We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little Bit of Heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Ebb Tide Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ebb Tide Cabin
Twin and Queen beds in bedroom. Small kitchenette with microwave and gas cook top.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Ebb Tide Cabin
Twin and Queen beds in bedroom.
Small kitchenette with microwave and gas cook top.
Bath with Shower
Twin day bed in kitchenette.
Just steps from two beaches and a short walk to historic Fort William Henry and two restaurants.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
New Harbor, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Bit of Heaven”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

These charming rustic cottages are decorated in an ocean theme & very clean. Owner’s Dave & Pam do everything to make you feel at home & go out of their way to meet your needs. Perfectly located in walking distance between Pemaquid Beach & Fort William Henry it is just a short drive to famous “Pemaquid Light house”. You can also drive to the the local wharf & watch fishing boats bringing in fresh sea food While you eat your dinner. In addition nearby is my favorite luncheon spot that has home made delicious pastries as well as unique luncheon specials. I stay longer every year at Laughton house & cottages & hate to leave my “little bit of heaven.”

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Mary, thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoy your cabin and our beautiful area. We look forward to seeing you every year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Journey69...
1 review
“Tranquil setting”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage was clean well stocked in a nice setting. A very relaxing place best sleep in a long time. Hosts were there if you needed them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
So nice meeting you and thank you for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K
1 review
“Peacefull”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My son and I planned a long Labor Day week end get away, We stayed in the Ebb Tide cabin at the Laughton House. Upon arrival the owners greeted us like family. The cabin was cozy and immaculate with a rustic charm. Just a few minutes walk to the beach and beautiful John Bay. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peacfull private location
Liked least: Our stay was to short
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thomas,
Thank you for such a nice review and I am so glad you and your son loved your stay with us in Ebb Tide cabin. It was a pleasure to have you both and I do hope we see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyG999
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful idyllic rustic summer retreat!”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We made a last-minute booking for 10 nights in the Ebb Tide cabin at Laughton House & Cottages, and it was exactly what we were looking for -- a peaceful, reasonably-priced retreat on the Maine coast for a small family of 3 (our daughter is 6) to get away from heat of summer in the city.

It turned out to be everything we had hoped for -- Pam and David were wonderful hosts, and the Ebb Tide cabin -- one of three cabins nestled in a wooded area to the rear of the main house -- provided everything we needed for our relaxing and rejuvenating 10-day stay.

Although definitely on the "rustic" end of the comfort scale, our cabin was very clean and well-maintained, and equipped with both double and single beds in the bedroom, a daybed that doubled as a sofa in the kitchen/living area, a 4-ring gas stove, a microwave, a toaster-over, a "dorm room" size fridge, a 4 cup coffee-maker, an adequate stock of utensils and cookware (for our needs, at least), several fans, and surprisingly fast wi-fi.

There are no TVs in any of the cabins (that's actually a plus for us -- we're "cable-cutters" anyway, and the wifi was fast enough to stream the occasional show on a tablet). There is also no A/C, which I was concerned about initially, but it turned out not to be an issue, as the cabins stayed at a comfortable temperature throughout (despite us being blessed with a long stretch of hot, dry weather for our vacation).

The water for the entire property comes from several wells, and has a somewhat brown tint to it -- it's safe to drink, and we used it for cooking and drank it after boiling (e.g. in the coffee machine) with no issues, but otherwise we drank bottled water.

The cabins are located in a wooded area at the rear of the main house -- our daughter just loved roaming around the grounds exploring nature, and there were often other children around of a similar age for her to play with. She had a blast!

Each cabin has its own trestle-style picnic table for outdoor dining or just relaxing. There are also a couple of deluxe propane grills for guests to use, plus a wonderful fire-pit in the central clearing between the cabins with plentiful firewood and kindling -- we spent many convivial evenings toasting marshmallows around the fire with other guests and our gracious hosts.

In terms of location, Laughton House and Cottages, on the western side of the Pemoquid Peninsula, is pretty much perfect -- you get the peace and seclusion of being in the woods most of the way down a peninsula, but easy access to pretty much everything you could wish for on a coastal Maine vacation.

The lovely and family-friendly Pemoquid Beach, with it's white sand, concessions booth, and showers, is just 5 minutes' walk (and $4 per adult) away, and there is another, smaller beach a short walk away.

In addition to the beaches, there is a gas station, a general store, several restaurants at various price points, and plenty of other recreational activities nearby -- a Colonial-era fort and a decent seafood restaurant are within easy walking distance, while the Pemoquid Point Light and fisherman's museum, New Harbor, Hardy Boat tours (e,g, to Moneghan Island), the lovely La Verna Nature Preserve, and several more restaurants at different price points are all easily accessible within a 15-minute drive.

We very much enjoyed our time in the Ebb Tide cabin at the Laughton House and Cottages, and can definitely recommend it wholeheartedly for anyone looking for a peaceful, restorative retreat on the beautiful Maine Coast. Many thanks to Pam and David for a wonderful vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, tranquil, natural woodland setting
Liked least: Too few electrical outlets!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Tony,
Thank you so much for painting such a thorough picture of who we are and what we have to offer as well as what to expect. Dave and I enjoyed your lovely family so much!! We do hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you for your nice review. We keep our prices the same for all requests and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing