We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newagen Seaside Inn
Nearby Hotels
Tugboat Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flagship Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boothbay Harbor Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mid-Town Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linekin Bay Resort(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagate Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bradley Inn(New Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
157
47
15
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
47
15
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitsouthport islandboothbay harboradirondack chairslobster bakebreakfast buffetmain buildingrachel carsonhalibuthiking trailsmaine vacationdesk staffbeautiful groundsold schoolcelebrate our anniversarywedding venueblueberry pancakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

As summer time residents, we enjoy having a drink and light bite on there deck while enjoying the fantastic view. But be careful. The last two times we did this was on a Friday evening, while a rehearsal dinner was taking place on the lawn. On both occasions we had to practically beg for service. This last time we were begging to staff that did not care one bit. After being told someone would come to serve us, we ended up getting our drinks at the bar after a long wait. While enjoying our drinks back on the deck we sat there as if we were ghost. Not one person ever approached us to see if we wanted to order food or another drink. It was like we were invisible. Oh, one final note the Cosmo's for $11.00 bucks were very weak. I'm not opposed to the amount paid, but it needs to be a quality drink.

We will most likely give the deck another chance, but not on a Friday/Sat. wedding weekend. My hope is that management can be more attentive to there staff on the deck. It's too nice of a spot.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vdeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Ok, let me start by saying that my 14 year old daughter has decided that THIS is the place she will get married. :) This place was a total mistake. I was trying to find something close to Georgetown, Maine / Reid State Park and came across Newagen Seaside Inn. Well, unfortunately we only booked for 1 night. Could have stayed much longer after going there. This place is a step back in time but a good step. Every time I looked out the window to the grassy back yard with croquet, shuffleboard, life sized chess games, pool, cottages etc., I felt that the Kennedy family would be standing there playing games. They weren't of course but the place was full of classy young families and adults. There are tennis courts and The Pine Room which holds a pool table, ping pong, fooseball, air hockey and 2 vintage bowling lanes which we all enjoyed (2 teens with us). All of those extras were free and an unexpected treat. Two rowboats were on the property along with bikes and the most amazing sunset path and chairs waiting for you to enjoy!!! The free breakfast was a hot buffet in a lovely dining room with wooden floors and lots of windows overlooking the property. The breakfast included Maine blueberry pancakes, eggs, potatoes, sausage, yogurt, fruit, etc. The dock was being used by families wanting to sun and jump into the water. Fishing is also allowed. Ok, about the rooms, if you are looking for modern ammenities, then this might not be for you. But WE LOVED IT. There is no TV in the rooms but there is a TV in the Pine Room. There is no air condition in the rooms but instead, a tall pedestal fan that oscillates and brings in the cool, sea breeze. The bathroom is small but it worked fine. A mirror in the sleeping area was nice for additional use. The staff was very welcoming and helpful with recommendations and questions. The location is Southport Island and it seemed like there isn't much else to do in that area except for Boothbay Harbor which isn't far. The rooms were decorated in nautical themes and blue and yellow decor.

Room Tip: Just remember that they don't have air conditioning but it was cool and breezy when we were there so not a problem.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtea34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We love to try new places and we utilize Groupon to check out Hotels and Restaurants see if we like them without breaking the bank. This was one of those places. We purchased a Groupon that was buy one night and get the 2nd night free. This is one of the nicest drives to a hotel and a great basic property. You walk in the front doors and the desk staff introduce themselves and ask your name right away, then they consistently greeted you by name. The wifi in the first room did not work well and they immediately moved us but allowed us to make sure that the wifi worked in the 2nd room before actually moving us. The rooms themselves had some small issues like the could offer a better grade of Toilet paper and towels but loved the soaps and shampoo. They have a coffee maker but no spoons, cream and sugar. They have a small kitchen laid out with a microwave and small fridge but there are no plates or cutlery. They need to post a sign on the door to make the guests understand that the locks on the doors do not lock automatically. We were located right beside the Housekeepers closet and we could hear them talking loudly as they arrived in the morning and prepared for the day.

As we checked out, I mentioned a couple items about the restaurant to the desk staff and her response was some of the best. It was early in the morning (7:30am) and she mentioned that she would speak with the Jason - General Manager when he came in. To my surprise, within a short time of Jason getting into work, he called me (long distance) and was amazing in his response. These days, hotels have forgotten what customer service is about and Jason truly understands what it means to provide good customer service. For that reason i would recommend this hotel and if i am ever in the area of Main i would stay here in a heart beat.

PS - the best part of the hotel room was that there was no Televisions in the room.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the Housekeeping Rooms at the end of the hallway.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mindful_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a lovely spot which may be great for families as it has a playground, pool and lots of outdoor space. However we stayed in the main hotel and it needs some work. Yes it's a historic hotel but the bathrooms are minimal, there is no air which would be ok but the small rooms upstairs are stifling even with the two fans incessantly blaring. The restaurant is not so great. Food is ok and the service terrible. Waited forever for a bowl of soup and salad. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSchlosser, General Manager at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear RoBertie,

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our guest promise states: If you’re not 100% satisfied we want to know and will make every effort to make it right. It doesn't sound like you voiced your concern to any of our associates. If you had, I can assure you we could have provided a more spacious modern guestroom with air conditioning and if time allowed, another opportunity to dine with us.

Newagen has a variety of lodging including new Junior Suites with a/c in our Little Inn building, a brand new luxury Oceanfront Cottage, spacious Main Inn suites, Deluxe Main Inn rooms with a private deck and a/c. Many of our guests prefer the classic Maine lodging experience in our Main Inn while others prefer a more modern lodging experience in our Seahorse Cottage or Little Inn. Over the last 2-years we have redesigned nearly every guest room, built 2 new Little Inn suites, a new luxury oceanfront cottage and a new family cottage. In addition, we've added air conditioning to 10 guest rooms and have made a commitment to air condition all Main Inn guest rooms before the start of the 2015 season.

If you are in the area again, we would be grateful for another opportunity to be of service to you. I can assure you it would be different. Please contact me directly at 207-633-5242, I'm happy to be of service to you.


Kind regards,

Jason Schlosser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

#1. Friendly, caring, accommodating staff.
#2. Their guest is Newagen's top priority.
#3. A quaint old inn feel with updated improvements that add to a comfortable, restful and welcoming stay.
#4. Lovely ocean views.
#5. Great food. Bountiful breakfast.
#6. Deck off pub offers sweeping views of property with a gas fire pit and tables for dining.
#7. Lobster bake, story telling around fire pit on lawn, roasted s'mores.
#8. Special place to host a wedding. Son's wedding held 2013 under tent adjacent to harbor. Our experience was so enjoyable, it brought us back as guests this year!
#9. Quiet places to read and relax.
#10. General Manager, Jason Schlosser, goes the extra mile. He's a gem, the very best.
Thank you, Jason, for always exceeding our expectations!

Beverly and Ed Murphy

Room Tip: Some rooms offer patios overlooking water.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews