We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and Overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gosnold Arms Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gosnold Arms Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Harbor B&B and Inns
Cumberland Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

For $140 a night you get a tiny, rustic room, no TV, no phone, no clock, no tissues and an internet connection that you had to climb back down the 3 long flights of stairs to connect to, and one awful breakfast. We had to climb 3 long flights of steps with our luggage to the room which had a nice view of the harbor. To put the cherry on top of this disaster, I forgot my low back pillow and called some family members to retrieve it. " It's not here" they said. " Will you please check again? " they asked. " Sorry, it's not here..."
Trust me, unless you're desperate and have money to waste you will want to avoid this excuse for a Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Assembler2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    10
    11
    6
See reviews for
17
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

Stayed in the cottages up on the hill. Smelled VERY MUSTY even after leaving the door open for hours. Bath towels are old, worn and something I'd use to dry the car off with. Is handy to Shaw's lobster house, and the library in the main house was a nice place to sit and visit. They have a coffee pot, fridge etc. (sort of hostel like) in the main house which is nice. Didn't stay for breakfast - 1 hour time slot just isn't very accomodating. The TV in the cottages is a joke ... 9 inch ?? or less, at the foot of the bed ... it just made us laugh. Next time would stay somewhere else ... If this was a $50 a night room it could have been tolerated - but not for $100 plus that we paid.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimvossjezwinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

We recently visited Gosnald Arms on July 13th, 2009. After researching on internet and viewing Trip Advisor.com.. This Inn was chosen due to the proximity to the Hardy Boat Cruises that take visitors to the Puffin nesting site.
We reserved their ‘exclusive’ Room 102, overlooking the harbor at $145 for one night. Our first impression from the outside was good, however upon walking into our room we noticed a distinct odor, that I would characterized as stale, old and unclean. All furnishings were old and the wicker chairs were obviously stained, cushions old and faded, bedspread was faded and looked as though purchased at a second hand store.
We were also annoyed with the many posted signs throughout the room telling guests how to flush the toilet, take a shower, open the window blinds and the envelope on the dresser to tip the maid! We were also told in a brochure to tip the girl in the breakfast dining room (it was a buffet style breakfast)
The mattress was uncomfortable as well. The lounge room had the same ‘old ‘ smell to it, very dark and ‘dingy’, although well stocked with magazines and 2 TV’s.
We met another guest, who like us, was using the Hardy Boat the following morning. She was displeased as well with her room and the price.

We definitely feel this Inn does not live up to its claims and feel it is a tourist trap since the area does not have many choices for accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurerflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed at Gosnold Arms Inn for a weekend in June 2009. It was the last weekend in June and tourism in the area hadn't picked up yet so the place was pretty empty. We stayed in a little cabin (out of the main inn) on the hillside while our travel companions stayed at a cottage on the water. The rooms are VERY simple. There is a tiny tv, one bed, a few tables and lamps but that's it. The beds are EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE while the towels feel like they've been used 100 times and then washed in very strong bleach making them very rough to wipe your face with. The bathroom is pretty clean - but very, very simple. They don't even leave you any shampoo, conditioner or body wash.
Breakfast is served in the mornings between the hours of 8am and 9am. Forget relaxing or sleeping in. The breakfast comes with the room - so you feel obliged to have it because why spend money elsewhere when you've paid to eat? The pancakes were absolutely horrid. They were blueberry but seemed as if they were deep fried because every time you pushed your fork down on them - tremendous amounts of oil would seep out. Then, the eggs were okay but the bacon was not that great and the overall selection was very limited. There was bread, some cold cereal and instant oatmeal - but not what you expect from a "charming" inn. The town the inn is in is very very small and there's not much to do other than to see Rachel Carson's salt pond and the Pemaquid lighthouse. There are also a few tour boats that leave from New Harbor to sightsee and do "puffin" and "seal" viewing tours. The seafood place right across from the hotel - Shaw's - is HORRIBLE. Totally overpriced, the servings are tiny and the staff is unfriendly and just plain rude. Go check out a cheaper joint where they actually serve you.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonepress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Gosnold Arms last weekend, and were delighted with it. We are definitely planning to book future stays!

Our room was lovely; it faced the water, and we enjoyed the fresh sea breezes and the lullaby of the sea each night. We were there during a full moon, and the sight of its silver path in the water was breath-taking. The beds were very comfortable, the room and bath were clean and tidy, and the building itself is charming. While we stayed in the main building, there are rooms across the street on the dock; we are planning on staying there sometime as well. In any case, you can stroll down to the dock, sit and snooze or read in the chairs, or just stand at the rail and gaze out at all the boats in the harbor.

Downstairs while you wait for breakfast, you have your choice of a cozy library with fireplace, a windowed-in porch with comfy chairs and a pot of coffee, or an open porch outside facing the water. Breakfast was very good: piles of crispy bacon, fresh corned beef hash, fluffy scrambled eggs, small pancakes stuffed with fresh Maine blueberries, and some of the best canteloupe I've ever had. You also have your choice of cold cereals, oatmeal, whole wheat toast, danish, a variety of juices, and coffee and tea. (Personally, I blame the sea air for my lumberjack appetite; each morning I ate a plate of eggs and bacon, and a plate of pancakes!)

We would highly recommend the Gosnold Arms to anyone traveling from "away" or locals (NH) like us. The location is also a plus; it's right across the street from Shaw's, which features great seafood. From the Gosnold Arms you can travel easily to the major sights and good shopping in the area. Thank you for a wonderful stay--we'll be back!

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HulaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2006

The place only has a great view if you happen to get room on the harbour. .The room or cottage that we had was in the woods and not the great view. Just a large packing lot! There was a deck in front of the patio doors. The room had queen size beds which were right in front of these doors, so there was little privacy if wanted to keep the screen open due to the Maine heat in early Aug. All of the necessity such as couch, reading room, coffee maker and banquet hall were in the main building that faced the harbour. Since we were attending a family wedding in the area, it was annoying to not have an iron on the premises. The rationale of not having an iron was the danger of fires. Understandably, but with using their centre area, the harsh of fires could be avoid. It was also annoying to waste holiday time looking for an iron in the area.

This building which apparently had been a restaurant had a lovely eating are that over looked the harbour. Breakfast was served from 8 – 9 am and consisted of premixed blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs and a glutinous reddish mixture which was said to be corn beef hash, and oily bacon. My husband joking said it’s been a long time since he ate residence food as he generously covered his plate with ketchup! On the third day, I brought with me cheese and turkey meat.

It was functional ..since we were so busy with wedding events, but would look else where when there again.

  • Liked — central to our family events
  • Disliked — accomodations, food, view
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for place on harbor
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zatco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2006

Clean comfpratble accommodation. Nothing fancy or as charming as I had hoped, but I suppoer that is reflected in the price. Buffet style breakfast - great views from the dining room.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Harbor
2.6 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.0 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
10.5 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gosnold Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosnold Arms Inn

Property: Gosnold Arms Inn
Address: 146 State Route 32, New Harbor, ME 04554-4713
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > New Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Harbor
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Gosnold Arms Inn Maine/New Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing