We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So quaint it's mind bending”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newagen Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“So quaint it's mind bending”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Located on the tip of Southport Island, Maine, this little gem is quiet, off of the "beaten" path, and picturesque! An associate and I stayed in the Christmas Cove suite. It had quite the spacious living room and a lovely and comfortable king sized bed in the bedroom. Despite having NO TELEVISION in the suite, we were pleased with the sunset views, cleanliness, and somewhat comfortable pull out bed in the sofa. The basics were there. Plenty of hot water, great water pressure, soft sheets, plenty of shampoos and such, and of course a coffee maker and refrigerator. We needed a quiet 2 nights with sounds of the ocean (in the distance) and PLENTY of space to explore, walk, read, and sit and get lost in the views.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExoticDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    41
    12
    15
    6
See reviews for
68
99
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I went to the resort for a wedding not knowing what to expect. This place is like out of a dream! The history, setting and food was all fantastic. I can't wait to plan a trip back soon. If you are looking for a clean place with character I highly suggest the Newagen.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back is best for sun rise viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed here with my husband in September. When reserving, we chose the King size room with private "balcony". The room picture on the website makes this room look larger than it was. The room was a typical sized room in an older inn - the size of a normal sized bedroom, really. There was nothing extra special about it. We paid about 40-50 ore per night for this room expecting a larger room than the rest and also expecting a nice private area. the Private balcony was an old looking deck that had boards that were so warped they were hazardous. There is a tiny outdoor table and chairs - nothing special. Also, there is little privacy as the room next door has the same and there is nothing to create a sense of privacy. The view from the room was nice.

The staff were all very nice - especially Jeremy. The breakfast was good - a typical buffet breakfast; the yogurt and granola were very good and the selection of fresh fruit was really good and ripe.

the location is gorgeous, right on the tip of the island. We liked the location and the quiet very much.

If the rooms weren't so overpriced, we would have loved this inn, but I couldn't see the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookingforhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We were there for a wedding, and the setting is really beautiful. The grounds outside the hotel, overlooking the water were great. So was the main dining room that looked down on the water. The food at breakfast was high quality and the service throughout the hotel was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful in finding places nearby.

On the downside, we were expecting more from the room itself when we spent 'up' for the Deluxe room with the balcony. The balcony was very beaten up with warped decking and lots of peeling paint. The room was very basic, and sounds from hallway and nearby rooms were very easily heard through the walls.

The standard for a seaside cottage is different than an urban hotel, but I would have been more satisfied if it seemed the building wasn't so badly in need of repair and paint job. But we still had a great weekend, as the beautiful dining room and great attention from staff made up for the disappointing room.

Room Tip: Stick with a traditional room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biztravler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSchlosser, Manager at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear BizTravler20,

Many thanks for staying with us and sharing your positive experience as well as your feedback regarding maintenance. We are continually improving Newagen's interior and exterior and have plans to give the entire front of the Inn new shingles this off season in time for our 2013 season. I invite you to e-mail me directly at jason@newageninn.com to discuss in person, and to arrange for another visit at your convenience. Thanks again, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,

Jason Schlosser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

A group that I've been working with for almost a year planning an alumni retreat, held our retreat at the Newagen Seaside Inn this month (August). What a wonderful -- perfect! -- experience it was. The Inn's event managers (Jason and Lin) worked with us to form an all-inclusive event for our 16 guests, including a welcome reception with the most delicious appetizers, breakfasts, lunches and dinners, and lodging. Part of our package was the Lobster Bake on Tuesday evening held on the event lawn overlooking the water.

The rooms are relatively modest, but comfortable (no TVs in the rooms) and are equipped with fans to provide a cool evening breeze from the ocean. (no air conditioning) Walking paths serve reflective and beautiful views for hiking, bikes are provided free of charge, and a lovely pool. Wednesday evening is bonfire night complete with storyteller and s'mores.

The ONLY thing that I would change or ask for is to have the Inn provide coffee in the early morning. Coffee is provided at 7 AM in the lobby (no coffee makers in rooms) and, after the first morning where we early-risers discovered that we needed to wait for coffee, we requested that coffee be "put up" the night before (really good carafes kept the coffee hot!) so that we could get our caffeine jolt when we woke up. The Inn happily accommodated us. (Thank you, Rae, at the front desk!)

Lobby provides board games, books, a fireplace and comfortable seating for conversation.

Everyone -- servers, housekeepers, front desk help -- are in service of your comfort and stay.

Perfect getaway for groups, families, couples, or single travelers looking for a restorative respite!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the Inn gets the sunrise and, in my August experience, became hot during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The large gap between the flimsy room door and the floor insured that we heard everything that went in the hallway and the lobby. The flimsy walls transmitted the sound from the next room. Our room itself was pleasant enough but undistinguished. It wouldn't have taken much to make it nicer.

Worst was the staff. And I live in Maine so it's not that I'm not used to Mainers. My daughter stumbled on an uneven walkway just outside the main door while rolling our suitcase out to the car. She limped back inside, clearly bruised, bleeding slightly, in pain and shaken up -- she had gone sprawling on a brick walkway. I helped her sit down in a wing chair immediately opposite the reception desk. The woman behind the desk was totally uninterested and, when I asked her if she had some water, replied that there was water available for sale. Nice.

We were also overcharged. The posted rates in our room showed a maximum charge of $225 but we were charged $255. The bill shows it as a "group rate." Aren't group rates supposed to be lower, not higher? And according to Maine law, maximum means maximum. When I inquired about that at the front desk I was met with a shrug.

There are lots of lovely places to stay on the Maine coast that actually welcome and take care of their guests. This isn't one of them.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymous096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSchlosser, General Manager at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Anonymous096 ,

Thank you for your comments. It is our goal to provide great service and comfortable, classic lodging to all our guests at Newagen. I sincerely apologize that your daughter hurt herself and please note that we do offer complimentary water, tea and coffee all day, every day to our guests and visitors. You must have misunderstood our front desk clerk. Please note that we have corrected posted rates in your guest room and sent you a check for the difference. We pride our self on hospitality like most Maine properties do and we do hope to have the opportunity to be of service again.

Best regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Newagen Inn for several nights last year and are very excited about returning in a couple of weeks. We absolutely love this place which is nestled just outside of Boothbay Harbor. It has all the charm and beauty that you would expect of a top shelf New England Inn. The restraunt serves up some fantastic gourmet meals and the breakfast buffet is beyond words since it offers a wide variety with some nice side touches such as fresh blueberry sauce for your pancakes. The service is outstanding and anything we asked for we received. We are so excited to return this year since the Newagen Inn is in a constant state of upgrades and improvements so each year offers bigger and better things. We can't wait to see what they have in store for us this year. The activities such as story tellers around the fire pit at niight is again just part of so many extras they offer I could go on but will have to do that in a few weeks. Talk with you then.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newagen
4.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
345 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
485 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
3.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newagen Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newagen Seaside Inn

Property: Newagen Seaside Inn
Address: 60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport > Newagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newagen Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Newagen Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newagen Seaside Hotel Newagen
Newagen Seaside Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing