Shakers left in the world, and they are right here in Maine! I disagree with those who say that this village isn't worth the trip. I think it is definitely worth it, and take the tour as it is a must. Yes, you only are allowed into two buildings, but the hour-long tour is a wealth of historical information about a religion with only three members left, in the world. The Shakers are celibate, and you must ask to join, and then live there for a "internship" before being accepted; thus the reason, we guess, for the decline in membership. There is a gift shop and great little museum. If you are familiar with simple, clean lines of Shaker furniture, it originated with this religious group. We thought it was a special place, a surprise that should not be kept a secret and we were so glad to visit this unique village.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village also viewed

 

Been to Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing