We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Nuptials, coveside views, & wonderful food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newagen Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We recently attended a family wedding that was held with the backdrop of an ocean cove. The grounds were exquisite. There was an abundance of food selections from the pre-wedding appetizers to the dinner to the sundaes that replaced the traditional wedding cake. Though the bride and groom made the selections, the food that was prepared by this Inn was indescribably delicious! You can't beat crabmeat mini sandwiches for appetizers and watermelon margaritas! Everything was so very well organized, perhaps because weddings are frequently held here. Our compliments to the chef and the staff who made things look so easy and kept the atmosphere so very relaxed. The BEST roasted vegetables we have ever eaten at a restaurant and they were perfectly served.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seniortraveler8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at the Newagen Inn for 3 days as guests for a family wedding that was held here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautifully tended to and the entire atmosphere is very relaxing. Maine in general is a very relaxing place to go on vacation. the rooms and beds were relaxing and comfortable. The bathrooms I though were a little small but it's not like we spent much time int he rooms anyway. We had a room with a deck on the 2nd floor which allowed us to enjoy our morning coffee and paper sitting outside enjoying the sun and fresh air.

The breakfast brunches were very good and the kitchen and wait staff would cater to your needs

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I will, however provide a few statements and leave it at that:

Even the route to this inn is interesting, beautiful, and charming.

This property and the staff are most welcoming.

It is not often you find a familial spirit among people who work together. And this place has one that is felt and appreciated by guests.

The grounds, the amenities, and the breakfast!

Still smiling when i think of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpdowdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Newagen Inn is a perfect venue for a family reunion. The Inn offers both elegance and welcoming casualness. The Pine Room was a great place for all to gather for bowling, games, and music, & FUN. 25 of us gathered from Calif, Ariz, Colorado, Illinois and Michigan. We celebrated wedding anniversaries; birthdays; pending weddings; expectant baby; new family members; and even current success of cancer treatments. The staff was extremely accommodating with special rooms for our celebrations. Elegant gormet meals. Great chef! The 15 grandchildren and their spouses ranged in age from 13 - 35. All agreed it was the "best vacation ever"! And that included the fact that all meals and gatherings were "electronics free". We cannot say enough about the caring, royal treatment by Lin Koch & Jason Schlosser who worked with us for almost a year to put this together....especially when we thought we would have to cancel everything our daughter was diagnosed with cancer. Jason's response was, "We will hold everything. Call back in the spring and I am sure you will have even more to celebrate." He was right! We all hope to return!
Frank & Faye Traverse City, Michigan

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. They all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Seaside resort on the Maine coast with hospitality galore. Upon arrival for just a one night stay, we were warmly greeted at the check-in desk. Our room was cozy and overlooked the outdoor fire pit and gazebo and it was supplied with the all important ocean view. Pedal bikes were on the porch for anyone so inclined. Lighthouse view from the public dock just around the corner. Delicious dinner, lounge/bar area full of friendly folks to watch the football game on the resorts' only television. Full breakfast buffet included with our room was plentiful, hot and satisfying.

Room Tip: No A/C evidence. Nice fresh air, though. Some rooms have balconies. Second floor rooms have better o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsg1549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My mother and I bought a groupon for this inn and LOVED IT. What a great place! It's on the point of an island, with water views all around, a pool, a gazebo and boardwalk down by the water, a big lawn, cottages for those so inclined, and is just the perfect "summer in Maine" experience. We were there in Sept, but could imagine how perfect it would be in July or August. A big sun porch runs the back width of the main building, every room has views, and we got upgraded to a suite in the "Little Inn", a 4 suite building off to one side. Two up and two down, we had the Kennebec Room downstairs with our own porch facing the water (as do all the rooms in Little Inn).
Our room was wonderful! Beautiful, in soft green and rose colors, Maine-y, spotless, updated, spacious, with French doors opening onto our own private porch, with a TV (which the main Inn rooms lack) and a foyer which included a mini-frig, a microwave, and a coffee pot, besides a big bathroom sink and a big closet. It had an iron and board, 2 luggage racks, hairdryer, sundries, bathrobes, fluffy towels and a desk and chair, besides an upholstered rocking chair for reading in the corner. It was wheelchair accessible, which worked well for us, as my Mom has a bad knee and would have had a hard time climbing stairs, and can always use all the bars in the bathroom. Parking was just a short walk away, as was the Main Inn for breakfast and the dinner that our groupon entitled us to.
Meals were fabulous. Pricey for dinner, but excellent 4 course meals and excellent service. We had shoestring potatoes, shrimp cocktail, squash soup to die for, scallops, steak, and cheesecake, all delicious. Service was first rate. Gorgeous dining room, too, all facing the water, and fresh beautiful flowers on every table. I took pictures of them! Breakfast was NOT continental as advertised, it was a full buffet with eggs, sausage, bacon, french toast or pancakes, quiche, cereal, toast, bagels, yogurt, fruit, etc. Lovely.
If we can afford it, we will definitely go back in the summer. I am recommending it to all my traveling friends. Also, it's very near to Boothbay Harbor, which was better than Bar Harbor---no cruise ships and VERY friendly proprietors, even after a whole tourist season! Thank you Newagen, for a great little vacation!!

Room Tip: The Little Inn suite was wonderful. Ask for one downstairs if you have any trouble with stairs. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soozi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Just a stay of two short days and I hope to return. Off the beaten path of the Boothbay Harbor tourist traffic, Newagen Seaside Inn is nestled in a quiet cove that I found very relaxing and picturesque. Our four course dinner was delicious and our server excellent and attentive. The breakfast buffet was hearty with something everyone. I missed experiencing their duckpin bowling - a "to-do" item that slipped through the cracks. Our suite was nice, but nothing to rave about. I liked the absence of a TV and alarm clock. If there is a next visit, I will request a room with a balcony. Complimentary coffee and tea are available all day. A crackling fire in the Great Room was kept stoked in the evening providing a nice location to read or chat over a glass of wine. The staff was helpful and pleasant with Jason as a standout in professionalism with a warm and friendly approach.

Room Tip: No Air conditioning. Not a problem in September for our visit, but might be unpleasant in the heigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Arbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newagen
4.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
464 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
544 reviews
3.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
936 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newagen Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newagen Seaside Inn

Address: 60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport > Newagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Price Range: £107 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newagen Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Newagen Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newagen Seaside Hotel Newagen
Newagen Seaside Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing