We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They understand Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newagen Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We love to try new places and we utilize Groupon to check out Hotels and Restaurants see if we like them without breaking the bank. This was one of those places. We purchased a Groupon that was buy one night and get the 2nd night free. This is one of the nicest drives to a hotel and a great basic property. You walk in the front doors and the desk staff introduce themselves and ask your name right away, then they consistently greeted you by name. The wifi in the first room did not work well and they immediately moved us but allowed us to make sure that the wifi worked in the 2nd room before actually moving us. The rooms themselves had some small issues like the could offer a better grade of Toilet paper and towels but loved the soaps and shampoo. They have a coffee maker but no spoons, cream and sugar. They have a small kitchen laid out with a microwave and small fridge but there are no plates or cutlery. They need to post a sign on the door to make the guests understand that the locks on the doors do not lock automatically. We were located right beside the Housekeepers closet and we could hear them talking loudly as they arrived in the morning and prepared for the day.

As we checked out, I mentioned a couple items about the restaurant to the desk staff and her response was some of the best. It was early in the morning (7:30am) and she mentioned that she would speak with the Jason - General Manager when he came in. To my surprise, within a short time of Jason getting into work, he called me (long distance) and was amazing in his response. These days, hotels have forgotten what customer service is about and Jason truly understands what it means to provide good customer service. For that reason i would recommend this hotel and if i am ever in the area of Main i would stay here in a heart beat.

PS - the best part of the hotel room was that there was no Televisions in the room.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the Housekeeping Rooms at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mindful_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a lovely spot which may be great for families as it has a playground, pool and lots of outdoor space. However we stayed in the main hotel and it needs some work. Yes it's a historic hotel but the bathrooms are minimal, there is no air which would be ok but the small rooms upstairs are stifling even with the two fans incessantly blaring. The restaurant is not so great. Food is ok and the service terrible. Waited forever for a bowl of soup and salad. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSchlosser, General Manager at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear RoBertie,

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our guest promise states: If you’re not 100% satisfied we want to know and will make every effort to make it right. It doesn't sound like you voiced your concern to any of our associates. If you had, I can assure you we could have provided a more spacious modern guestroom with air conditioning and if time allowed, another opportunity to dine with us.

Newagen has a variety of lodging including new Junior Suites with a/c in our Little Inn building, a brand new luxury Oceanfront Cottage, spacious Main Inn suites, Deluxe Main Inn rooms with a private deck and a/c. Many of our guests prefer the classic Maine lodging experience in our Main Inn while others prefer a more modern lodging experience in our Seahorse Cottage or Little Inn. Over the last 2-years we have redesigned nearly every guest room, built 2 new Little Inn suites, a new luxury oceanfront cottage and a new family cottage. In addition, we've added air conditioning to 10 guest rooms and have made a commitment to air condition all Main Inn guest rooms before the start of the 2015 season.

If you are in the area again, we would be grateful for another opportunity to be of service to you. I can assure you it would be different. Please contact me directly at 207-633-5242, I'm happy to be of service to you.


Kind regards,

Jason Schlosser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

#1. Friendly, caring, accommodating staff.
#2. Their guest is Newagen's top priority.
#3. A quaint old inn feel with updated improvements that add to a comfortable, restful and welcoming stay.
#4. Lovely ocean views.
#5. Great food. Bountiful breakfast.
#6. Deck off pub offers sweeping views of property with a gas fire pit and tables for dining.
#7. Lobster bake, story telling around fire pit on lawn, roasted s'mores.
#8. Special place to host a wedding. Son's wedding held 2013 under tent adjacent to harbor. Our experience was so enjoyable, it brought us back as guests this year!
#9. Quiet places to read and relax.
#10. General Manager, Jason Schlosser, goes the extra mile. He's a gem, the very best.
Thank you, Jason, for always exceeding our expectations!

Beverly and Ed Murphy

Room Tip: Some rooms offer patios overlooking water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Newagen Seaside Inn and had a wonderful getaway. Tyler at the front desk took excellent care of us and was so accommodating of our every need. The inn has been beautifully updated but retains much of its classic charm. The rooms are not enormous, but they are very comfortable. The bar and restaurant are superb - service and food - and the deck is gorgeous at any time of day or night. Ricardo, Tian and Antonette took great care of us during our meals. The inn is situated looking out to the ocean and the grounds are just beautiful. The pool is lovely as well. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraF684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were so excited with how wonderful this place was and would recommend it to anyone. There was so much to do, and many beautiful attractions and breathtaking views. All of the staff here were all very courteous and helpful at all times, and this place was very clean. The food was great, and they go above and beyond with entertainment. The lobster bake was out of this world. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: any of them are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a relaxing and enjoyable stay on the Seaside. We had great accommodations, great food and fantastic hospitality (thanks Scott and Corinne). The grounds are impeccably kept (thanks Jason) and the atmosphere exactly what you would expect for a coastal Maine getaway.
We will definitely be back for future stays and recommend it to our friends and anyone looking for that perfectly relaxing Maine vacation or destination event.

Room Tip: some rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently had the great pleasure of staying at the Newagen Inn to celebrate our 25th anniversary. My husband found this Inn online and it was a true gem! From the moment of our arrival Tyler greeted us so warmly you could not help be feel welcomed. We enjoyed a drink after our arrival and Tian's hospitality, and great personality, made us immediately feel we had made the right choice. Later we would also have the pleasure of meeting Ricardo as well. It was because of Jacob's suggestions that we also explored the paths around the Inn, and had a great adventure of tandem kayaking in Boothbay harbor. It was a chance meeting though with Jason, that assured we would be returning to this Inn. After speaking with him that it was our 25th, and telling him we would be taking a walk down the sunset path to enjoy our champagne (to our complete surprise) he was kind enough to have 2 of their Adirondack chairs taken down the path for us to sit in. There was a note on both chairs that they were reserved for us, to celebrate our anniversary!! We sat there for 2 hrs enjoying our champagne and the stunning view and sunset. Nothing could have been more perfect! We stayed in the Mohegan room and were very pleased, and I could also go on about the wonderful food (morning and night) that we enjoyed, but I really feel that our experience and time here would not have been so wonderful without the incredible people at this Inn. Many thanks to you all. It is a trip we will not forget. Wishing you all the very best, Patty and Wayne

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newagen
4.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
939 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
462 reviews
4.7 mi away
Linekin Bay Resort
Linekin Bay Resort
#10 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newagen Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newagen Seaside Inn

Address: 60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport > Newagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Price Range: £120 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newagen Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Newagen Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newagen Seaside Hotel Newagen
Newagen Seaside Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing