We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect spot for our family to escape!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Master Bedroom with comfortable Queen bed.
Double Futon opened to a bed
Just steps from two beaches and a short walk to historic Fort William Henry and two restaurants.
All 3 Cabins
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
New Harbor, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chrmingme
Limerick, Maine
1 review
“Perfect spot for our family to escape!”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a mini family reunion in Pemaquid for 2 nights and stayed at the Laughton house. We had such an enjoyable stay! The cabins are clean and beautiful and well provisioned with everything you could need. The surrounding area has many things to do and some wonderful restaurants. We stayed up with the boys every night over the campfire, playing card games, or just listening to the forest sounds. The nearby beaches are spectacular, there is a fort to Venture through with all kinds of very interesting historical information. The whole family was truly engaged. There's also a reenactment of early settler housing and lifestyle. It was thoroughly educational and truly fun to be a part of. There are grocery stores very close for any food necessities, and lots and lots of wonderful restaurants. Our favorite turned out to be The Contented Sole which is a 5-minute walk from the cabins. Pam and David were wonderful hosts and could not have done more to make our visit Pleasant and absolutely perfect. We would return in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Carlton and Christine,
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! It was such a pleasure for us to see your family having fun and we are so happy that you enjoyed your cabin (and the campfire)so much! We can't wait to host you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmtjsal
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

From our initial contact through our whole stay, hosts Pam and Dave were exteremly attentive and accomadating. Wonderful people!
The cabin is just as advertised only better. There is nothing you need. It is well equipped and charming.
We had a chance to relax, unwind and rest to the sound of ocean waves.
The beaches are beautiful and the resturants that Pam recommended were great. The New Harbor area offers a terrific view into Maine life in a costal town.
We can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
We are so happy that the Laughton House & Cottages exceeded your expectations! We love seeing people take advantage of our beautiful area and we do hope you will visit again soon! !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas M
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts in all respects; highly recommended”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My wife and I just returned from a 4-night stay. The owners, Pam and David, are exceptionally nice people and they made our stay very pleasant. We arrived late in the evening and they waited up for us. If anything was needed (such as help with opening a stuck window), they took care of it in a matter of minutes. The cabin itself has all of the necessary amenities, including many chairs, extra blankets, a luggage stand, a wall-mounted table (which we used for our laptop computer but which has enough space for eating), electric fans, etc. The queen bed is very comfortable (though high off the ground; our friends were in the adjacent cabin, Ebb Tide, and theirs was lower). The wi-fi was adequate for streaming Netflix. The refrigerator cooled very well and though "dorm-sized," has ample space. As other reviews have mentioned, the location is terrific. The three cabins are away from the road (do take a flashlight with you) and the area is quiet, with many trees and beautiful flowers. But you are very near the beach (you can hear the waves at night) and a short drive to an excellent market (C.E. Reilly & Son), and the Pemaquid Craft Co-Op.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Douglas, thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was wonderful to meet you both as well as your friends, Dr and Mrs Slater. We do hope to see you again at the Laughton House and Cottages!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickieJan...
1 review
“Lovely, Relaxing Cottage”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was my second time at the cottage. It was relaxing and lovely. The cottages are private and tucked away. Just a short walk to a beautiful sandy beach and a 5 minute drive to the point and Pemaquid lighthouse. Lots to see abd do but we chose to just relax in this peaceful setting. A vacation to remember!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Vickie,
Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to your yearly visit with us! More and more changes every year:-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzfam19...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Homey and relaxing!”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have stayed at the Laughton House two times now and plan to visit every year! The owners are lovely and every detail in the cabins had a personal touch. I can't say enough about the relaxing atmosphere and the location so close to gorgeous views can't be beat!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a s
1 review
“A place to relax and recharge.”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Low Tide Cottage was the perfect place for our family vacation. Not only was the cottage's decor beautiful, the owners were incredibly warm and inviting. This is a place to unplug from the world and reconnect with family. We can't wait to visit again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Ashley,
Thank you so much and I am glad that it was such a bonding experience for your wonderful family. It is the perfect place to "escape" for a while. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eveline L
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sun, sea, sleep!”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We rented the Low Tide Cabin for a week. The owners are great, and they work very hard to make a stay in theirs cabins a great experience. The cabin is furnished in a cozy vintage way, the peninsula area is great for exploring/relaxing/shopping or... you can just walk few minutes (really) to the beach, an historic site or a great restaurant. We had a perfect week in a perfect place! Oh, by the way, I slept like a log the whole week!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Eveline,
Thank you for your nice review. It was wonderful to see you getting out and enjoying so much of what our beautiful area has to offer. We do look forward to seeing you and your lovely family again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing