We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Deep sleep and walk to the beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Master Bedroom with comfortable Queen bed.
Double Futon opened to a bed
Just steps from two beaches and a short walk to historic Fort William Henry and two restaurants.
All 3 Cabins
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
New Harbor, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tomaxtell
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deep sleep and walk to the beach”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Impeccably clean and well appointed by Pam. Felt the warmth of a Bed n Breakfast with cottage privacy. The area is a well kept secret with a healthy working fishermen to tourist ratio, seafood to buy within 2 miles, and walk to a spectacular beach. The four cottages are ideal for a couple get away or a family reunion or retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking to the beach, privacy of cabins, warmth of the hosts, trip to Mohegan Island
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
It was so nice having both of you stay with us! We hope you make the trek from Quebec down again soon! !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharirpt
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet cabin”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful time with the beach close by, easy access to all the areas we wanted to visit. Just be aware, wifi not always available, no real TV service and iffy cell phone access in the cabins. So if you want peace and quiet, check it out.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
We are so glad you had a wonderful time Shari! We love peace and quiet too which is why we don't offer cable tv and you are so right about the cell service, unfortunately that is the case most everywhere here. We do hope you come back to visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbAndRo...
Augusta, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Laughton House is a peaceful retreat that you will want to visit again and again.”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

With the beach just a few minutes walk from the cabin, kayak and canoe rentals just a few minutes away, lighthouses and other places of interest close by and just an hour's drive from the capital of Maine, we found the Laughton House to be in a terrific location. Low Tide cabin was clean and welcoming. With pleasant, seaside decor, a comfortable bed with bureaus for a long stay and a fully equipped kitchen with a dorm size refrigerator and a pull out table for guests, we felt right at home. Dave & Pam Heath are the most gracious hosts, anxious to help and accomodate in any way to be sure that we had everything we needed. Relaxing in the cabin we could hear the peaceful sound of the surf and, looking up, the stars in the night sky were just stunning as we lounged and visited with friends around the campfire. Three cabins and one cottage all nestled closeby made for a wonderful reunion for family and friends. With very little traffic and ocean fronts on many sides, a stroll at any time of the day became an adventure and we treasured our limitless time on the sandy beaches and rocky shorelines. A peaceful place to relax and get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rentals are within walking distance to the beach and there are several cabins so many friends and family can come at one time.
Liked least: The small refrigerator.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for the very kind review! I'm so glad you plan on returning!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J
Vassalboro, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

If we could sum up our hosts, the cottages, and the surrounding area, we would use the word "delightful!"

Our hosts went out of their way to be hospitable, the accommodations were clean and charming, and the surrounding area is one of our favorites on the beautiful Coast of Maine!

We highly recommend Laughton House and Cottages to anyone who desires a relaxing get-away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottages
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thank you so much, we enjoyed having you! Come visit us again. ..we were honored to help make your anniversary special for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B
Fairfield, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to go back!”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Warmly inviting, comfortably rustic, yet all the modern conveniences! The smell and sound of the ocean in the air brought us great peace during our week-long stay. Near to antinque shops, Maine-made craft boutiques and a little cafe' that makes the best cinnamon rolls ever consumed by man, this place is a little piece of heaven tucked away in Pemaquid Beach, Maine. We can't wait to go back again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you so much, it was wonderful to have you and we look forward to your next visit with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing