We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of subdued charm here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newagen Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here on a summer getaway and enjoyed the place in spite of mediocre weather. It is a little quirky, but quite comfortable. There seems to be some concern that the surrounding development will impinge on the atmosphere and ocean views, but the setting is excellent. The restaurant is very good. The rooms are spartan, but the surrounding lounging areas such as the Adirondack chairs on the porch, the lobby and lounge all provide comfortable places to relax.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the information on the web site when selecting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NoVaWahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Better food services and new boat for guests to use would make this little historic hotel gem absolutely perfect. My wife and I rarely go to the same vacation hotel more than once, except for the Newagen. We bring our two young children and an 85-year gentleman, so we pretty much cover the life-span. I was impressed again this year by how well the staff accommodated us and other groups with children, adults, and elders. The Polar Plunge (staff led jump into the icy ocean water at 7 AM on Thursdays) is our family's favorite activity. As a regular business traveler, I could have experienced the rooms are either tired or vintage. After the first day it was clearly the latter, in large part to the immaculate cleanliness of our room. The staff are exceptional staring with the inn keeper Jason, staff members Rae and Jeremy, and housekeepers who I cannot remember by name. Each one of them made us feel like we were at home, and could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Our children loved the pool, the recreation room with bowing ally, and the grounds. Would we go back? Definitely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Inn useing a groupon coupon. We were very pleased with the accommodations and even were given a choice of rooms. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The whole experience with all they had to offer in the way of food and things to do has put this on our list of places to visit again. On the second night we along with othet guests sat around their firepit while a local author gave us all a history of the whoopie pie. The Inn supplied marshmallows, chocolate bars and graham crackers in order to make smores if we were so inclined. They have a heated swimmming pool, an out building that has in it two bowling alleys, a pool table and a number of video game machines which of course require quarters to play. A great place for a vacation with the kids if you have them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lrp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Poor service meant that our stay was not as pleasant as we expected. The bar staff and dining room staff were definitely trying, but they were completely overloaded. There were service issues every night we were there, but one night in particular was a disaster. A single person was simultaneously behind the bar, taking dinner orders, serving the food and trying to resolve the many mistakes. End result was a roomful of unhappy customers, joking with other tables as to who would get served first, and whether we'd need to start helping out in the kitchen ourselves to eat that night. Our table got the correct dishes on the third attempt, with very long delays after each problem. Quality of the dinner food was actually pretty good when it arrived.

Management at the front desk seemed at best disinterested, and at worst, flat out rude.

Rooms were OK - as others have said, a little tired, but no real problems. Breakfast was a pretty standard, unimaginative self-service buffet. Inn lobby area looks and feels like you've gone back in time.

The grounds are much less expansive that they first appear, as they are surrounded by private houses. We got a warning on check-in about how we weren't allowed to walk on the private property around the inn.

Water views were excellent (this is Maine after all!). All day fresh coffee is nice. We didn't use the pool, so I can't comment on it, but there was lots of grumbling from other guests about it being closed frequently.

Can't see myself returning unless there's an complete overhaul in customer service...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank activityexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We chose Newagen for our destination wedding, and had a wonderful experience! We were able to have almost all our guests stay on site, which was very important to us. I had a great time all weekend; the staff took care of the details and weren't bothering me at all. Very professional and easy to work with. The food was delicious, and the scenery and reception area were beautiful. It really was perfect for us, and all our guests had a great time.

Room Tip: Loved my mini-suite in the Little Inn; beautiful view from the front deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bflygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights, Sun/Mon. The rooms are smller than shows in picture, was dissapointed as pool was opening and closing due to cloudiness. Had to be moved on 2nd night to new room as door knob broke. Staff gave us a bigger room which was nice. The lobby was very nice, cozy and friendly. Coffee was complimentary all day, the breakfast included with stay was awsome!! excellent wi-fi, better than cell phone connection. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Loved the Bikes!
Booked through Groupon!:)

Room Tip: "Rooms are a lot smaller than in pictures, also rooms are not air conditioned"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnyl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The room is extremely clean and cozy. We had a breathtaking view of the ocean from our window. While the inn is older, the rooms have been well maintained. It is obvious they invested attention, time and money in to caring for the property.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newagen
4.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
5.4 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
3.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newagen Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newagen Seaside Inn

Address: 60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport > Newagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Price Range: £118 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newagen Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Newagen Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newagen Seaside Hotel Newagen
Newagen Seaside Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing